Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ref uniform book.
Great reference book
Published 4 days ago by Mr R Buchanan

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
Disappointed with this as I have other books by Chris McNab which are excellent; 'The Roman Army', and 'Armies of the Napoleonic Wars' for example. The vast majority of the material covers the period from the start of second world war until now with very little before that. Some of the illustrations are even in black and white, for a book on uniforms, come on...
Published on 24 Oct 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
Disappointed with this as I have other books by Chris McNab which are excellent; 'The Roman Army', and 'Armies of the Napoleonic Wars' for example. The vast majority of the material covers the period from the start of second world war until now with very little before that. Some of the illustrations are even in black and white, for a book on uniforms, come on!

Basically if you have Chris McNab's other book, 'Modern Military Uniforms' and Andrew Mollo's 'The Armed Forces of World War II' then don't bother with this one. Unfortunately the book was damaged in transit (not Amazon's fault) and I had a nightmare of a time trying to return it through their courier Yodel (all Yodel's fault). By the end I was glad to be rid of this book.

Hasn't put me off Chris McNab though and will look out for his other works. Only my opinion of course but hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange sense of priority, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
I liked the book's coverage of the napoleonic wars, but there was next to nothing about the 18th and 19th centuries. Those centuries are the key to understanding the prelude to the napoleonic war and world wars respectively. On the plus side the 20th century was meticulously covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Military uniforms, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
I will agree with Mr.Grumpy on this book. I bought it to add to my collection of books that I use for research purposes for costume and found it disappointing. I do however still like flicking through it occasionally as a starting point but feel that better information can be acquired else where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It could have been an interesting book, but has some flaws, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Licinio Bingre Do Amaral (BRUXELLES Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
This could have been an interesting book, but has some flaws and mistakes, that affect our confidence.
In page 98 there is a figure of a french general and the author says ir is a lieutenant-colonel.
In page 100 there is a lieutenant of the Condor Legion, with the stars of rank of a spanish captais. It. is not a "Pilot", that is not a rank.
In page 185 there is a general of the red army and the writer say is uniform is sea greek, but this colour was known as "Tsar's green".

Some more research was needed to avoid these tape of mistakes that undermine tour confidence in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ref uniform book., 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
Great reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my dad., 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia (Paperback)
My dad loves this book. He thinks it is the best thing ever! So now he draws the blooming uniforms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia
Military Uniforms Visual Encyclopedia by Chris McNab (Paperback - 31 Aug 2011)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews