Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good
very good book and i past from the first time but i was using app in my phone as well
Published 15 months ago by reizan

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This edition contains mistakes, but is under revision
I bought this 2014 Practice Question booklet as a companion to the 2014 Handbook, and was horrified at how many errors these test answers contain. In fact, I abandoned using this as a study guide altogether, after discovering YET ANOTHER error in Test 10. Specifically the answer to question 23. The UK's constitution is unwritten. It is NOT a single document. And the...
Published 15 months ago by jannert


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This edition contains mistakes, but is under revision, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
I bought this 2014 Practice Question booklet as a companion to the 2014 Handbook, and was horrified at how many errors these test answers contain. In fact, I abandoned using this as a study guide altogether, after discovering YET ANOTHER error in Test 10. Specifically the answer to question 23. The UK's constitution is unwritten. It is NOT a single document. And the handbook reference page which the answer directs you to will confirm this.

Practice Test 4 contained 2 errors:
Question 6 - Scotland kept its own legal system, educational system AND the Presbyterian church (in other words, the correct answer to the question should have been D.
Question 23 - Slavery was abolished in the UK in the 19th century (curtailed in 1807 and abolished outright in 1833). When visiting the reference pages 55-6, NO MENTION was made of 'commercial expansion and prosperity of the 19th century were sustained in part by the booming slave trade.' That happened in the 18th century, if memory serves me right.

Practice Test 8
Question 2 - The Scottish Parliament can pass laws in all three of the areas mentioned - Health, Taxation and Civil and Criminal Law. Again, this incorrect answer (Health) is shown to be wrong on pages 133-7 in the study guide.

These are just too many errors to make this a valuable study aid. Heaven only knows how many errors I might have missed in the 'tests' I took, and what might have come in tests 11-20, which I didn't bother to take.

It's a shame, because the format is good, and if the question answers were reliable this would have been an excellent study aid. However, I'll just return to the main manual for my information from now on.

I'd say this book is more than a waste of money. It's a liability. Don't buy it.

.......

Since writing my 1-star review, the publishers have assured me they are not only correcting the errors I mentioned, but have gone through and tightened up a few others as well. Therefore, I've upgraded my review to 3 stars. If the new edition due out soon is error-free, I would give this booklet 5 stars, as the format is easy to use and the topics are covered comprehensively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless! Don't waste your money and time, 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
Useless! Don't waste your money and time! I bought this book on Kindle, but never used / needed it. Reading other book called a guide for new residents (white colour front book), and "Official Practice Questions and Answers" (blue colour fround book) is enough to pass the exam. Also, do not buy 3 books set which you see from other sellers on Amazon or eBay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
very good book and i past from the first time but i was using app in my phone as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Books are no good, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
Books will not get you through the test go to online uk test learning with mock tests and study every day for a month and pass easy trust me I passed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome! would buy again- but PASSED MY TEST :), 21 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
contained loads of questions which were verrry relevant to thhe actual test. This prepares you greatly because i found the questions harder thn the real test. So your brain is prepared for any tough random questions also. Pair this up with the HANDbook, and you have a huge combo for success! Just make sure you do online practice questions also to see the format and get the feel of it. I ALSO PASSED MY TEST YAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars He was then recommended the original Home Office book, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
The questions given here and the questions in the actual exam were markedly different. My husband gave the exam twice and still did not clear it inspire of practising the questions extensively. He was then recommended the original Home Office book. He then cleared the test. His feedback was that the questions here confused him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for passing the test, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
Perfect for passing the test. The questions are slightly more difficult than the actual questions so if you can pass these tests, then you're good to go. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for its purpose and well, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
is ok, good for its purpose and well, very helpful. I recommend buying. I postponed a bit of reading but will get back to it, I think is very good and easy to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy delivery, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
There is not much to say about this book as it's contents is nothing for entertainment. I did like the speed of delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on., 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
These are pretty much the type of questions on the real test.
Together with the study guide are great preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test
Used & New from: £3.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews