Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2011
What I like about this book is that it gives me not only concrete examples but also specific tools that I can apply, tools that make sense and really work! Reading it, I felt inspired to work on projects (and people!) that I didn't know how to approach before. To get results both personally and professionally, this book really helps.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
I really like the book, it is written in a very lively way due to the many examples, cases and the link to daily business practice. As with any powerful book or course on interpersonal influence, the models are simple, easily accessible but very powerful. For people who like structure (like me) the influence model presented by Geof helps a lot, as the `responsive' and `directive' axes steer the communications, and force you to think first about what you want to achieve. Having studied a lot about negotiation in the last 2 years, I especially like the way in which the model forms a perfect introduction to win-win-style of negotiations. This win-win style becomes a natural consequence of a conscious choice of communication and behaviour, rather than the "preferred-but-unrealistic" style as it is seen by many people.

I recommend the book to anybody who feels intrigued by or became curious about the title of the book: how to be successful and get results when hierarchy won't help and authority is absent. The many case studies and lively style of writing makes the book a very helpful and practical guide to increase interpersonal effectiveness at the workplace!

Frank Garten
Intercultural Business Consultant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I really liked Geof's book as it details theory, case studies and self development exercises that help the reader to identify key approaches to influencing the modern agenda, whilst aiding self-development. I think this will resonate with people from most organisations and, as more and more organisations move to forms of matrix management, even in the public sector, this book should be seen as a primer for leaders and managers who have to make change happen ... often without authority to drive that change! This is particularly so if you find yourself working with difficult or challenging staff! I recommend it to all![ASIN:1907498303 Getting Results Without Authority: New Rules of Organisational Influence]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
Geof Cox has produced a very useful book for the leaders and managers of the 21st century. In his book he addresses most of the issues we are facing in today's business and explains the necessary shift from a control driven environment to an environment where we influence each based on the understanding of each other's needs. What I also found appealing in the book are the links to other positive and strength based approaches and the attention for cross cultural aspects. The book is highly practical with its numerous case studies, insights into different styles of influencing, checklists and supporting graphics. A true hands-on guide as it says on the cover of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
This book is so much more than just a book. First Geoff Cox guides you through the concepts of power and influence. Then he provides tools to determine your own prefered influencing style and to understand how your style interact with others. Moving on, you will recognize issues you encounter and people styles you deal -or struggle- with. You will find yourself walking back and forth between chapters to link it all up in action plans to deal more effectively with the issues at hand. A book you will keep with reach,as a guide for increasing your impact on your business results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
Geof's book provides a clear and wide-ranging approach to a subject that is increasingly important. Traditional command-and-control structures with formal, positional authority are less and less relevant. If you have to get things done by other people across differing functional, geographical or culutural boundaries, then this book can help. A good, short, practical and readable guide to help acquire some of the skills that differentiate the really excellent from merely competant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
Geof has harnessed a range of relevant theories and models about influencing and brought them alive with case study examples and through sharing his own wide experience in the subject matter. This highly readable book contains practical and extremely valuable information for anybody looking to increase their influence at work. I strongly recommend it. The timing is also good as influencing, without necessarily having positional power, becomes ever more important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
Four recognizable influencing styles: people (sharing, listening), ideas (connecting, envisioning) , process (proposing, reasoning), action (demanding, exchanging) form the backbone of this book. Geof Cox shares freely his insights, experiences and exercises around this model. That makes this book a useful companion, not only for managers but also for consultants, trainers and executive-coaches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
This really is a hands-on practical guide that is helpful and isn't difficult to read or full of management speak. In fact there are lots of exercises to do, case studies to learn from and principles that have been made very accessible. I also like all the quotations which somehow give it an extra bite!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This is a brilliant little book. You can read it in an evening if you want. It has lots of practical things to do and try out. I use it, recommend it, bought a copy for my career minded niece and really, it's great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)