Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fat and comprehensive
Full of useful stuff.
Fatter than expected but this reflects content.
Good for introduction to countries.
Helpful for planning
Needs bag for carrying, does not fit in pockets!
Published 23 months ago by K. Law

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive or overwhelming?
1500+ pages on thin paper in a small font on a fairly small format means everything you need to know is in there - somewhere... as the index isn't terrible comprehensive either.

Bought to help plan a South American trip (mainly Argentina and Chile) I found its guidance invaluable - plenty of links to transport and tour operators.

I will probably now...
Published 22 months ago by Graham Yule


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive or overwhelming?, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) (Hardcover)
1500+ pages on thin paper in a small font on a fairly small format means everything you need to know is in there - somewhere... as the index isn't terrible comprehensive either.

Bought to help plan a South American trip (mainly Argentina and Chile) I found its guidance invaluable - plenty of links to transport and tour operators.

I will probably now stall have to buy a couple of Lonely Planets to help me choose my final itinerary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fat and comprehensive, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) (Hardcover)
Full of useful stuff.
Fatter than expected but this reflects content.
Good for introduction to countries.
Helpful for planning
Needs bag for carrying, does not fit in pockets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. P. Pugh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) (Hardcover)
I recently spent 3 months travelling around South America and this book was invaluable. However, I think if I did the trip again, I'd probably buy lonely planet or something else for 2 reasons:
- This book is huge. It's almost too comprehensive. If you're carrying a day sack this book will basically fill it up. Let me be clear: the content is very good. It's just, for me, too big. It's like carrying around a big hardback bible. You might be okay with that 0 in which case you should get it.
- one of the criticisms I heard of lonely planet was that "everyone uses lonely planet. Which means everyone travelling tends to end up in the same restaurants and pubs etc that are recommended." I saw this as a negative. But actually, travelling for a sustained period of time, actually I'd probably have preferred a bit more of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) (Hardcover)
Planning a trip to South America and found the information in this book extremely helpful in the planning of trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) (Hardcover)
This book is bery helpful, informative and detailed. The only downside is that it is a hard back but maybe thats an oversight from me (possibly missed the paperback option)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday essential, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) (Hardcover)
Very useful little book

Information for numerous trip ideas, including areas to visit and tips for traveling about climates included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook)
South American Handbook 2013 (Footprint Handbook) by Ben Box (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2012)
Used & New from: £0.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews