Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book
For anyone, like me, who happens to be independently interested in maths and sport, this book is nerd heaven. My personal obsessions are cricket, football and snooker, so I was thrilled to see chapters explaining interesting mathematical facts and approaches to all three of these sports. This is the best 'loo' book you could wish for - and I mean that totally as a...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by Richard Harris

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably disappointing
I am a great fan of the authors, having bought six of their books previously. When this arrived today, I was shocked to find that, apart from one amalgamation of two chapters and one new chapter on cheating in sport, plus a few up-datings of references to sporting events since 2007, this is the same book as "How to Take a Penalty" published in 2005 and "Beating the Odds"...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Mr. Geoffrey H. Thorne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 9 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
For anyone, like me, who happens to be independently interested in maths and sport, this book is nerd heaven. My personal obsessions are cricket, football and snooker, so I was thrilled to see chapters explaining interesting mathematical facts and approaches to all three of these sports. This is the best 'loo' book you could wish for - and I mean that totally as a compliment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the division, 3 Dec 2007
Accessible, interesting and full of historical as well as mathematical curiosities. Was alerted to this book by a good review in The Times. Be warned, this book came out under a different title ('How to Take a Penalty') when it was a hardback so don't buy both books thinking they are different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
If you like sport and you like numbers then this is the book for you. Intriguing from start to finish. I read it in 3 sessions. The maths is easy to follow and for those who want a bit more depth it is provided at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great fascinating read, 24 Feb 2010
I found this book after reading a review in The Guardian while doing research - and here is the wisdom of authors and publishers allowing brief reads on Amazon. I read a page, then another, then another and was hooked, I had to have it.
What makes my purchase all the more remarkable is that I have little interest in sport, unless dragged to a match or my country is playing a major match and my mathematical ability is dangerous to put it mildly, but this book has been written so well and is so accessible that I have no hesitation in recommending it for a great few hours weekend reading, a wonderful gift for the sports fanatic in your life and an essential research and resource tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
A good read that you can pick up at any stage. Very up to date and lots of interesting links
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths to kick about, 30 Sep 2011
By 
S. Quirk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
Fantastic - arrived promptly and was well received! This was present so it was apprecaited that it arrived so quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice mixture of sport and maths (!), 27 Aug 2013
By 
Andy Phillips (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
If you like sport and have an interest in the statistics that seem to be produced for pretty much every major event and league then you can't really go wrong with this book. I personally have little interest in most sports, but I do have a mathematical background and that was enough to make the book enjoyable, so you don't necessarily need an interest in both sport and maths. The maths is dealt with in a straightforward manner for non-experts but an appendix gives more details if you want to understand more about the results that are given in the main body of the book.

The book covers all major sports that are played in the UK, as well as mentions of a few others. It's really a series of weakly related observations or notes about various mathematical patterns that are seen in sport. For example, some of the topics covered are:
-The shapes of balls
-Tactics for taking penalties in football
-Interpretation of the forward pass rule in rugby
-Subjective scoring in sports such as figure skating and boxing
-Record breaking
-The influence of winning a coin toss
-Where to aim at a dartboard
-Tactics for serving in tennis
-Angles in snooker
-Scoring systems in different sports and how they influence the results
-How to make sports more exciting

This is probably one of those slightly geeky books that won't appeal to everyone, but if maths and sport are your cup of tea to some extent then you will probably find something interesting here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read. Expertly written., 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
The title grabbed me and I was hooked from the first page. Rob Eastaway and John Haigh know there stuff and they express it thoughtfully. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably disappointing, 14 May 2012
By 
Mr. Geoffrey H. Thorne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of the authors, having bought six of their books previously. When this arrived today, I was shocked to find that, apart from one amalgamation of two chapters and one new chapter on cheating in sport, plus a few up-datings of references to sporting events since 2007, this is the same book as "How to Take a Penalty" published in 2005 and "Beating the Odds" published in 2007. I did not suffer the indignity of buying the 2005 book, but I did buy both the 2007 and 2011 books.

For some reason, the publishers have rearranged the chapters, so that, for instance, Chapter One in 2007 is now Chapter 6, Chapter 5 has been relegated to Chapter 15 and, somewhat surprisingly, Chapters 5 and 9 have become the new Chapter 7.

I was very disappointed at this sleight-of-hand, and, although the price was not great, feel extremely let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Mathematics of Sport (Hardcover)
This is not the mathematics of sport but the 'statistics of sport' There are, as far as I can see, no formulae to show how or why the values quoted are arrived at. It does not come anywhere near ,the Physics of Ball games, by Daish. Nevertheless there is some interesting material but this is not, in my opinion, for the academically minded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hidden Mathematics of Sport
The Hidden Mathematics of Sport by John Haigh (Hardcover - 2 Jun 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews