Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, witty, and well-written, 17 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
Deceptively easy to read yet with a wealth of character development. I laughed so much over the dating scenarios - been there, got the T shirt! The story leads you on, and if it wasn't for the fact that I had to be up the next day, I would have devoured it in one sitting.

There's so much insight into human nature, such lovely writing - I hope this is the first of many from this writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unput downable, 4 July 2013
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
I was drawn in from page one. I found this novel a pure page turner. As Jennifer a thirty-two year old and a size twenty four searches for her Mr right we are drawn to will her to find him. Jennifer write to lonely hearts looking for her Mr right. When she starts dating the men she finds it rather difficult to tell them she don't want to see them again. Her boss was going to make Jennifer redundant but he offers her an opportunity that might make it a blessing or a curse. Mandy is up there with the likes of Lindsay Kelk. I hope Mandy will write more novels soon. I highly recommend readers to read Stretching It. Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Gritty Northern Tale, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
When a novel which begins with two strangers meeting on Huddersfield railway station doesn't immediately descend into another grim, Northern cliché, it's quite a relief. It's a positive joy when it goes on to demonstrate that people living in Yorkshire don't live troubled lives in't mill or down't pit, we have have actual careers and mobile phones and everything!

Stretching It does just that and more. It's a wry, witty,well written tale of thirty-something Jenny, whose problems are not all her own fault, but not taking charge of them is. Jenny's relationship with her impossible mother is tender but exasperating. Her love life has been permanently on hold and her career is under the scrutiny of a new boss who has anger issues.

She decides to take charge and life becomes somehow even more complicated when she tries lonely hearts dating. Jenny is a great character, her tribulations make you laugh and wince at the same time. I read the book in one sitting, finishing at two in the morning. It was worth the loss of sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A northern Bridget Jones, 19 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
Jennifer Spendlove is the Bridget Jones of West Yorkshire: no agonising about tipping the scales at 8 stones for Jennifer - she's right pleased to get into her size 24 skirt. And you can't imagine her succession of impecunious, inadequate boyfriends being played by Colin Firth or Hugh Grant.
Jennifer's self-esteem is so low that she will put up with anything: bullying at work and at home, even sexual humiliation. There's a lot of truth here about the way women can fall into the trap of thinking that any man is better than no man - and when Jennifer is at her lowest point, this comic novel teeters on the edge of tragedy and becomes much more than just chick lit. Needless to say, Jennifer doesn't turn her life around by becoming a TV presenter: this is the north, so Jennifer changes her life in much more realistic and satisfying ways.
This is a great read, full of northern humour, real characters and a heroine we can all identify with. I read it with a smile on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wit and wisdom, 5 July 2013
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
As with all this writer's work her humour manages to be acerbic, accurate, tender and affectionate.
I loved the detail as in the chapter headings mirroring Jennifer's slide into and out of concern about weight.
I also loved the fact that when Jennifer is able to focus on her real creativity and become absorbed in this work her weight drops off and , sure enough, Mr Right turns up....just when she's not looking.
Any woman (or man? - I guess they do it too) will find following the agonies of blind dates both excruciatingly familiar and hilarious, depending on where they are in the process themselves.
The factory setting will be familiar to anyone who has worked above or alongside the shop floor and Greg is a satisfyingly complex character impossible to pin down.
A book full of wit and wisdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
'Stretching it' is a wonderful story of an underdog who bites back and is very witty with some sharp character descriptions. I lived in Leeds for 5 or 6 years so I enjoyed the descriptions of different areas of the city. However, you don't need to have been to Yorkshire to enjoy it, as the themes of disappointment in love, annoying relations and being sat upon in the work place are pretty universal. Recommended for entertaining beach reading. It would be great for commuting too, as long as you don't mind people tutting at you every time you laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it with enormous pleasure, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
J. M. Nash "jamesnash2" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
Mandy Sutter is a a good writer, a very good writer indeed. This book contains comedy, grittiness and is terrific about the precariousness of dealing with your family [in this case a monstrous mother], your work and finding a partner. With a loveable central character and shot through with witty perceptions, which anyone who has done online dating will wince at, and set in a recognisable and fondly described Leeds, it just whizzes along.

My only criticism is that it was so well-written that I read it TOO quickly. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chic Lit with earthy notes!, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
C. McAlpine (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
I wanted to slow down and savour Mandy Sutter's wry wit and delicious turn of phrase - but I couldn't! Too good! Will be buying for friends; perfect holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chick lit with a twist, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
M. Beardon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretching it (Paperback)
This is a beautifully structured and very entertaining book, and a page turner. It doesn't go the obvious way, which I like. It is at times laugh out loud funny, but also has some depth. The characters are fabulous. I think its a great debut novel and look forward to more. My husband read it too and really enjoyed it, so not just for women
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for chicks, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stretching It (Kindle Edition)
Loved it! A thoughtful, entertaining and very funny novel, full of interesting and believable characters. I identified and sympathised with the main character, Jennifer, perhaps because I am northern and overweight - but I am also a bloke. This is so much more than lit for chicks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stretching it
Stretching it by Mandy Sutter (Paperback - 13 Jun. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews