Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant yet easy designs
After GREAT success with Fiona's last book, 'knit the Royal Wedding', I couldnt wait for this one to be published, and it's every bit as good as the last. From Mr Noah in his yellow sou'wester and wellies (and Mrs Noah in her rain cape) to 14 different (and some quite unexpected) species of animal. Elephants, lions, monkeys, tigers, giraffes, zebras, pigs I kind of...
Published on 22 Oct. 2011 by sally tarbox

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They went in two by two
I bought this for a friend who is an avid knitter and who loves making figures. She already had 'Royal Wedding' and had knitted that so knew what to expect. Be warned - although it is a fun book and the figures are good, there are errors. Being an experienced knitter she was able to tweak the patterns slightly and make them work. Also, unlike Jean Greenhowe, Fiona Goble...
Published on 22 Dec. 2011 by J. B. Hammond


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They went in two by two, 22 Dec. 2011
By 
J. B. Hammond "Ballet Lady" (Emsworth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend who is an avid knitter and who loves making figures. She already had 'Royal Wedding' and had knitted that so knew what to expect. Be warned - although it is a fun book and the figures are good, there are errors. Being an experienced knitter she was able to tweak the patterns slightly and make them work. Also, unlike Jean Greenhowe, Fiona Goble usually just says to add the eyes and mouth etc. JG gives precise instructions as to how and where for everything. FG take note. A lovely book but not necessarily for a novice knitter. Useful to have to dip into as well if you just want, for example, a giraffe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant yet easy designs, 22 Oct. 2011
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
After GREAT success with Fiona's last book, 'knit the Royal Wedding', I couldnt wait for this one to be published, and it's every bit as good as the last. From Mr Noah in his yellow sou'wester and wellies (and Mrs Noah in her rain cape) to 14 different (and some quite unexpected) species of animal. Elephants, lions, monkeys, tigers, giraffes, zebras, pigs I kind of expected. But crocodiles, polar bears, penguins, rabbits, tortoises and goats (love the beard on the he-goat!) less so. And of course there's a raven and a dove and a cut-out cardboard ark at the back. It's very simple knitting but very effective. Along with the patterns, Fiona tells the story of Noah so you could read this to a young recipient of the toys. Get knitting in time for Christmas!
I would just say that the animals are fairly big eg the polar bear is 17 cm nose to tail. So if you knitted all 28 critters plus the humans it would be a largeish gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good book, 25 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
Having bought Fiona's previous book Knit your own Royal Wedding,I was keen to get this one. The patterns are easy enough for a beginner knitter, giving instructions for cast on and off, knit and purl stitches also increasing and decreasing, all with pictures showing how to do them. As well as patterns you get the story of Noah and there is a model of the Ark to make at the back of the book, so you can display your animals when you make them.
Detailed instructions for Noah, Mrs Noah, and 14 pairs of animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from the Goble stable (or should I say ark?), 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
A great book, visually accurate and fun to knit. Fiona Goble books always deliver as they are well written and biblically accurate stories with knitting projects that are clear to understand and produce really characterful animals and people. My third complete set (2 Knitivity and one ark) and would do another. Last one was for my daughter's godson Noah. Would be an expensive project if you had to buy all the wool from scratch as some amounts are quite small. Raid your granny's knitting bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant knits, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
Fiona Goble's patterns are so simple to follow, yet the results are amazing. Bought this book after loving Twelve Knits of Christmas. Noah's Knits is equally good. Fun to make...fun for my granddaughters to play with.I use the animal and character patterns to make accompanying toys to go with the books I give them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitting, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits (Kindle Edition)
I am very happy with this pattern book,it is exactly as I expected and was delivered on time,thank you loz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great animals, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
Jmi Byrne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
Thank you,
This is a lovely little knitting book with quite a variety of projects, which are easy to do, and great fun.
My favourite, and it is the easiest is the penguin, so quick to knit, I couldn't believe it. It is useful for using up odd balls of left over wool.
Jennie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cuties, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
it's a lovely book, the patterns are easy to follow - although do have fiddly bits ! and the results are very cute, even though they are not to scale - tortoise is almost half the size of the polar bear - but hey - it's fun

. Lovely to have the story too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY CUTE KNITS, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
This is lovely. I'm an avid knitter, and love this book. It gives the pattern for both the male and female of each animal. In the back, if you wanted to use it, is a cardboard 'make-it-up-yourself' ark for the animals to go into. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects (Paperback)
Fiona Goble's knitting books are full of fun. Haven't tried any of the patterns out yet, but the instructions look very clear. This would be a joy to make for children or as an heirloom.
Delivery from Amazon very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects
Noah's Knits: The Story of Noah's Ark with 16 Knitted Projects by Fiona Goble (Paperback - 14 Oct. 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews