Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2006
A great discovery - a lovely mix of prose, poetry and information. Gerry Hanson has researched a wide variety of sources - from Shakespeare through to Jeremy Paxman. There's humour, pathos and tears, and the subjects vary from Cricket to Roast Beef.
It's not the sort of book you'd read from cover to cover in one sitting, but perfect for dipping into.
It also makes a great present - I've started to take it to dinner parties instead of that boring old bottle of Chardonnay -it's good value even at bookshop prices, and is a true bargain through Amazon
I'm English and proud of it - and so is this book. If, like me, you get fed up of accusations of Nationalism or even, god forbid, Racism just for expressing love for your country (an accusation which is never applied to the Scots, Welsh or Irish) then this is the book for you.
55 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
I like the content of this book, but considering it is a book that will appeal to many older people, I think the print size is ridiculously small.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
I bought this book as a Christmas present. The receipient could not put it down on Christmas Day and it has been on hand on his coffee table ever since.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
This book is great, its amusing, clever and fun, as well as being quirky and tongue-in-cheek, it makes a great little gift and is just what is says 'a treasury of all things English'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
It's a nice book, lots of reference to the English heritage and culture. But I would appreciate more from the writer and not sooooooo many poems from others.... after a few pages it gets tiring... the language is complex.... especially for a non-English person who is willing to learn....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2006
National pride in England is something of a contentious issue.

The lines of political correctness and a sense of patriotism have been blurred.

However this collection by Gerry Hanson is not in this frame, it is simply a lovely and passionate coffee table gem. And therefore a must have for all who feel English, whatever their creed or colour.
22 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
bought on behalf of another person.They greatly enjoyed reading it and thoroughly recommend it.There is little I can add to this,not having read it personally
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
This is a beautifully presented and wonderful book celebrating all that it is to be English. It's packed with lots of gems! Look forward to reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
A hearty insight into English Heritage and History. The all-to-know Almanac for those who missed the history lessons at grammar school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Excellent book for patriotic English men and women.Lovely for dipping in and out of.Would make a nice gift for St George's Day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.