Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2012
Beautifully written, inspiring and somehow while reading it I felt very peaceful and calm. One of the best books written on mindfulness and worth a read even if you arent a gardener.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
Ark Redwood has written the best book on gardening ever - if you want the detail of gardening techniques and practices there are more than enough other books out there - but if you want to connect to the essence of gardening, to make a direct and meaningful link between spiritual practice and the art of gardening, this is excellent. Given the title it isn't at all surprising there is a lot of mindfulness in this book, but more than that it is truly a book on gardening written by someone who clearly is a committed and wise gardener. Written to match the cycle of the year, it also isn't a read-once book - it will be well worth while contemplating the appropriate section for each season when it arrives both to remind us to be mindful in our interaction with nature, both from a spiritual and a practical gardening perspective. The writing is easy and often humourous - Redwood's voice can be heard gently reminding us that everything in the universe is interconnected and inter-dependant, and that gardening is a way of cultivating compassion for all things.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
'Sowing the seeds of meditation' is the subtitle of this groundbreaking and inspirational first book by Ark Redwood, Head Gardener for more than a decade at one of Britains most sacred public gardens - Chalice Well in Glastonbury.

In his introduction Ark says ' gardening is a pastime that can give us a wealth of possibilities for mindfulness training' and in this book he is as good as his word in a text full of awareness and wisdom, the love of language and horticulture, a sense of childlike wonder, and a true writers gift of self-expression.

The Art of Mindful Gardening is an intriguing journey through the cycle of the seasons offering the observations and insights of a seasoned plantsman and a serious practitioner of mindfulness. It is destined to be a gardening if not a spiritual classic and is beautifully designed and produced by Leaping Hare Press. A book to treasure.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
I very much liked the interjection of practical gardening information together with the practice of mindfulness, of being present. I would have preferred a bit more practical input given the high qualities of the author but the purpose of this lovely book is to remind us to enjoy the moment and beauty of our garden and our work. Will always recommend this book to any passionate and spiritual gardener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
This is a really nicely produced book, and leads you through gardening tasks thoughtfully and meditatively. It won't teach the beginning gardener how to do all the basic tasks perhaps, but it will make you think about why you are doing what you are doing in the garden. A good read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Bought for a friend for Christmas, having quickly read it myself. It is lovely for mindful people and gardeners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Fantastic subject matter - mindfulness lends itself to gardening so perfectly. The book is beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Totally inspiring and honestly written - I felt the author was there as I read it - genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Excellent, and Truly inspiring written by the head gardner from Chalice Well a beautiful peace garden in Somerset. I have been unwell this summer reading and working through this book has brought me peace and clarity. A wonderful gift for any gardner.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Excellent stocking filler or small pressie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)