Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build a better PC 2010
This book is billed as the PC builder's essential handbook 2010 and it really lives up to this description.

Some 160 pages of very well written text, supported by excellent colour illustrations make this book essential reading for anyone contemplating building their own PC. It is clear enough for a first time builder to be able to tackle building a PC and...
Published on 3 Jan 2010 by Mr. M. A. Sanders

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful no-nonsense but basic
I bought this on the strength of other good reviews. It's ok but I would have preferred something with a bit more depth but I'm more than happy with it;if you are like minded you will also need another book for the detail.
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build a better PC 2010, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. A. Sanders (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
This book is billed as the PC builder's essential handbook 2010 and it really lives up to this description.

Some 160 pages of very well written text, supported by excellent colour illustrations make this book essential reading for anyone contemplating building their own PC. It is clear enough for a first time builder to be able to tackle building a PC and detailed enough to provide additional information to someone who has built PCs in the past. Although I have build many PCs in the past, I found this book very useful, because it covers all the very latest Hardware and Software, including a chapter on Windows 7.

I was so impressed with the way this book was structured that I also purchased the 2009 Version and another in the series by the same author covering PC Fault Finding.

If you are going to build a PC, this book is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for first time self build PC!, 7 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
Im building my first PC (for high end gaming), i was very daunted by what was involved (whats the right motherboard, will this graphics card work ect,)so i decided to look around online and there are a lot of self help articles on the web but not all are very well explained for first time users, so i decided to get a book and plumped for "Build a Better PC 2010" recieved today and spent the morning reading it, this is a excellently made book with a great layout and easy to follow instructions from choosing your hardware, installing OS, what tools to use, whats the right setup for different builds (low-end, media, high end)also helps with setting up the bios and whats the best software for other tasks, anti-virus, video converts ect.

this guide is so easy to follow my nan could build her own rig lol. it took all my fears of building a pc myself away.

highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good confidence booster, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Dr. Ernest J. Hammond "EJH" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
This is a book for someone building their first PC, which was my position - although I'm certain to dip into it for my 2nd and 3rd (yes, be warned, the process is slightly addictive).

The documentation you will get with your motherboard is pretty good, though the images are likely to be small B&W rather than the nice big colour illustrations in the book. However, where this book scores in particular is helping you think through things like "what kind of PC am I about to build?" (budget, mid-range, top, media centre, storage unit etc).

Having decided roughly what you want, you will then be presented with options such as alternative CPU units that would do the job, the type of motherboard you should use, what graphic card you might want ... You will also be talked through installing drivers and operating systems, what free-ware there is out there that you might want, and a trouble-shooting checklist.

I refurbished a Dell Inspiron 3000 with a new motherboard, processor, memory, and hard drive. What was left you might ask, but I do now have a useable power supply for spare, and was able to reuse the case, the graphic card, one hard drive, the keyboard, mouse and monitor. The result is a very nice and *much* faster computer.

I can recommend this book. Well worth the price and a good confidence booster for a newbie.

PS -- Have a look, though at motherboard sites too. On the Gigabyte site there is a fairly complex, but very useful ebook on building a computer that is a free PDF download. For me, though, this was a "as well as" rather than a substitute item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy & fun, 10 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
If you can use a screwdriver and can follow these assembly instructions, you can build your own PC. This book covers just about everything you need to know, but it doesn't give an assembly order, so here goes:
1. Unpack everything and make sure you know what it all does - in particular examine the power connects. Unscrew and remove all the drive cages from the case. Make notes as you go!
2. The hard part is fitting the backing panel and motherboard, so do this first. Lay the case on its side so the motherboard faces upwards. Screw the 6 risers (supports) into the case, place the backing plate over the external ports and carefully persuade the motherboard onto the risers. Tricky! Once in, screw the nuts onto the risers.
2. Fit the power supply (4 screws, easy). Tuck the cables out of the way pro tem.
3. Offer up the DVD drive and cage into the case so that the front of the drive is flush with the case; mark the position of the drive in the cage carefully; remove the drive & cage; fix the drive in the cage with 4 screws. (Easier than it sounds)
4. Slide the hard disk into its cage and fix with the 4 screws provided. (easy)
5. Once the drives are fixed into the cages, the cages can be replaced into the case (easy).
6. Insert memory and processor into motherboard (easy - read the instructions that come with them).
7. If you're using a video card (it's not essential) this can now be slotted into the MB (easy)
8. Connect the wiring (order unimportant but keep it tidy):
8.1 Case fans into motherboard (2)
8.2 24 pin motherboard connector
8.3 4 pin secondary MB connector
8.4 SATA data from hard disk to MB SATA socket 0
8.5 SATA cable from DVD to MB SATA socket
8.6 Processor fan into MB
8.7 SATA power connectors to DVD and hard disk (on same cable)
8.8 Front Panel connects (Reset, Power-on, lights) (read MB instructions carefully)
8.9 Video card PCI-E power connector
9. Check your work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Product, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
This book is incredible. Before reading it I was a complete novice when it came to computers, but I really wanted to build my own (I know, it was quite ambitious). I bought this book, all the parts I needed and spent the day building the thing. I am now writing this review from a completely newly built computer and it is all thanks to this book. Fantastically detailed instructions, brilliant photographs, if you are a beginner in the world of computing and want to build your own, then I cannot recommend this product enough. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Aug 2010
By 
E. Sharp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
I bought this book with a little sceptisism,I wasn't sure a novice in computers like myself would be able to build a PC,I am writing this review on the computer I built with guidance from the book,and the parts from Amazon,I'm amazed how simple its been to build a computer and would recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about it but needs a push to get started.
I would also recommend The Complete PC Upgrades Handbook 2010,by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars computer building, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
build a better pc by david ludlow explains the whole process in easy to follow pictures including installing programmes.
very good book.highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful tool, 10 Sep 2011
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
Excellent stuff. Helped me and my 12 year-old son to build a high-end computer and never failed: all it's info was pertinent. Once the comp is built it takes you through BIOS, OS choice and installation and then into troubleshooting (we did not have any need for that but advice on testing PC for heat and processor testing is actually real cool). Btw, unlike the "for Dummies" books this doesn't have that silly sugary encouragement every other sentence, thank goodness... My sincere thanks to the team who wrote and edited the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful no-nonsense but basic, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
I bought this on the strength of other good reviews. It's ok but I would have preferred something with a bit more depth but I'm more than happy with it;if you are like minded you will also need another book for the detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any beginner!!, 26 Oct 2010
By 
B. Kermode "modey" (isle of man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build a Better PC 2010 (Paperback)
I looked into building my first pc as it's something i've always wanted to do but didn't have a clue where to start, i knew nothing about what parts to get, how they worked etc.
Well i bought this book and a few weeks later i am now writing this review on the pc i built after reading this very informative book
Excellent book which tells you what parts you need, how to fit them, how to set up the computer, all with step by step photo's.If you are thinking of building one but are not very confident buy this book, you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Build a Better PC 2010
Build a Better PC 2010 by David Ludlow (Paperback - 29 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews