Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive Recipes and an Effective Short Term Diet
Lose up to 5kg in 21 days is certainly a claim that is going to grab the attention. Of course, in practice, a one size fits all diet of this type is going to have varied outcomes depending on your metabolic rate and your normal intake of calories and the featured dieters in the book lost between 3kg and 6kg.

Generally, although this is an Antipodean book the...
Published 14 months ago by Brett H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Glance for Non-Dieters
Big on lightness and freshness of ingredients but somewhat lacking in the flavour and moistness department, the recipes in this 21-Day Low-Fat diet might cut the mustard for people looking to lose weight on it but for others, like me, who don't really need to diet and pick it up hoping for some new recipes to work, it's lacking -- albeit not without its charms. For those...
Published 13 months ago by Thomas Elce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive Recipes and an Effective Short Term Diet, 21 May 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lose up to 5kg in 21 days is certainly a claim that is going to grab the attention. Of course, in practice, a one size fits all diet of this type is going to have varied outcomes depending on your metabolic rate and your normal intake of calories and the featured dieters in the book lost between 3kg and 6kg.

Generally, although this is an Antipodean book the ingredients in the recipes are not unfamiliar to Brits, although most will not be familiar with, for example, Lebanese cucumbers. However, I imagine there is no problem in making a substitution. The biggest problem with dieting is boredom which leads to cravings for forbidden foods. However, the recipes here are so attractive and, to a large extent, novel that I think this is unlikely to be a problem during the 21 days duration of the diet.

In practice the servings are going to be ample for some, but leave those used to a higher calorie intake still hungry and some flexibility in portion sizes and supplementation with other low fat foods may be necessary in practice. I would like to have had the opportunity to try this diet before writing a review, but unfortunately Vine reviewing deadlines do not allow that. However, anecdotal evidence suggests that if you stick to this regime you stand a good chance of losing a significant number of pounds. Unfortunately it is a truism that in the long run, the only way to keep those pounds off is to make permanent changes to your eating habits, although that is not a criticism of this book, but applies to all limited period dieting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Women's Weekly 21 day low fat diet: good low calorie cook book., 20 May 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When it comes to losing weight I have always maintained that the key is to eat less and exercise more. Fad diets are pretty much useless, and there is no magic cure. My argument falls down a little when I consider my own weight problems, but this is due to a lack of will power on my part rather than a lack of validity of the argument.

This book is a real help. Part of the problem is that low calorie food is often bland and unsatisfying. This book gives detailed recipes for 21 days worth of meals, with the aim of being interesting and satisfying meals that keep the calories below 1000 kCal a day. Annoyingly, the book does fall into the modern irritating convention of using `calories' instead of the correct `kilo calories'. As a scientist this abuse of units is deeply annoying to me - calories means one thing, kilo calories means something different, they are not interchangeable, and using them as though they are can be very confusing.

The recipies are well laid out, easy to follow and provide interesting and satisfying food for two people. The diet is not over structured, so swapping meals around is no problem. It's a pretty good book, so 4 stars. It would have been five except for my annoyance at the confusion of units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Glance for Non-Dieters, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Thomas Elce (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Big on lightness and freshness of ingredients but somewhat lacking in the flavour and moistness department, the recipes in this 21-Day Low-Fat diet might cut the mustard for people looking to lose weight on it but for others, like me, who don't really need to diet and pick it up hoping for some new recipes to work, it's lacking -- albeit not without its charms. For those who do buy it with the intention of following the diet plan (which would naturally include most of its buyers), each day comes with helpful meal preparation instructions and running diary entries that document the progression of the diet. Predictably for a diet, some of the meals aren't very filling and therefore might have would-be dieters reaching for the goodies, but there are some decent little meals worth waiting for, namely: the lamb and lentil curry, the minted fruit salad, the ratatouille pizzas and the gourmet chicken sandwiches. All told, the meals are pretty easy to prepare and typically tasty. In addition to the recipes, the diet is book-ended by descriptions of the myriad ingredients used throughout the book that are concise and informative. Overall, there's a good amount of decent recipes within for this to be worth a glance for non-dieters. As I'm neither a dieter nor a dietitian, I can't comment on how effective the plan is in terms of losing weight and staying healthy but it is, essentially, a kind of fad diet thing that's not exactly going to be a long-term solution for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Womens Weekly, 3 Mar 2013
By 
C. I. Smith "c i c smith" (Kent,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is set out in nice easy to handle bit size information pieces,the book covers a 21 day low fat diet plan that gives you day by day meal plan with covering ideas for meals starting with breakfast right onto evening meal,there are some really good ideas to help you handle your planned diet,
For some people this is a good base to work from as we all at sometime in our life tackle a weight loss plan,some of the meal plans are well thought out giving plenty of variety for you to work with.The big problem with diets is knowing what to have to eat and with a pre worked out plan to follow this helps with getting into the swing of things.
Nicely set out with plenty of pictures to see the finished article,there is fruit,meat salad chicken and fish,there are some very interesting twists to work with and i was pleased to see one of my favorites Beetroot and orange salad topped with asparagus.
Looking at the book as a whole i feel that this is a good guide to help you start a weight loss plan with plenty of ideas and recipes to help you along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes but 1000 calories a day is too severe, 25 Feb 2013
By 
John Boy (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a 21 day diet with 3 meals a day for two people and two individual snacks, with the aim of losing up to 5 kilograms (11 lbs.). These provide around 1,000 calories per day with less than 20 grams per day of fat which is mostly unsaturated. As this is an Australian publication, some of the vegetables are unusual - such as a Lebanese cucumber - and in the cash-strapped UK we probably won't use fillet steak, but most cooks will work around that. The foreword states that the diet follows the Australian Guidelines, but as these were revised in February 2013 the book may not be up-to-date even though it was published in 2013.

It follows the typical cookery format of a picture of the meal with the nutritional information and the ingredients and preparation alongside. The photographs are good without being 'arty', and the text is clear.

In general the meals have a good proportion of protein to lengthen the time before you feel hungry and, to hopefully limit muscle breakdown. They sound good too. For example the three meals for Day 4 are : minted fruit salad; smoked chicken open sandwiches; pork steak with beetroot salad.

The foreward does say that this is a serious diet, but nonetheless I'm not happy about a one size fits all 1,000 calorie diet. A more sensible approach would be a 15% reduction in calories and 0.5 kilograms weight loss per week. For example my wife's adjusted metabolic rate is 1,690 calories a day, whereas mine is 3,360. if I were to drop to a 1,000 calories a day, I would have muscle loss and I wouldn't recover from exercise sessions. To calculate the adjusted metabolic rate for women, Google 'Anita Bean'. You might also try Slim Secrets: How to eat as much as you like and still lose weight or The Complete Guide to Sports Nutrition (Complete Guides) - this will be updated in March 2013.

I choose this book for good meals that would reduce LDL cholesterol. It succeeds in that aim and I would be happy to try the menus. I've marked it down by one star as 1,000 calories is too extreme unless you are prepared to have say three of these menu days in a seven day week. Two small suggestions:

* it would be helpful if the recommended ratio of Omega 3 and Omega 6 were mentioned;
* a small amount of resistance training would help to offset muscle loss during the diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Low fat calories, perhaps...but not low cost ingredients, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Me read (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had fully intended to follow this religiously for 21 days to see if I'd be able to get close to the weight loss predicted but sadly I just couldn't do it. For two reasons - 1) If I'd used the exact ingredients listed I'd have had a lighter purse too...some of it is just too prohibitive when added to the regular food budget for the other (non dieting) family members. 2)1000 calories per day left me shaky and cranky by bedtime.

It's maybe only meant for short term fast weight loss but it's just not practical on all sorts of levels. There are some nice recipes in here, if you pick and choose the ones that suit your budget and lifestyle but I found it impractical to follow to the letter.

If you're dieting then there are some helpful ideas and menu's in here that you could probably adapt to your liking but as an overall 'one size fits all' low fat diet book it falls short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goog, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
This book has some good recipes in it. It is a 21 day diet so you are suppose to follow the book. But if you just want some ideas to find new low fat recipes its a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a nice little diet book, 4 July 2013
By 
E. Ramshaw - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
we did enjoy this book and wanted to work through some of the recipes before leaving a review and can happily say they are delicious. great large photos of the recipes to both entice and help you see what you are aiming for as well as easy instructions for each one of the tasty selections.
laid out day by day for 21 days and three meals a day. ok you may not want to cook them all but at least it helps you to remin focused.
great little book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by it's cover, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The cover of this book did put me off, it seems quite dated compared to a lot of the more 'faddy' diet books that flood the market every year. I was expecting some fairly boring contents. While the premise of this book is very traditional (fewer calories and more movement = weight loss), it's simple and it works. The meals are based on filling, healthy, natural foods, and instill a mentality on healthy eating rather than low calorie convenient food that doesn't change long term eating habits. The recipes are simple and inexpensive, although sometimes I did feel they could do with a bit more flavor with some herbs or garlic for example. The recipes are mostly photographed, and are clearly laid out, even fairly inexperienced cooks wouldn't struggle with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Week Diet, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Brian Martin "lucky laddie" (Erskine Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 21-Day Low-Fat Diet: Triple-Tested Recipes for the Best Weight-Loss Plan for a Healthier, Slimmer and More Gorgeous Body (The Australian Women's ... (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book is well laid out and easy to follow. There is a shopping list and a snack list.. The daily menus are complete with the recipes and method for making each meal, and includes everything you can eat each day, this takes away the hard work of trying to make up your own meal plan. You can also change the days around to suit yourself if for example you don't like that restricts your planning. Couldn't be easier. No guarantee how much weight you will lose though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews