Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for the true golf lover
Purchased this book for my step dad who is really into golf. He said he loves it! and has found the stories really fascinating. I am really glad he is ennjoying it since the ordering and shipping of the book as a Christmas present was a real cuck up.
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by Kwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golf Book
I bought this for my father on his birthday as he is golf mad. Says it is a good book.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs Lorna R K Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for the true golf lover, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Kwood (NORTH FORT MYERS, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
Purchased this book for my step dad who is really into golf. He said he loves it! and has found the stories really fascinating. I am really glad he is ennjoying it since the ordering and shipping of the book as a Christmas present was a real cuck up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golf Book, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my father on his birthday as he is golf mad. Says it is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, entertaining, all human life is here, 20 Feb 2000
Usually I'm sceptical about compilation books but this was a treasure trove. I'd always thought golf was a simple game - after all the ball is tiny and the holes look quite big to me. But not a bit of it - every combination of balls, clubs and holes are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golf can be very strange at times, 13 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Golf has a long history dating back many centuries, long before the first British Open in 1860, but the oldest episode covered in this book dates from 1870. Many strange episodes from then until the new millennium are covered, not just from professional events but also from amateur events, as well as a few novelty events. The book also covers milestones in golf history, one of these being the argument over the format of the golfing event within the 1908 Olympics. The upshot of that argument was that there was no golf in the 1908 Olympics. Featured in the 1904 Olympics, golf has been excluded ever since although it may return eventually.

The selection of episodes, as ever in a book of this type, can be argued about. Bernhard Langer's round featuring his climb up a tree does not get a piece of its own, although it is mentioned during the coverage of a different episode. The Ryder Cup has been full of drama since it became Europe versus the USA, but nothing that happened in these events gets its own piece, although Brookline is mentioned in another episode. However, six near misses by Greg Norman each get separate coverage. A different author might have give less coverage to Greg's misfortunes (maybe combining them into one piece) and more to the Ryder Cup, but there have been so many strange golfing stories that some had to be left out. Indeed, the author admits that his book is primarily made up of British and American stories with a few from Australia, simply because of the volume of stories available. He had no need to look elsewhere even though he is confident that he could have found great stories from elsewhere.

The author also explains three different ways to hole in one and not win a hole, one of which caused a rule change. Now there are only two ways. You can't work them out? Buy the book and find out. Occasionally tragic but mostly funny and always entertaining, this is well up to the standard that I expect from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fun, nice quality glass with a bubble in the base... good engraving and a crowd pleaser im sure, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not too bad but my husband was not impressed and sent it to the charity shop!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This made a good present for a golf mad friend.

He told me that once he started reading it he could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some unexpected truths that entertained and were interestinly written concisely. My partner does not usually read so must be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Golf's Strangest Rounds, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting and amusing book with plenty of stories and a good source of material for my after dinner talks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews