Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good
very good book and i past from the first time but i was using app in my phone as well
Published 2 months ago by reizan

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This edition contains mistakes, but is under revision
I bought this 2014 Practice Question booklet as a companion to the 2014 Handbook, and was horrified at how many errors these test answers contain. In fact, I abandoned using this as a study guide altogether, after discovering YET ANOTHER error in Test 10. Specifically the answer to question 23. The UK's constitution is unwritten. It is NOT a single document. And the...
Published 2 months ago by jannert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This edition contains mistakes, but is under revision, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
I bought this 2014 Practice Question booklet as a companion to the 2014 Handbook, and was horrified at how many errors these test answers contain. In fact, I abandoned using this as a study guide altogether, after discovering YET ANOTHER error in Test 10. Specifically the answer to question 23. The UK's constitution is unwritten. It is NOT a single document. And the handbook reference page which the answer directs you to will confirm this.

Practice Test 4 contained 2 errors:
Question 6 - Scotland kept its own legal system, educational system AND the Presbyterian church (in other words, the correct answer to the question should have been D.
Question 23 - Slavery was abolished in the UK in the 19th century (curtailed in 1807 and abolished outright in 1833). When visiting the reference pages 55-6, NO MENTION was made of 'commercial expansion and prosperity of the 19th century were sustained in part by the booming slave trade.' That happened in the 18th century, if memory serves me right.

Practice Test 8
Question 2 - The Scottish Parliament can pass laws in all three of the areas mentioned - Health, Taxation and Civil and Criminal Law. Again, this incorrect answer (Health) is shown to be wrong on pages 133-7 in the study guide.

These are just too many errors to make this a valuable study aid. Heaven only knows how many errors I might have missed in the 'tests' I took, and what might have come in tests 11-20, which I didn't bother to take.

It's a shame, because the format is good, and if the question answers were reliable this would have been an excellent study aid. However, I'll just return to the main manual for my information from now on.

I'd say this book is more than a waste of money. It's a liability. Don't buy it.

.......

Since writing my 1-star review, the publishers have assured me they are not only correcting the errors I mentioned, but have gone through and tightened up a few others as well. Therefore, I've upgraded my review to 3 stars. If the new edition due out soon is error-free, I would give this booklet 5 stars, as the format is easy to use and the topics are covered comprehensively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
very good book and i past from the first time but i was using app in my phone as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not useful, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
This book was not useful at all.i had to buy the one recommended by the home office later on for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
This was quite helpful and leaves all online tests behind. A must if you are appearing for life in the uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy delivery, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
There is not much to say about this book as it's contents is nothing for entertainment. I did like the speed of delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars helpful, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
really helpful. close to the real test questions. helped me pass first time. did each test until i could go through the whole book getting the pass rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent !!!, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test: Practice Questions 2014: Questions and Answers for the British Citizenship Test (Paperback)
No need for a long comment.....Its simply the deal because you know you have just passed the test without really going to the test centre physically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9402a0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews