Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as expected
Have had previous catalogues - this is just as good - very useful and informative for model rail club members
Published 4 months ago by Mrs S Legge

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Time to dump the photoshop kitsch
If I were only concerning myself with the text, then this book would definitely deserve four stars, with an awful lot of useful information presented very clearly. As you might expect, there are still omissions (completists shouldn't take these lists as definitive) but that is the nature of the beast with volumes of this nature.

Unfortunately, however useful...
Published 1 day ago by Stephen Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Time to dump the photoshop kitsch, 22 July 2014
By 
Stephen Cooper (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
If I were only concerning myself with the text, then this book would definitely deserve four stars, with an awful lot of useful information presented very clearly. As you might expect, there are still omissions (completists shouldn't take these lists as definitive) but that is the nature of the beast with volumes of this nature.

Unfortunately, however useful the book might be, I most definitely won't be buying the next edition unless Robbie McGavin's ugly and intrusive illustrations are dropped. Crudely photoshopped, they're not in the slightest arty, and unfortunately there's far too many of them spread across the two volumes with no regard whatever to context or relevance.

This book is aimed at collectors and what collectors want in the way of illustrations is clear pictures of the models, along with packaging and advertising material, particularly for older and rarer models. Let's hope that the publisher looks again at the mess they've made of this before the 9th edition appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as expected, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
Have had previous catalogues - this is just as good - very useful and informative for model rail club members
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars came in perfect shap, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
the latest edition is now in two books, which unlike the marklin catalog by kohl's divides by alphabet, not engines, cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unstatisfactory, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
Unfortunatley I only received Vol 2 and not both editions. When a replacement was sent the same thing happend. I find this very unsatisfactory as I have to arrange returns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One book split into a two Volume set, via dispatch... NOT., 14 May 2014
By 
John Crooks (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
I ordered the following item Ramsay's British Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set by Pat Hammond and when my order arrived I only received Volume 2 H-Z and without Volume 1 A-G, so I phoned customer services and explained the situation. When my resent order arrived, surprise. surprise the same thing as above happened. I told the second assistant if you look at the listing it clearly shows two books in the Photograph and states it as a 2 VOLUME SET. Both parts are sold as a single publication so you receive a two part book, Volumes 1 and 2 than a single huge book. At Amazon it is clear that the above statement is not being followed through on the ground level during dispatching of the item. I have also submitted an update via the info link to high light the problems that it is a 2x BOOK ISSUED AS VOLUME 1 and VOLUME 2. I am very disappointed at the out come of this transaction and feel very let down by the Listing, Ordering and Dispatching service systems at Amazon. So only 1 star as twice my order has ended with two volume 2's and no volume 1, as I have the previous seven editions or I would be giving this a 5 star rating. So now Amazon have offered me a refund and I will have to wait to see the out come of my complaint before I can reorder the two volume book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR THE ENTHUSIAST, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
QUALITY PRODUCTION BUT WHY NO CROSS REFERENCES WHEN LOOKING FOR SAY HORNBY R NUMBERS ? WELTH OF INFORMATION ANYWAY FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN MODEL TRAINS .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COMPREHENSIVE CATALOGUE OF MODEL TRAINS, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
IF YOUR INTERESTED IN MODEL RAILWAYS AND WANT A REALLY GOOD PRICE LIST OF WHAT EACH ITEM IS VALUED AT THIS IS THE BOOK. A LOT OF RESEARCH HAS GONE INTO THIS BOOK AND AND WILL KEEP YOU INTERESTED FOR HOURS ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A LARGE COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best guide, 16 Mar 2014
By 
J.T.H. (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set (Paperback)
These books are an absolute must for any collector ,are the best guide for buying and selling.They are the most complete guide I have been able to find. The most important thing I found was make sure you get both volumes ,not everyone is aware that both books are required for the set to be complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set
Ramsay's British Model Train Catalogue 2 Volume Set by Pat Hammond (Paperback - 10 Feb 2014)
31.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews