Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, easy recipes
This is a lovely little booklet which contains great recipes and good colour pictures! For me, as a Dutch person, it is ideal since it uses the metrical system. UK buyers don't worry: there is a very easy-to-use table in the back converting metrical to the Uk system.
I rate this a 5+ !
Recipes include chutneys, pickles, oven dried tomatoes, a spicy coriander jam...
Published on 15 Feb 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pickles and chutneys
I did not realise that this was one of the smaller Australian woman weekly publications. It was a pleasant enough booklet but some of the ingredients are rather obscure and would be difficult to obtain. I thought that this would be an addition to the preserving books I already have but had I flicked through it in a shop I would not have bought it.
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by MRS TWEEDY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, easy recipes, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This is a lovely little booklet which contains great recipes and good colour pictures! For me, as a Dutch person, it is ideal since it uses the metrical system. UK buyers don't worry: there is a very easy-to-use table in the back converting metrical to the Uk system.
I rate this a 5+ !
Recipes include chutneys, pickles, oven dried tomatoes, a spicy coriander jam and more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is a good basic guide to chutneys and relishes, with a small section on dried foods. with around 50 or so simple recipes it's very good value for the price, although you will need some cup measures (preferably Australian) to complete them easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic compact book, 7 Oct 2002
By 
Jessie (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is brimming with information and photographs of enticing pickles and relishes. It has enough detailed information to make these recipes easy to follow. For a small book it contained a wide variety of recipes. The finished results were great and tasted lovely. A great little book for anyone who fancies a dabble in this area. Enjoy pickle making and relishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Numerous recipes with explicit instructions. Missing descriptions though., 5 Jan 2010
By 
Pallus the Phallus (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book in that it contains NUMEROUS recipes for all sorts of chutneys and pickles. It would keep you busy in the kitchen for a long time.

Each recipe has a nice picture, an ingredients list and recipe instructions.

However, there isn't an introduction to each recipe which actually DESCRIBES each product. eg. "This is a dark, rich, fruity pickle with a spicy after-kick. Great with sausages."

The recipes are varied and imaginative; some are made with exotic fruits and more unusual ingredients.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pickles & Chutneys (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Nice little book - good selection of straightforward recipes & no-nonsense! Would suit a novice or more experienced cook equally well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pickles and chutneys cook book, 18 Feb 2011
Bought it for my brother's birthday at the very last minute. Arrived just in time and he was well-impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars womens weekly: pickles and chutneys, 31 Aug 2010
Simple and straight forward made my life a lot easier thought it would be really difficult to do but not so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 13 Feb 2013
By 
L. Hall (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pickles & Chutneys (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Another reliable classic from the Australian Women's Weekly team. A good variety of recipes but I can't see us having a glut of pineapples or mangoes on the allotment so guess we won't try them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pickles and chutneys, 16 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not realise that this was one of the smaller Australian woman weekly publications. It was a pleasant enough booklet but some of the ingredients are rather obscure and would be difficult to obtain. I thought that this would be an addition to the preserving books I already have but had I flicked through it in a shop I would not have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too exotic, 4 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking for something more traditional. There is many recipes using exotic fruits like bananas, mangos and coconut or ingredients I never heard about like pawpaw and choko. This book will be good for someone looking for unusual recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pickles & Chutneys (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis)
Pickles & Chutneys (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) by The Australian Women's Weekly (Paperback - 2 Aug 2010)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews