Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2013
I can't add any more information to the other reviews, as they say, it's an excellent book with plenty of fun and of course interesting information to tuck into. However, I just thought it useful for anyone browsing this book, and the Wooden Books in general, to understand that this book is made up from 6 of books (complete versions) in the series. It combines 1) Sacred Number (Wooden Books Gift Book), 2) Sacred Geometry (Wooden Books Gift Book), 3) (Platonic and Archimedean Solids) By Daud Sutton (Author) Paperback on (Oct , 2005), 4) Harmonograph: A Visual Guide to the Mathematics of Music (Wooden Books Gift Book), 5) The Elements of Music: Melody, Rhythm and Harmony (Wooden Books Gift Book) and 6) A Little Book of Coincidence: in the Solar System (Wooden Books Gift Book).

From the editor's preface it seems there's also extra material added, although I'm not sure at what points. Anyhow, what's useful to know for anyone browsing this page is that if you buy this beautiful edition DO NOT buy the above mentioned books as they're all included here, and probably the reason why this is a hardback, and the others just paperbacks.
11 comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
I got this book for myself, a man beyond the years of life, the universe and everything. I thought I knew it all. I was wrong! No, in all seriousness I like this book. I got it before I have the trivium book but beggers cant be choosers. For those thinking this book will walk you through the later part of the idea of learning the Trivium and quadrivium, well it wont. It WILL provide you with all the bases for your understanding. You will keep this book handy when you are doing maths with the kids (more of that later) or or just chilling out with a bit of personal research on religion basics and history understandings.

It has all you need to get you started, and I say that cos I have not yet thought it has reached and end. I have had this book for a while now and I am constantly turning to it. I have recently taken my child out of school (11) and the proof is in the pudding because he has a better understanding of lots of things that he just did not get before. Of course it started with his maths and all the tables and charts at the back of the book (taken from the bigger explanations within the chapters) we have been able to cover tonnes of cr+p that the school system just did not bother with. He was distruptive in class as they were just too fast for him. He likes answers and never got them before the class just moved on. So he rebeled. This book calmed him down (belive it or not). He has a very logical mind and this book filled the gaps that he wanted. Since then, he has calmed down and surpassed is school mates, and finds learning any new stuff a dodle. The quadrivium, if you didnt already know, is a way of connecting the threads that one gets with 'normal learning. You learn a method that helps you in many ways. Once you have the method, you apply it to other lessons and it all comes together far quicker due to the repitition of the basics.....if you get what I mean. :)

When I said it wont walk you through itself, as a book, thats because you do the walking. As you read over it once, then again in greater detail in the places you like more, you get to understand the other bits you didnt like so much and are thus drawn to them. So you end-up reading it as you need it and all over the place, in differing orders. This is a good thing, because like my son you will pick up what you NEED to know when it happens.

Bloody brilliant.

Tom.
44 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
This book is an old favorite of mine, it looks at four of the liberal arts of the classical world and the middle ages (there are seven of these arts in total.) The four arts of quadrivium looks at are arithmetic (study of number), geometry (the study of space), music (a time centered art), and astronomy (which combines time, space and number).

This is a very high quality edition, quality print, paper and binding, and elegant graphics. The book is not dense or intellectual but gives the reader a quick bite sized over view of important aspects of the field.

Overall a very readable introduction to a fascinating field.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
This book is more about the wonderful visuals. This does not delve deep into its subjects, however if you're like me, someone who has not studied science and geometry in particular but find them fascinating, then you will still learn from it. I bought it because I thumbed through it in an art shop and then regretted not picking it up after. The drawings are gorgeous and refined, making you feel a bit like you've come across the notebook of a renaissance scholar. The cover is very nice too, with shimmering letters. It makes a lovely, intelligent coffee table book.. something you can just pick up and flip through as you find a random topic and explore.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I've enjoyed a number of the "Wooden Book" series in the past
and so decided to try this collection. I haven't got to the
"Harmonograph" section yet but, so far, the rest has been excellent.

As with the other "Wooden Book" editions that I've read, there
are a number of well-known elements along with a number of
not-quite-so-well-known ones that I've also encountered but the
real pleasure is in finding the nuggets of "Hey, I didn't know that!"
that are scattered throughout the volume and in having a single
easy to grab book that summarises each aspect.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This book is absolutely wonderful!!! The quality of the hard cover edition is beautiful, the design and illustrations are just sublime, magical. It makes a beautiful gift as it is just lovely. The information is not extensive since it is mostly illustrations, but it is excellent info anyway. For deeper information I recommend A Beginner's Guide to Constructing the Universe by Michael S. Schneider which is deep in content, extensively, but the quality of the book is nowhere near the beauty of this edition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Basics of numbers/music/geometry easily understood. Very interesting, teachers should read books like this and make the subject interesting for students.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This book is awesome!! It evokes stimulating thought & Imagination!! makes me smile and feel more intrigued with every paragraph read. . .A book all creative open minded Thinkers should not be without. . . If you like all things Metaphysical then this needs to be on your shelf!!! (if this book & then this review are appealing to you. . . .Add to your basket and make your way to the checkout!! ) ENJOY!!!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Absolutely amazing book with a beautiful cover. I wish the format was bigger and some images had a better quality, sometimes there are writings on the images that are difficult to read. The section on music was a bliss to find as I was looking for information on music without having to go through tens of music books to get less than half the info this book has in just a few pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Beautiful book with concise instructions and information. Perfect! Thank you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)