Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invention that changed the world..
I enjoyed every word of this, from the portrayal of what Frank Whittle was like and the dedication he showed despite all of the things that were put in his way to put him off, any lesser person may well have done so but not Whittle, he believed in something that would ultimately change the world forever. All this whilst the 2nd. war raged, this will explain why the...
Published on 16 May 2012 by pharoah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars JET:Frank Whittle and the invention of the jet engine
Interesting in places but hard going for anyone not interested in the politics. Not the layman's story I was expecting.
Published 19 months ago by M. Pirie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invention that changed the world.., 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed every word of this, from the portrayal of what Frank Whittle was like and the dedication he showed despite all of the things that were put in his way to put him off, any lesser person may well have done so but not Whittle, he believed in something that would ultimately change the world forever. All this whilst the 2nd. war raged, this will explain why the establishment at the time did not really believe in what Whittle was doing. I was never bored by this, i marvel at a man who had so much foresight!! Excellent reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JET: Frank Whittle and the Invention of the Jet Engine, 23 Dec 2013
By 
M. Bushnell (Warwickshire, Englansd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well documented and interesting from the points of view of both local history ( I live nearby) and the difficulty Frank Whittle encountered in trying to interest anyone in so radical an improvement in aero engineering. Neither government nor industry were inclined to be helpful. An eye opener for would-be inventors but the reading became a little heavy at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Whittle, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent story of the undoubted genius and determination of a brilliant man who gave this country an invaluable lead in jet powered flight ( which the Labour government of the time then gave away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars JET:Frank Whittle and the invention of the jet engine, 4 April 2013
By 
M. Pirie (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting in places but hard going for anyone not interested in the politics. Not the layman's story I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written for the non-technical reader, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review relates to the Kindle version. This book translates quite well to the Kindle except for the photographs, which is to be expected. It has clearly been converted to electronic form by scanning and optical character recognition because there are a few errors where letters have been mistaken, but this does not seriously detract from the reading experience.

The book is well written and very readable. It conveys the struggle that Whittle had in getting recognition for his engine and strikes a fair balance as to the blame for this situation. If the reader is hoping for any technical descriptions of the engines as they evolved, then this is not the book for you. There are no engine schematic diagrams at all, only photographs, which don't help with understanding of construction, or air flows. Many of the components are described but how they all work together, is missed out completely. This is my reason for four star rating rather than five.

There is a useful Appendix dealing with the parallel development of jet engines in Germany. It give useful perspective and highlights the vast difference between the resources available to the German developers, and those cobbled together on a shoe-string by Whittle and his two business partners.

I would certainly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the recent history of engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Man, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh why oh why was he not awarded a nobel prize and why
was he not given the full backing of the British Military.
this is typical of our attitude towards people with brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly interesting, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must buy for anyone interested in aviation, the history of aviation, all about perhaps one of the most important inventions since the wheel, this is one of those stories which shows why we are Great Britain, Sir Frank Whittle and his team are truly inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frank Whittle - JET, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. It pointed up the inefficiency and lack of foresight in the British High Command in those days. Certain minor and petty officials managed to stall this project by many years and allowed the Germans to get ahead using Whittle's patent to kickstart their jet program.
Had we had the Meteor in service at the beginning of the war it would have had major repercussions in many ways, including aerial surveillance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jet: Frank Whittle and the Invention of the Jet Engine
Jet: Frank Whittle and the Invention of the Jet Engine by John Golley (Paperback - 1 Dec 2009)
£10.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews