Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your own personal tour guide!
The book leads you on 25 walks around different parts of London. For each walk, we are first given a map with the walk drawn on, then basic info on the distance and broad approximate time it will take (generally half-day or full-day), as well as the nearest tube or train stations to the start and end points. Following this, there is a bit of general history about the...
Published 14 months ago by Vanessa-Jane Chapman

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Purchased as a birthday gift.
Cannot rate it as it was a gift for someone. As with the previous request, I responded before Christmas last year.
Published 11 months ago by barnowl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your own personal tour guide!, 17 July 2013
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
The book leads you on 25 walks around different parts of London. For each walk, we are first given a map with the walk drawn on, then basic info on the distance and broad approximate time it will take (generally half-day or full-day), as well as the nearest tube or train stations to the start and end points. Following this, there is a bit of general history about the area. Then the walk starts, with detailed information over several pages, explaining where to walk, what you will see, including information and history along the way, as well as suggestions for places to stop off. There are also several photographs for each walk, showing some of the sights along the way.

This book would be an excellent companion for anyone wanting to explore London by foot, either alone, or in a group. It would particularly suit those who enjoy learning a lot about what they are seeing. The hardest thing would be deciding which one of the 25 walks to pick first! The amount of information for each walk could be too much for some people as it does go into quite a lot of detail, but if that's the case, you could just follow the map at the start of each walk, and then refer to any points of interest in the text as and when you wanted to - they are numbered on the map, so you can easily find them within the text.

A definite recommendation for anyone wanting to explore London in a different, and very educational, way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well compiled and thought-out guide, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
London's secret walks takes you on guide filled journey around one of the greatest cities in the world. With stunning photography and an eye catching cover, this is a must have book for anyone who wants to discover the true London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
Very useful book - lots of walks taking in many unusual sights/ sites. Divided up into manageable areas. Great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction, 28 May 2013
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend who enjoys walking, and she's already walked her way through almost half the book. She's not so sure about the 'secret' but she especially likes the maps and the little nuggets of information that the writer drops in. I'm getting such great feedback that I might have to borrow it back or get my own copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London's Secret Walks, 8 April 2013
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
This is an excellent book that describes some really great walks through `secret' London. I had another `secret' book from this company so I thought I'd try this one too. The walks are described in good detail with little maps, there are 25 walks in total but I have only covered 2 since I got this book (walk 3 and walk 6) but I think I will try more. There are a lot of photos in the book which is nice as you can look to recognise those on your walk. I really liked this and it points out places to stop for refreshments on your walk too (which is always necessary!). Yep, I'd recommend it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
A gift to my son in London which he loved and will enjoy using for a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great suggestions for seeing London with fresh eyes, 22 April 2014
By 
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
If you go on a coach tour of London you can cram in as many of London’s sights as you have patience for, and hopefully stop and grab a quick look at a few of them too. But if you want to get a real feel for the city then grab this book, your walking shoes and maybe an umbrella and hit the streets. Unlike a planned city like New York, London has grown organically from a collection of villages, and this book peels back the years to show you what remains of them and their different characters.

London's Secret Walks gives 25 walks with a chapter per walk, and each can be tackled in half a day or less (or more if you visit many of the suggested hostelries en route). The first of these, Roman Britain, shows you what survives of London’s earliest days, but after that the chapter titles such as Bloomsbury, Notting Hill, St James, and Soho and Fitzrovia speak for themselves. I thought I knew my London: well, I didn’t – but I do now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars London's secret walks, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
I love exploring London and this book will help to plan some interesting walks, nice to get some informed guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for a cheap day out, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
I am very pleased with this book, even though l live in outer london their are places l had never been to , love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 April 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Keepax "paulthetrainer" (kent, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places (Paperback)
Really enjoyed the walks in the book. Did four of the city 'half-day' walks in one day but we did get a bit of a move on and didn't really stop for too long at each point of interest, although we could have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places
London's Secret Walks: Explore the City's Hidden Places by Graeme Chesters (Paperback - 1 Aug 2012)
£8.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews