Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value art book I've ever bought
No essays or commentary, just 92 pages of a sketchbook, providing an insight into the work of one of our best living artists. Not every bit of work is great, but Hockney's overall sense of scale, spacing and visual economy is evident in almost every page; apparently unedited, it even contains some obvious failures, which is instructive, in itself. I wish I could see...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by R. J. de Bulat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars just a jotter
I should have realised this would not be very inspiring. Although it gives an insight into how Hockney records his observations I felt i had wasted my money. Sketchbooks are very personal places to jot down ideas and thoughts and generally not for sharing.
Published 17 months ago by lin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value art book I've ever bought, 4 Jan 2012
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
No essays or commentary, just 92 pages of a sketchbook, providing an insight into the work of one of our best living artists. Not every bit of work is great, but Hockney's overall sense of scale, spacing and visual economy is evident in almost every page; apparently unedited, it even contains some obvious failures, which is instructive, in itself. I wish I could see more sketchbooks from acknowledged artists. One thing that I can conclude from this is that the work Hockney calls a sketch is often superior to much that is considered finished drawing by many a YBA. Unpretentious, it nevertheless displays elements of mastery both in exploration and composition that one can only learn from and admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hockney at his best, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book. It consists of the total contents of one of Davids sketchbooks. There are no titles or comments to the sketches but if you know the Yorkshire Wolds you will recognise the views. Do not be put off if you do not know the area as he sketches are breathaking.Visit East Yorkshire and see the sketches come to life or just sit with the book and take in skill of the artist as the sketches envelope you in the beauty of the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sketchbook for Sketchers and Hockneyphiles, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
This is a facsimile sketchbook (which means all images and no words) of a man who sketches on a regular basis. Hockney carries a sketchbook wherever he goes and sketches what he sees. He even has his suits and coats made so that they have a pocket to hold his sketchbook.

As any sketcher who has ever sketched in company knows, one of the joys comes at the end of the outing or the day when we all sit down and look at each other sketchbooks. This book makes me feel like David Hockney has just handed me his sketchbook. As an owner of the DVD of his sketchbooks I knew exactly what to expect in terms of content and drawing style. It's better than being able to see his sketchbooks at the exhibition at the RA because with this one I got to turn the pages and decide how long to look at an image. The full price version is not cheap! On Amazon it provides much better value.

Sketchers who like Hockney's drawings and paintings will love this book.
Fans of Hockney's work will like this book
Those who have never sketched may well struggle to really appreciate it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
When i sat down to look at A Yorkshire Sketchbook i felt as if it had just been handed to me by David Hockney himself. I smiled: i most probably will treasure it.
Thank you once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not good Hockney, 4 May 2014
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
Well, there must be a dissenting view. The cover is attractive but that is the best, the only good, the only recognisable, view of Yorkshire. And now I realise that the bright cheery blue is part of the wrapper. As sketches, OK, but "sketches are breathtaking"' , "the sketches envelope you with the beauty of the area"....make me wonder whether these reviewers have ever seen the real thing, or really looked at the sketches and not just at the title lf this book. Hockney's sketches are dull, smudged, and not fit for print or publication. As a personal reminder of a visit, all right, but most of them should not be put out for public consumption. They do not enhance our views of the area if we have been there, and some of them muddy the memory. Better to go and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just Sketches, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
I was disappointed that there was no written context for the sketches as this would have helped the understanding of where he had been and what he had seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sketchbook pages, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
A great source of inspiration for going out and sketching. Great resource in the classroom. Fantastic to see some of David Hockney's preliminary sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Sep 2013
By 
J. R. Miles "Music novice" (sleaford england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
What commitment what stamina and what a fantastic painter he really is Anyone interested in Art should have this on there shelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tackling the Yorkshire Wolds, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
Having sketched in the Wolds recently during a walk on thenWolds Way, it seemed like a good idea to see howHockneybtackles the same subject. He does it with verve, his mark making and his drawing make these flowing landscapes come alive. After this book, I have to take a whole new look at the area, or anywhere. One should remember that these are sketches, rough and ready at times, others the work of somewhat longer, and more detailed. First impressions are what you mostly get. The only reservation is about the colour that the printing process has delivered. One feels that the originals would be so much more vibrant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like the design of this book greatly although not the full on best examples of work shown, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Yorkshire Sketchbook (Hardcover)
This boo has the layout like an artist sketchbook in a landscape format with full images running to the top of and bottom of pages and in to the next page with no breaks. There is no writing in this book it it full of images ii really love the design and layout as i am an artist this gives me good ideas for layout out of my own sketchbooks and ideas for my own artwork . I like the landscape s /pathways of hockey greatly while the best examples are not shown in this book. This is more his everyday quick sketches while a few like i do not full like the whole pictures in the book. Only given four stars as the format is very diffrent to many art books i ve seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Yorkshire Sketchbook
A Yorkshire Sketchbook by David Hockney (Hardcover - 19 Dec 2011)
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews