Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, now.
There is so much on the internet about writing from blogs to books. Having written some ebooks and then had them proof read, and then worked on them again and then reread, all I can say is if you are serious about writing ebooks and writing non fiction is READ THIS BOOK.

You will save time and energy and get results, having an advance copy of this really...
Published on 28 Feb. 2010 by Kevin & Sarah Arrow

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK guide but a bit dissappointing
From the 5 star reviews before I was expecting a tome crammed with knowledge and ideas that would keep me thinking for weeks. In the end I read the book in a single sitting on the train and found myself wanting much more information. The chapters on seeking and working with a publisher were light in my opinion and even contains a "mini-advert" for one particular online...
Published on 4 Nov. 2010 by Dave Barter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK guide but a bit dissappointing, 4 Nov. 2010
By 
Dave Barter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
From the 5 star reviews before I was expecting a tome crammed with knowledge and ideas that would keep me thinking for weeks. In the end I read the book in a single sitting on the train and found myself wanting much more information. The chapters on seeking and working with a publisher were light in my opinion and even contains a "mini-advert" for one particular online service. £15 is too high a price for this book which is thin and light on detail in my opinion. It did not live up to my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
I found the book quite shoddy in design, as if it had been created on a computer and simply printed off - being printed in a sort of grey arial font on white paper. There is no other colour in the book at all - cheap looking. It has no photographs or instructive diagrams or visual concepts and thus lacks some variety in design; it's look is almost a throw back to the 1950s. I found the information sound enough but very obvious. I found my expectations brought about by the enormous contents I found on line to be wide of the mark. From these I got the impression that it was a thick and heavyweight tome but in fact it's quite small and each of the content points are dealt with considerable superficiality. Much of the book is about the business of contracts and such like, not about, for example, the problem of outlining non fiction books, and giving specific examples with helpful hints which most readers would find useful. It does have examples of outlines in the appendix but without explanatory notes. It does not go into HOW you go about putting a non fiction book together, but skirts around the issue. I read shed loads of books on fiction writing and many are EXCELLENT, but this - the first book I've read for years on writing non fiction - was dire by comparison. I notice that the author has had business training, and it seems like that. I wonder if she is involved in the press that prints these off. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateurish and over-priced, 15 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
Having read the numerous 5-star reviews for this book, I decided to put my doubts aside about the £15 price tag and purchase a copy. I was hoping this book would help me plan a non-fiction text I've been wanting to write for some time.

However, when 'How To Write Winning Non-Fiction' arrived in the post I was hugely disappointed. The look and feel of the book is very amateurish; it's main drawbacks are a badly designed cover and the font being printed on bright white paper.

What's written in the book isn't much better. I wanted tips on how to plan, produce and market a non-fiction text. Instead, there are several plugs for other books (also by the same publisher - surprise, surprise!) which the author explains will clarify certain points, like marketing, in more detail.

The final nail in the coffin comes when the author (who is Canadian) discusses the use of British and American English in non-fiction. Her opinion is that 'check' (American English) is better than 'cheque' (British English), because the spelling is more closely associated with how it sounds. Talk about a dumbing down of standards. I'll keep with British English and all its pecularities thank you very much!

I also felt that the recommended websites and contacts in the book's appendices were geared to an American audience. It's clear that the author and publisher want this book to sell in international markets but it comes at the expense of alienating first-time British writers. Most of us would be happy selling books in Britain before branching out into Europe and the rest of the world.

I sent this back and bought Jurgen Wolff's writing guide: Your Writing Coach: From Concept to Character, from Pitch to Publication - Everything You Need to Know About Writing Novels, Non-fiction, New Media, Scripts and Short Stories. It's well-written, professionally published and best of all, a third cheaper than this book.

Avoid this sloppy, expensive and poor quality non-fiction guide at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, now., 28 Feb. 2010
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
There is so much on the internet about writing from blogs to books. Having written some ebooks and then had them proof read, and then worked on them again and then reread, all I can say is if you are serious about writing ebooks and writing non fiction is READ THIS BOOK.

You will save time and energy and get results, having an advance copy of this really polished up our latest book. Suze's advice is exemplary and this is reflected in the books sales, sells threes times as fast as the original version!

Thank you Suze, this is a Godsend.

If you don't want to actually write a book and get it published I suggest you actually read something else, this book means you are going places.

Kevin Arrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do You Fancy Writing A Book?, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Stuart Brown (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
Whilst you are supping a pint or fancier beverage has the thought vaguely crossed your mind that it would be cool to have written a book? Something to show your mum? Something to help people? Make some money? Promote yourself? But then your mind wanders and you think:

"Well, it would be cool. But that is a lot of words! What would I write? How would I go about it? And who the hell would publish it?"

If you have ever vaguely entertained those thoughts then this book was designed for you. The focus is not on bamboozling you with the creative arts and how you must let your 'inner genius' shine through (like some writing manuals) and in truth, is all the better for it. Instead it is a practical guide written with a light touch, good humour and not a little common sense about how to write non-fiction from a writer who has 20 non-fiction titles to her credit.

Once you connect the dots about writing non-fiction (I have so far written and published one non-fiction book (more to come), so I have had a glimpse at the hallowed land of publishing). You really start to 'get' on an an instinctive level that if you have something genuinely valuable to share and a passion to share it that this is perfectly do-able. In reality the hardest part is getting started, and that is where books like this can help.

It takes a step by step approach from coming up with an idea for your book, figuring out the title (Sidenote - The title is generally less then 10 words, so even if you are taking 'baby steps' with writing then you can get that wrapped up and feel like you have accomplished something meaningful!) Through the planning stages, and then onto the bit you have been avoiding all these years, namely setting fingers to keyboard (or paper if you are feeling 'retro') and actually writing the thing.

Now that's as far as many books in this area go. But I liked that Suzan delved extensively into discussing the different publishing options. With the main thrust of this part of the book being aimed at factors to consider with attracting a traditional publisher (as opposed to say print on demand or vanity publishing though they are talked about). There is also a really interesting appendix where Suzan shows examples of various proposals, feedback forms and a contract that she had used with her own books. So you can copy the format over to any book proposals you need to submit to publishers you approach.

Like any "How To Write" book this is not going to explode in a shower of fairy dust and write your book for you. So you will need to prepare yourself to do more then just read. But if you are in a mind to seize your destiny and start writing your book, then this could be a good catalyst to drag it kicking and screaming out of you.

After all, if not today, then when? If you want to write a non-fiction book and haven't a clue where to begin, then Suzan's book is a great place to start your journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You want to write a book? Buy this one first., 8 April 2010
By 
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
There are dozens of 'How To...' books out there, but few which really get down to the truth of what it takes to write a book yourself. If I want to learn something new I'd rather go to someone who has mastered the art, several times over. And I'd want to know the whole truth. Suzan St Maur tells you the whole truth, and gives you the inside track, but the difference is she does it with immense style and good humour. This is no lazy publish-by-numbers book. It's the perfect blueprint.

This author knows her stuff, and she's never pompous or patronising about it. She is very funny and honest, cuts to the core of her subject, gives you all the information you need and provides you with a sane and sensible structure to work with. She is a master of her art, a superb writer and a wise and generous 'pal in print'.

You will have to work your butt off to get there. Writing a book is not an easy ride, but if you have this kind of expertise to hand - and you take her advice - you might actually achieve something truly worthwhile. You'll know the best angles, the pitfalls and the realities. You'll learn how to think things through properly - and you'll probably end up surprising yourself. If you are serious about getting yourself into print buy this book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for aspiring authors, 6 Mar. 2010
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
Most of us fancy having a go at writing a book at some point in our lives, and most of us fail. With Suzan St. Maur's "How to write winning non-fiction" there are no excuses any more. Suzan takes us through every aspect of writing in a way that enables us to overcome all the hurdles and avoid the pitfalls. She motivates us as we go and even breaks down the most daunting aspects (such as getting the book published) into managable and achievable steps. Moreover, the book is a damn good read. Suzan engages the reader's attention from page one and using a range of entertaining and humourous anecdotes she illustrates every point in a way that makes it both memorable and amusing. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable and credible resource for would-be writers, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
J. L. Hatton (Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
This book is a "must read" for anyone even contemplating writing their own work of non fiction. It takes all the perceived mystery out of the process from deciding what to write about right through to finding a publisher, and makes it appear do-able. Written in a conversational and straightforward style, it is easy to follow and very motivational. The book has credibility as the author really has been there and done it, having been published in a wide range of subjects. I was reading it largely out of academic interest, but now feel inclined to roll my sleeves up and attempt my own piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to writing non fiction., 4 Mar. 2010
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
Ms St Maur has written a book that is guaranteed to level the many hurdles that face the prospective writer. From writing technique to finding a publisher Suze clears the way with clarity and humour. She shares her writing experiences generously and she recounts the various pitfalls amusingly and with a deft hand. You see the problems, and also the solutions. Her passages on planning, style and craft are invaluable.

I read the first half of the book at one sitting, then spent a weekend browsing back and forth finding more to interest by the page. Not only is the book interesting and informative, it is a relaxing and absorbing read. This is a book designed to inspire and create confidence and most of all, to get you going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 2 April 2010
By 
R. Terry (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Write Winning Non-Fiction: The Complete Writing and Publishing Handbook for Non-Fiction Authors (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It's packed with information and put across in a humourous and conversational style which makes for easy reading. For someone like me, only just starting out with my writing, this book has saved me from making basic mistakes and answered a lot of questions I had about the process of getting into print. As well as all the valuable practical information, Suzan gives the reader the benefit of her personal experiences in the writing and publishing world, both good and bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews