Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Chronicles of Nick" book 2, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sequel to "Infinity", teenager Nick Gaultier is still pretty much oblivious to the powers he will wield as the Malachi and the enemies he has already made. As he continues to struggle as an underprivileged kid in a wealthy school, Nick juggles a variety of supernatural attacks, the sudden appearances and disappearances of his mysterious mentor Ambrose and discovers friendly faces could just mask an enemy.

The crazy supernatural adventures surrounding Nick Gaultier cleverly incorporate new ideas to previous plots fans of the Dark-Hunter world have already come across. Because a centuries old "Ambrose" is trying to change the course of Nick's 14 year old life, SK can add to or change any of the story lines we've already encountered so even familiar moments will have a fresh feel to them.

Perhaps because of Nick's young age, and that of his schoolmates who become involved in his battles, "Invincible" seems more for the teen market than for an older audience. The action scenes are written with SK's normal flair; however the hot romance and dark edgy story lines are (understandably) missing in the world of a 14 year old boy who's one main worry when facing supernatural creatures is that he may die a virgin. This is still an exciting read, but more along the lines of Bella and Edward rather than Valerius and Tabitha or Zarek and Astrid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is going to make a huge difference to the storyline, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second in the (theoretical) Young Adult series linked to Ms Kenyon's Dark Hunter/Dream Hunter universe. A synopsis of where this story sits is: Nick Gautier (pronounced Go-shay) is a teenager when first met in the Dark Hunter series. Over the course of those books, he grows to adulthood, before losing his mother in tragic circumstances. This, coupled with other events, results in Nick killing himself, and the start of his hatred of Acheron Parthenopeaus. However, there is more to Nick's character than meets the eye and he has a far greater role to play that was apparent in the early books.

In this book, we are back to Nick as a teenager, who has only just realised that there is a whole world of creatures out there that he knew nothing about. The first book, Infinity, introduces us to him in more detail. In this book, he starts to learn more about his abilities and his importance both the status quo and the future. He is helped, as in the first book, by the mysterious Ambrose, and by his other friends, Caleb and Nekoda. He also finds out more about Simi. This is a critical part of the story, as not knowing about Simi caused a whole load of problems for him.

So, this is the most intruiging part of this series. Instead of Nick making the 'mistakes' that led to his death, Ambrose, who is an adult Nick from centuries in the future, has chosen to try to change the decisions his teenage self makes, and meeting Simi is a major part of this.

I don't want to say much about the book itself, because it will spoil the story, but suffice it to say that what happens has left a whole new way for the story of Nick to develop. I can't wait for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great second title, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
To be honest with you, this is a title that I've been looking forward to for quite some time as we continue Sherrilyn's masterful telling of the story of Nick Gautier for the young adult market which picks up where the previous book, Infinity, left off. What unfurls within this title is a story of daring, of bravery and perhaps best of all a young man coming into a world of his own. It's cleverly written, it has some great scenes within and the author has laid out the arc so that readers will be glued to the last. Finally back that up with a sense of wonderment that many will have many readers (adult and Teen alike) amused and you know that its going to be something pretty epic.

My only real criticism to do with titles like this is that you know that the principle character will live no matter how bad the situation gets as they appear within other titles. That said, it is my only criticism of this book and with many other characters to fret about its one that will be overlooked by a great many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chronicles of Nick book 2, 18 Jun 2012
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Invincible: Number 2 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
Invincible is the second book in Sherrilyn Kenyon's YA spin off to the Dark-Hunters series. The Chronicles of Nick books star 14 year old Nick Gautier as he is first drawn into the Dark-Hunter's world after starting to work for Kyrian. I have to admit that I'm not up to date with the Dark-Hunters series, in fact I've only read the first couple of books so I haven't seen much of Nick as an adult. I'm getting to know his younger self first through this series and will be interested to see more of him as I catch up with the adult series too. I enjoyed the first book in this series, Infinity, but I did find it a little confusing at times because I wasn't familiar with this world or what the Dark-Hunters actually were. Now that I've started the other series I found this second instalment easier to read and I enjoyed it even more than the first book.

The story picks up immediately after the end of the first book, Nick is trying to come to terms with everything he has learnt about himself and the paranormal world that he now finds himself in. He has no idea what the full extent of his powers are but he knows that he needs to master them as soon as possible. As if school wasn't bad enough when zombies were taking over Nick now finds himself being blackmailed by the new football coach into stealing from his fellow players. But what does the coach want with the items that he has asked Nick to acquire for him and why are so many 14 year old boys being murdered?

I loved Nick's character in the first book and the more I get to know him the more I like him. I love the way he is so close to his mother, she had him when she was very young and faced a difficult struggle to raise him after her parents kicked her out of home when she was pregnant. Nick has a lot of respect for his mum and as much as she might drive him insane at times (don't all parents irritate their teenage children?!) he won't hear anyone say a bad word about her. In fact he does his best to try and take care of her and treat her to things that she can't afford to buy for herself. Nick's mother can be quite strict but she has raised him to always do the right thing and that really shows in his character. He is smart, fiercely protective of the women in his life, loyal to those he cares about and he always tries to do the right thing. When he is forced into the position of stealing from his team mates it hits him really hard and you can see how much he hates to do something that he feels is so wrong.

Nick is still getting advice from his mysterious mentor Ambrose and we find out a lot more about who he is and what he's up to in this book. It isn't always easy for Nick to decide who is on his side, should he always listen to Ambrose's advice or make up his own mind about people? Demon Caleb is still on the scene and starting to feel like a friend to Nick, although Caleb says that he only protects Nick because he has to I definitely get the feeling that there is more to it than that. I'm also very curious about Kody - I want to know more about what she is and who she is working for because there is definitely more to her than we've seen. I absolutely adore Simi and she steals the show for me every time she steps onto the page - you can't help but laugh at her weird way of talking and the strange things she comes out with.

The story is fast paced and kept my attention from beginning to end. I'm looking forward to reading Infamous and finding out what happens next. I also really need to get around to catching up with the Dark-Hunters books so I can try to figure out what it is that Ambrose is trying to change about Nick's future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nick gautier, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read many of the dark hunter series by this very talented writer and loved them all. Nick was a big character that always seemed secretive. What a joy now to get to know him and his role. LOVING IT

I adore sherrilyn Kenyon and find this series hard to put down once I've started. Keep up the good work.

Please please please have these made into a tv series or films. AMAZING. Would give true blood a run for its money.

X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Oct 2013
By 
robin (hunstanton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as the other dark hunter books AWSOME!!! Can't wait to get stuck into the next instalment of the chronicles of Nick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DH books, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: Number 2 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
I love the Dark Hunter books Sherrilyn Kenyon is an amazing writer, definitely recommend to anyone who likes the world of Romance with fantasy and danger and delicious heroes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing book. and a worthy sequel to the original book one of my favourites all time to read

10 /5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars niceee, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: Number 2 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
loved this book it gives you all the history of nick and you get to understand more of nick,s character in the The Dark Hunter series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable read., 14 July 2013
By 
Dark Panther (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm loving these Nick Chronicles, it's a nice break from the Dark Hunters even tho they do make an appearance every now and then. 😀
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invincible: Number 2 in series (Chronicles of Nick)
Invincible: Number 2 in series (Chronicles of Nick) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Paperback - 13 Mar 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews