Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High strangeness
Volume 3 of Fortean Times' first-hand accounts of weird happenings, and there are no signs of a dip in quality. The sections on subjects that might, ultimately, be as paranormal as buying a pint of milk are mercifully short (spontaneously-appearing water isn't really up there with the Loch Ness Monster, frankly), and the sections that do cover better-known Forteana such...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by Sarcosuchus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good stories
Some chilling stories, it is a good read, but over priced for an e book. I made te mistake of ordering them all from amazon, rather than read 1 then buy the next one. The paper version is a tiny book, thats even more expensive! other than the price this would be a great book with some great first hand experiences of the paranormal.
Published 7 months ago by LindaLvsMick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High strangeness, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3 (Paperback)
Volume 3 of Fortean Times' first-hand accounts of weird happenings, and there are no signs of a dip in quality. The sections on subjects that might, ultimately, be as paranormal as buying a pint of milk are mercifully short (spontaneously-appearing water isn't really up there with the Loch Ness Monster, frankly), and the sections that do cover better-known Forteana such as ghosts and UFOs are agreeably chilling. Highlights this time around have to be the section on uncanny encounters and hospital hauntings, (best enjoyed alone at night), and it's also good to see the inclusion of (probably!) purely-mental-though-still-unnerving phenomena such as imaginary childhood friends, and night terrors. Like all the best FT stuff, anyone with an open mind, an interest in "The Night Side of Nature" and a good sense of humour will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd, Unusual, and occasionally scary!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Dave (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3 (Paperback)
I have been a reader of "Fortean Times" magazine for 30 of its 40+ years of existence - the reason for such loyalty is that it is a truly interesting magazine, covering everything from ghosts and flying saucers to alien animals. The stories contained in "It Happened to Me!" volume 3 are taken from the "Readers' Letters" page, which for me, can often be one of the most consistently interesting parts of the magazine. This book lists a selection taken from readers' letters, both published and unpublished, over a number of years, and provides a host of interesting and unusual, (and sometimes very frightening) incidents or events for the reader to mull over. The authors of these letters appear to be ordinary people, (like you and me), whose lives have been touched by the unexplained. In most cases, it is often difficult for them to offer any reasonable explanation for the events they have described - Something that the skeptical reader, sitting comfortably in a favourite chair in a safe suburban environment may find hard to believe. But out on the moors, driving a lonely unlit road late on a stormy night, or alone in a creaky old house, on a summer afternoon, or even walking home from an evening out, sane and sensible people report odd, creepy, or unexplained incidents that were certainly outside their previous experience. Some of us may have even experienced similar events - Thinking of someone you haven't heard of for ages, when the phone rings, and it's them, or the bunch of lost keys that you turn the house upside down to find, that only return when you ask nicely for the borrower to please return them. All the books in this series are fascinating, and well worth a read, so buy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 24 Feb 2011
This review is from: Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3 (Paperback)
This avoids the pitfalls of many equivalent books on the paranormal, which are often self-obsorbed and pretentious. The editor has picked a good selection of stories that are very varied in tone and subject, but all are well written and effective. The section on night terrors, in particular, is splendid.

Highly recommended reading for a rainy day, particularly if an ominous mist is gathering around the graveyard outside your window...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good stories, 18 April 2014
Some chilling stories, it is a good read, but over priced for an e book. I made te mistake of ordering them all from amazon, rather than read 1 then buy the next one. The paper version is a tiny book, thats even more expensive! other than the price this would be a great book with some great first hand experiences of the paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3 (Paperback)
If you enjoy reading about strange events that have happened to real people, this book is a must read. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Fortean Times, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really sure what to say, just love this stuff, and love fortean times. Will definately get the next volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fortean fun, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you'd expect with fortean times, fun strange, and sometimes a bit dark. No doubting how bizarre the human mind really is. Couldn't put it down. I've read all 4 volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. D. Ablewhite "jack russell" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3 (Paperback)
Another great book in the series, full of interesting weird and spooky stories, couldn't put it down once I started to read it, excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3
Fortean Times It Happened to Me Volume 3 by MagBook (Paperback - 2 Aug 2010)
Used & New from: £4.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews