Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the subject
As a Brit now living in Switzerland, let me tell you... you NEED a book like this. And a Swiss German girlfriend/wife to sort things out for you...

The book contains loads of useful information, but, yes, you do need to rely on sites like EnglishForum.ch for plenty more advice and tips.

The most essential piece of information will be "How much will...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by M. Gledhill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not really up to date
It's not really up to date. Something still reference the 2010 as the date and clearly this should have been stated in the description.
But other than that I like the structure and the details covered.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. Andrea Moro


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the subject, 23 Jan 2012
By 
M. Gledhill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook (Paperback)
As a Brit now living in Switzerland, let me tell you... you NEED a book like this. And a Swiss German girlfriend/wife to sort things out for you...

The book contains loads of useful information, but, yes, you do need to rely on sites like EnglishForum.ch for plenty more advice and tips.

The most essential piece of information will be "How much will I need to earn, to have a fairly good lifestyle in Switzerland". This country is (deep breath) EXPENSIVE.

6 for a pint of beer, anyone ? 4 for a tiny (1 dl) glass of wine ?

Healthcare is expensive, and you MUST have it, you must have a working permit to work here, and register with your local village council, etc, etc. There are loads of tiny (and annoying) rules and laws you need to know about, before you commit serious crimes like attempting to do laundry or mow the lawn on a Sunday!!

If you're thinking of coming to live here, you need a book like this, and this one's pretty excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not really up to date, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook (Paperback)
It's not really up to date. Something still reference the 2010 as the date and clearly this should have been stated in the description.
But other than that I like the structure and the details covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. Tina Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook (Paperback)
Worth every penny,a musthave for anyone relocating to Switzerland. We have found this book to be extremely useful and hope to continue to call on it after we relocate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars moving to switzerland so needed the book as its recommended, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quite disappointed with this book as it was recommended by the swiss employer and the reviews were great.
I've almost stopped using it as the expat forums contain a lot more relevant info. then this book.
your better of hooking yourself into the expat world online and looking thru their forums.
wish I hadn't bought it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook (Paperback)
These books are fabulous and almost essential for the traveller. I worked in Switzerland for 12 months and found this to be very helpful and informative.​
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book to understand everything about Switzerland, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book when I received a job offer from a multinational company located in Switzerland, and needed help in understanding everything about the Country.
I spent some time on several blogs online, but the info I found were pretty messed up and sometimes contradictory. This book helped me to understand and weight all the costs - and advantages, laws, etc. - I would have got if I moved to Switzerland as an expat (e.g. insurance, taxes, pension, food, furniture... everything!!!).
I strongly recommend this book to everyone that wants to understand more about Switzerland before moving there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook (Paperback)
I was hugely disappointed with this book.

It simply gives a list of things that you should consider when moving overseas (eg, finding accomodation, finding a school for your children, etc) without actually telling you how to do it.

For most people, the value of a book on living in switzerland would lie in the specifics of how to actually do it. - As these specifics are lacking, the book is almost useless.

The content is so generic that it could apply to a move to any country, not to switzerland in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook (Paperback)
Useful background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook
Living and Working in Switzerland: A Survival Handbook by David Hampshire (Paperback - 15 Aug 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews