Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting little book
This book will most likely be purchased by fans of Conan-Doyle's most famous character, or by those looking for a small gift for those who love their Holmes. However, it has a somewhat wider appeal, particularly to those interested in the development of western, or at least westernized, martial arts.

The text and pictures / drawings appears to be an...
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by S. Lindgren

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm.
This is a very short book, it reminds me more of those 1960's "teach yourself karate" books in the fact that it is more style than substance.
Published 4 months ago by Jason Bratley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting little book, 6 Jan 2012
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
This book will most likely be purchased by fans of Conan-Doyle's most famous character, or by those looking for a small gift for those who love their Holmes. However, it has a somewhat wider appeal, particularly to those interested in the development of western, or at least westernized, martial arts.

The text and pictures / drawings appears to be an amalgamation of two articles written for Pearson's Magazine by E. W. Barton-Wright on his 'new' system, which was largely a combination of basic jujitsu holds and grappling combined with some practical stick-fighting techniques, suggestions of how to use a bicycle as a practical aid to self-defence, and interspaced with a handful of select quotations from Conan-Doyle's Holmes cannon. Books of this kind were very popular in the final decade of the 19th century and early 20th century, a good example being 'Broadsword and Single-Stick' by R. G. Allanson-Wynn & C. Phillips-Wolley, and 'The "Walking Stick" Method of Self-Defence' by Mr. H. G. Lang. It reads in a very similar way, and is quite entertaining, while certainly providing a useful additional insight into the contermporary late Victorian and Edwardian life and environment, and the kind of fighting methods Conan-Doyle had in mind for his character. Although this is perhaps the selling point and main object of the book, it should be noted that what it describes remains quite practical. Granted, relatively few able-bodied men or women carry walking sticks in the 21st century, which reduces some of the value of the sections on stick use, but they are still interesting to read, and retain a certain indirect interest and use.

The book itself is beautifully presented; the hardback covers are of good quality, with chamfered corners, and a nice maroon cloth spine. The paper and print are of equally good quality, while the presumably reproduced pictures are as clear and well defined as could be hoped for. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's 'Lost' Martial Art, 19 Jun 2012
By 
J. Miles (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
While this book will be a high quality hardback curiosity for the Holmes enthusiast, received with thanks, browsed and filed upon a shelf never to be visited again, it is for martial arts historians and enthusiasts that this book is a treasure. Bartitsu, quite possibly the first western mixed martial art, was created by Mr Barton Wright after travels and studies on several continents. His presentation of the art, unique to the gentlemanly regimes and comportment demanded in the late 1890s, is a snapshot of a lifestyle on the verge of a catastrophic change that would demise it forever.
The book itself is a superb quality production as mentioned in detail in other reviews. The techniques included are drawn from Barton-Wrights original published articles and will serve as a taster for a martial art that is still relevant. The Bartitsu Society carries on Barton-Wright's legacy, and if this book inspires you to seek further, then it has done it's job well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem, 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
I ordered this book and received in just 3 days. As a bartitsu practitioner I was aware of the content
of the book, but never imagined such a high quality of binding and typography. This was a really surprise.
This book is a true gem itself, and it worth every penny. I highly recommend to every book lover martial
artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiffing, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Andy K (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
Excellent guide to help a chap deal with the kind of ruffian and cad one runs into nowadays. Who knew a bicycle could be such an effective weapon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift to a Sherlock Holmes Fan, 8 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
I bought it as a gift to a Sherlock Holmes fan. It was taken from my inquisitive grasp as soon as I finished 'yes, it is the baritsu mentioned by Conan Doyle'. I haven't seen it since. Next time, I'll time my comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly useful, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
This book was worth the money I paid just for the illustrations - the section on defending oneself with a bicycle are particularly funny. However, many of the techniques described are actually useful. I recommend finding a friend to practise with, or could make an interesting party piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bartitsu / Baritsu self defence as used by Sherlock Holmes, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. M. Sanders "TX41" (Powys, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
I have seen the illustrations for Bartitsu also known as Baritsu and it is a very useful method of self defence.

Part of the technique draws on Far Eastern martial arts moves and the Baritsu method was tailored for the Victorian / Edwardian Gentleman about town (although not by Gieves and Hawkes the upmarket outfitters!) to utilise the tools a gentleman of the time had to hand, i.e. a walking stick, umbrella or bicycle!

A great piece of nostalgia but also worth a look as you may just one day have to use one of the moves in the book and the book will have proven to have been a wise investment.

Fair warning to Cads and Bounders everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny little manual, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
The book has a charming sense of humor spread across several step-by-step guides to performing self defense techniques. I found a friend who let me practice the grappling techniques, which make up the bulk of the book, and that truly was a fun time. But this book does cover some cane/umbrella based moves, as well as a portion on how to fight from/with a bicycle that nobodies willing to test out with me. Although my friend particularly liked the portion that teaches one how to defend themselves from someone shaking them by the collar. Almost all techniques are accompanied by illustrations that I felt helped guide me into the moves, without them I probably would have been lost. The book is also dotted with strongman tricks, illusions of strength to emphasize that bartitsu is not about power so much as it's about finding the right leverage. This book is definitely worth a read for any quirky anglophiles, the steampunk fan, or someone who would like to see what bartitsu was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful little book!, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Kairra (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
What a wonderful little book! It's bound perfectly with cut edges that really make it pleasurable to hold. The book itself is full of images of the martial arts moves being executed, as well as explanations and quotes from the original book. The martial arts style starts off as any basic self defense does, with over shoulder throws, disarming moves etc, then moves onto stick/cane fighting and other entertaining methods. Truly a fascinating read, and well worth the price I paid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Reading For The Sherlock Holmes Fan, 5 Dec 2011
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes School of Self-Defence: The Manly Art of Bartitsu as used against Professor Moriarty (Hardcover)
A sad but fascinating book. The sadness is in the eventual fate of the original author. The fascination is that we finally get to see the "Japanese Wrestling" that Holmes often refers to. A bit boring in parts but still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews