Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurprisingly interesting.
There are a few everyday maths books out there nowadays, but not many are the equal of Eastaway's clever, curious, witty tour of the way it crops up just about everywhere. If you've read his others, there'll be nothing surprising about how interesting this one is (so, wrong subtitle, but you know what he means), or how accessible (it's beautifully clear), but you might be...
Published on 2 Jan 2009 by Dean Swift

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short, too simple
Disappointing - I found this book to short and too simple. It didn't bring the subject to life as much as some of these types of book can do.
Published 1 month ago by GSC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurprisingly interesting., 2 Jan 2009
By 
Dean Swift (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
There are a few everyday maths books out there nowadays, but not many are the equal of Eastaway's clever, curious, witty tour of the way it crops up just about everywhere. If you've read his others, there'll be nothing surprising about how interesting this one is (so, wrong subtitle, but you know what he means), or how accessible (it's beautifully clear), but you might be amused by the examples - I'll try to resist the temptation to give any away. And he smuggles in some serious ideas along the way, though you don't really feel the strain. Brilliant too, for those kids who either are, or aren't disposed to see much fun in maths. Those who do will consume it. Those who don't might be tempted to give it another chance after reading this. I'd been meaning to buy it since I heard him on the Today programme months ago. Should have done sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maths can be fun., 1 Jun 2009
By 
J. May (Macclesfield, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this primarily for my grand daughter aged 13 who shows an interest in maths but found it very interesting reading myself.
I have not been through the whole book yet as it is the sort of book that you can put down and return to time and time again. It is very readable and Rob Eastway comes up with many facts that you could bore people with for hours, many of which are quite counter-intuitive. In fact you would not even know that you are learning about maths.
It is not at all dull and this is the point that the author makes very well.
I am looking forward to going through the book with my grand daughter on her next visit.
If you want a non-technical and interesting book about maths and probability I can thoroughly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat to read for oneself and a wonderful gift for family or friends., 4 Oct 2008
By 
Philip Mayo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Two trains are approaching each other on the same track, both traveling at 50 mph. When they are exactly 100 miles apart, a fly, traveling at 60 mph, leaves the front window of one train and heads directly towards the 2nd train. When it reaches the front window of the 2nd train it turns (instantaneously) and heads back towards the 1st train, always maintaining its speed of 60mph. When it reaches the front window of the 1st train it turns again and heads back to the 2nd train. It keeps flying between the trains in this manner until the trains meet and the fly is killed. The question is: what total distance does the fly travel before the trains meet?

A mother is 21 years older than her son. In 6 years time she will be 5 times the age of her son. The question is: Where is the father?

Such are the some of the delightful problems or puzzles that the author sets us and then proceeds to show us how to answer in surprisingly easy ways, using everyday maths. So don't be put off by the idea that maths is dull, boring or not something that we can all use and enjoy. After all, everyone does use maths in some form every day in lots of ways.

By the time you are finished this highly engaging book you will be able to square (in your head!) any number between 1 and 100. For instance, 37 x 37 = 1369 and so on. I have already impressed my long suffering family with that one.

He also shows us some card tricks and how to win at Penney Ante 88% of the time - definitely worth a congratulatory round of drinks down at the pub. And there are some chapters on some of the more striking properties of triangles, rectangles etc, and some thoughts on the inherent consistency and beauty of numbers. A wonderful book which can be read in one sitting, or dipped into or revisited from time to time. A treat to read for oneself and a wonderful gift for family or friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has something for everyone, 4 May 2009
By 
Martin Turner (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This great little book does just what it says - makes maths fun for anyone who never 'got' maths at school and hoped never to see anything on the subject ever again. But it is also a great read (er, make that activity - you should actually try all the great 'exercises' that Mr Eastaway includes) for anyone who did enjoy school maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An incredibly entertaining and amusing book. Had me hooked so much so I could not put it down and read through the night. I am practising the card tricks every day now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Many Socks Make a Pair, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Many Socks Make a Pair?: Surprisingly Interesting Maths (Paperback)
Brilliant for the layman whose school education never revealed that Maths was all about delightful pictures and connecting patterns in Nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, 14 May 2009
Broad range of topics covered. Each topic is covered in enough depth and always with clear explanations and good use of English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maths can be interesting, 5 July 2014
By 
J. Rushbrooke (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book to help those who feel that maths is not for them to see how interesting it can be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read the author's preface..., 5 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author's preface is very honest in saying that there is very little actual maths to follow in the book. He says this might be frustrating... and it is! Having said that, it does do what the author sets out to do, which is to show some of the fascinating facts and 'tricks' which are sadly left out of maths education. If it gets read by 'mathsphobes', which I doubt, it should help a little. I'm giving a generous 4 stars because the book does just what the author set out to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very interesting and it makes maths sound so simple even though it's not that simple. I also think that it is very imaginative and I think that Rob Eastaway is - as well as being a marvellous author - is one of the most intelligent people I know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Many Socks Make a Pair?: Surprisingly Interesting Maths
How Many Socks Make a Pair?: Surprisingly Interesting Maths by Rob Eastaway (Paperback - 5 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: 13.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews