Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!
I would recommend this to any Sherrilyn Kenyon fan- I was a bit hesitant when I first bought it as I was sure I wasnt going to enjoy it as much as her other novels- I was wrong!

You can tell that this book is aimed towards young adults as the writing style is alot more simplified, however I found that it didnt detract from the storyline at all. It was nice to...
Published on 1 July 2010 by Books, Books, Books!

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good albeit confusing
Infinity is the first book in Sherrilyn Kenyon's Young Adult series following the story of Nick.

I will freely admit that I am not entirely sure what I made of this book but I was sufficiently entertained and intrigued that I will definitely be continuing on with the series in the not too distance future. There were several things that I liked about it but...
Published on 3 May 2011 by Kirsty at the Overflowing Library


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to Nick, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great quick read .... paranormal teen world of Nick Gautier.. smashed the twilight saga..
Can't wait to read the next instalment..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sherrilyn Kenyon is one brilliant writer, she keeps you interested throughout the storyline and keeps you guessing. I always love her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infinity: Number 1 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
love this book it lets you meet nick and get his history before you find him in the The Dark Hunter series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT READ FROM SHERRILYN kENYON, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infinity: Number 1 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
Nick's stories are about his fight to stay on the good side and not to let evil destroy his humanity, as he is destined to become the next malachi who would be responsible for the end of the human race giving ultimate evil to rule the world. I can never put these stories down once I have started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story. loved the book. sherrilyn kenyon is a fantastic writer, I cant wait to read more from this author., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story. loved the book. sherrilyn kenyon is a fantastic writer, I cant wait to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Infinity - CoN -book 1, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a good read but appears to be a shorter version than the original book. There are a couple a sentences that finish mid sentence but this does not distract from the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and fun, 9 Dec 2012
This review is from: Infinity: Number 1 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
Exciting and engaging from the first moment, `Infinity' has a real air of mystery that draws you in and really ensnares you in the action. Nick is a character I have heard from people time and time again that they don't like him. Honestly, I've never had a problem with him, his sarcasm has always humoured me and whilst he can be a little cynical and offensive, his intentions are never bad. Nick is frankly a very likeable character and he unravels deeper in this novel in his own way that creates a greater understanding and might make him more likeable to you.

"What rock you been living under not to know that?"

Some people would probably call that rock "reality", but Nick valued his life enough to keep that sarcasm inside."

It clearly felt strange to read this book alongside the Dark-Hunter series, which is Kenyon's adult series where Nick is first introduced. We jump back in time to when he is much younger and not yet as heavily involved in the Dark-Hunter world; well actually he's entirely oblivious for the start of the novel and his understanding of the world is rather entertaining to see, especially when reading this alongside the Dark-Hunter series two very different worlds are seen. However, I wouldn't say it is necessary to read the Dark-Hunter series because this clearly stands on it's own as a series and whilst those who read the Dark-Hunter series will clearly be able to appreciate Kenyon's style and versatility to move into young-adult and a separate series that develops Nick (who is primarily a secondary character in the Dark-Hunter series) as his own individual, those who haven't will still gain equal enjoyment and may be encouraged to venture into the realm of adult books.

Kenyon has to be applauded for venturing into using a male protagonist because so many authors stick to the same female protagonist that becomes a little expected at times and I find a very different experience comes from male protagonists. Most of her adult novels take on a dual tone with male and female perspectives interspersed for each half of the couple and generally the female tone is more dominant, this is all in Nick's perspective with intermingled scenes from others who are generally the `bad' guys or mysterious creatures who are all part of the paranormal world. I really enjoyed the humour Kenyon managed to really put into Nick's narrative and it was clear whilst being a teenage boy, his relationship with his mum was really developed and he clearly loves her deeply. The dynamic of their relationship was really evolved and nice to see that Kenyon didn't put Nick as shying away from his emotions even as a teenage boy and presented him as very much a guy with an attitude who loved his mum.

"I swear you're the lippiest child on the planet."

Onto the actual plot, we get lots of characters, but they're all introduced at different points in a way as not to confuse you so I felt like the plot slowly revealed itself which really allows the smooth flow of the story. The plot is a little slow to start with, but this is all character introductions and setting the scene which allows Kenyon to set this novel aside as a separate series that you are not expected to know any of the characters. Once we get into the bulk of the story and the zombies, demons, vampires and everything else that is hectic, mayhem and paranormal things really get exciting with enhanced cow prods and rocket launchers, there is humour, action and excitement galore. I don't think I found a point of this novel to be boring once we got past the mundane introduction.

"But once you let me live ... your big mistake ... now I know you think I'm too cute and fluffy to kill."

Overall, `Infinity' is a novel that I urge all fans of Kenyon and fantasy young-adult fiction to pick up. Nick is a character that I think is likeable if you enjoy sarcasm and aren't easily offended, so don't be intimidated for him because beneath the surface is a "mummy's boy" who is humorous and caring he just needs to find the straight path. I'll be looking out for the next book in the series and whilst the recent read of `Seize the Night' has confused by view of Nick and some of the relationships he has with characters, particularly Simi in this novel, but I'm sure Kenyon will enlighten me in the future of both the Dark-Hunters and the Chronicles of Nick since I feel they will both lead to a pinnacle point where they intertwine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Hunter series, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a surprise, I have read all the Dark Hunter books thus far and, as far as I know this was the first series of prequels (book 1 of 3) Ms Kenyon has written concentrating on one particular character; with the exception of Acheron who has his own book. At first I thought I wouldn't enjoy it but as usual her characters hook you and once hooked you are compelled to read on. I had met Nick in the first Dark Hunter book I read as a Squire and while he didn't appear in all the following books he did appear or was referred to in others from time to time, until he crossed "the line" with the main character and leader of the Dark Hunters, Acheron, Nick's actions causing the death of his beloved Mother. This was an excellent read, fast paced, I enjoyed it enormously. I recommend it to all Ms Kenyon's fans who may not have read it and other readers who enjoy tales of demons, daemons (there is a difference) vampires etc and the immortal warriors who protect us from them. Sit back and enjoy the ride, I look forward to her next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars infinity chronicles of nick book1, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book going back to nick gautier's teenage years giving you an insight to what and who nick is, plus zombies and demons brill.So if you love Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series you have to read the first in this trio of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love these books, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Infinity: Number 1 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Paperback)
I love all the dark hunter books, I just can't get enough of them and also swap them with a friend I know and we share my kindle when I have hard back's. We are always ordering on Amazon....what a top banana site, everyone should be on it. xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infinity: Number 1 in series (Chronicles of Nick)
Infinity: Number 1 in series (Chronicles of Nick) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews