Customer Reviews


14 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillo
What a cracking little book this is, and it is little at just over A5 size, but it punches well over its weight in its 128 pages and, to misquote the advert, does exactly what it says on the cover. Seriously, if you want to be just adequate at pub quizzes all you need to do is simply have this on side, or at your side, when you go to the loo at home; if you want to win...
Published 21 months ago by B. G. Williams

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would recommend it to anyone who thinks they are better than ...
As I have a degree I feel I am cleverer than most people but this book is a real challenge. I would recommend it to anyone who thinks they are better than most. It has lots of questions I have never heard. Buy tis if you think you are clever and find out you are not.
Published 4 months ago by sarah mccusker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brillo, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
B. G. Williams "Acrooacree" (Helston, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Your Pub Quiz: Your Only Guide to Ultimate Victory (Hardcover)
What a cracking little book this is, and it is little at just over A5 size, but it punches well over its weight in its 128 pages and, to misquote the advert, does exactly what it says on the cover. Seriously, if you want to be just adequate at pub quizzes all you need to do is simply have this on side, or at your side, when you go to the loo at home; if you want to win however then also read it on the way to work (providing that you're not driving) and in your lunch time too (come on, you're a quizzer so you've no friends to talk to during your lunch break anyway) and, within a relatively short period of time, you'll be able to hold your own in any quizzing group (but then as a quizzer you'll have been doing that in private for some time anyway...).

I Googled the word "quiz" and, rather strangely, its origins are oblique and relatively recent in that it appears that the first attested use of this word is only from 1781 and means an odd person (no reference here to the author of course) and from my, sadly, inattentive Latin classes at school I have a vague recollection that the Latin translation of "who knows" is "qui scit"; so a quick, and non classical (certainly from me) transliteration of "qui scit" could be "quiz" ... you read it here first.

I'm not a natural pub quizzer and found this book courtesy of Messrs "Google and Windows" (windows of this parish) as I had been asked, at gun point, to join my local pub quiz evening after a member of one of the teams had, quite strangely, found a life to lead.

I found this book a joy to read simply for its own sake and the gamesmanship side of it (qv School for Scoundrels, 1960, if you want to refer to this in a quiz of your own) is quintessentially English and is grounded in Wodehouse and, to no little extent, in Sellar and Yeatman whose wit and wisdom reverberates throughout this mini tome in an endearing and, quite charmingly, self deprecating way.

I loved it. You can use this book as a workshop manual or simply enjoy it as a witty critique on current pub cultural mores in general. It's even available in Kindle format so you can read it without letting your anorak show. Either way it's a high flyer in the "How To..." genre which has graced the bookshelves of high street booksellers since Hesiod's "Works and Days". Hesiod, as all pub quizzers know, was a Greek poet generally thought by scholars to have been active between 750 and 650 BC and not, as some pub quizzers think, the finest centre forward that Tottenham ever fielded.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ding dong!, 19 July 2013
This review is from: How to Win Your Pub Quiz: Your Only Guide to Ultimate Victory (Hardcover)
I was given this book as a Father's Day gift and haven't put it down yet! As a 'casual quizzer' who's organised and taken part in a few quizzes I can see that this witty little book will be a 'must have' aid for the serious quizzer. But it is also an informative and fun guide to the world of pub quizzes and the people who populate them. It's also full of fascinating 'QI' type facts that you can impress your friends with at your next dinner party! Les Palmer has effectively produced a PhD thesis here, but in a light - touch way that engages you from start to finish. It's just the sort of book to pick up when you're in need of a little inspiration or stimulation and ideal holiday reading, I'd say. The author's style delivers a rich fruit cake of a book full of puns, asides and observations that will get you sniggering like a child every other paragraph - and laughing out loud on quite a few occasions! It also contains a sprinkling of 'test yourself' quiz questions that help to punctuate the flow. I particlarly liked the aside on cheating (including 'good' and 'bad' cheating) and the surgical analysis of how quiz questions are framed - into a series of three 'layers' - that provides a helpful tool for researching and absorbing key facts on just about any topic. This is just one of several useful learning and memorising techniques the author includes on the way. All in all, this is a crucial tool for the serious quizzer, an amusing, helpful guide for the casual quizzer and a fun read about the world of pub quizzing for those on the outside looking in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quizical facts and fun ., 31 Dec. 2014
By 
B. E. Littleton (South wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fun and funny , this book is a delight to read informative and witty at the same time . It doesn't take itself to seriously yet still manages to impart a lot of facts in an interesting way . I am a reg quiz goer and recognize traits here from both the quiz masters and those playing , really all I need to do now is change my name to Norman .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pub quiz addict and this book has helped me win free beers, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have actually won 2 or 3 beers directly from reading this book, and potentially many more indirectly.

If you like winning and free beer then read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Quizacle read, 27 Sept. 2013
A fun read - not a guide to winning but a real tongue in cheek look at pub quizzes, those who partake and even some handy facts and mini quizzes to test yourself on.

The book starts by giving a bit of a run down on how quizzes have become popular in pubs and why. The brief history was very silly starting with the 9th century with Alfred the Great attempting a pub quiz but accidentally burning the cakes then in 1066 a man called Norman established a dynasty of winning pub quizzes. You get the idea!

I liked the pub team name suggestions which ranged from 'Quiztopher Bigwins' to 'Eddie Quizzard' and 'Quiz Ewebank'.

Another chapter that made me chuckle was 'Let's Get Quizzical' which describes the Hitler style Quiz master who is 'right' what ever and doesn't appreciate humour from the quiz teams. The author describes the good attributes of a quiz master and then continues with a section on how to get the better of the quiz master but watch out for the quiz master that models himself on David Brent or Alan Partridge.

Anyway if you enjoy quizzes this will no doubt bring a smile to your face as you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically funny & interesting., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not only for the quiz nerd (sorry, enthusiast!) it's laugh out loud funny too.
Really fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 July 2013
By 
Annother - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Witty, well written & highly entertaining. Suitable for both the serious and not-so-serious pub quiz devotee. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique look at pub quizzing and the strange world of its exponents., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Your Pub Quiz: Your Only Guide to Ultimate Victory (Hardcover)
Whether you're a strict amateur or a semi-pro this is a great little book. Full of trivia, helpful tips and dreadful puns it may indeed help do what it says on the cover. It worked for me twice last week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for pub quizzers!!, 25 Feb. 2014
This review is from: How to Win Your Pub Quiz: Your Only Guide to Ultimate Victory (Hardcover)
A real page turner, witty informative and funny out look on the pub quiz, quite the opposite of the crusty fact filled no fun trivial trivia books of old!! A must!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Mar. 2015
By 
A. Kijac "Bossdogg" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Your Pub Quiz: Your Only Guide to Ultimate Victory (Hardcover)
Good gift for those who enjoy pub quizes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Win Your Pub Quiz: Your Only Guide to Ultimate Victory
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews