Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars9
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2010
If you want detailed information about Brittany (including places off the usual tourist beat) this is the book to choose.

It is an excellent reference book with plans of the major towns, with suggested walking routes and details of things to do and see as well as suggestions for sleeping and eating. There is an estimate of the time needed to see a place as well as suggested driving tours (with distances and times) from each of the major settlements.

The book is arranged alphabetically rather than regionally so is more of a reference book rather than guide book. You do need to 'work at' this book. It is not the sort of book you can skim through area by area and pick out must sees.

The maps are poor so I bought a copy of the Michelin Map France: Brittany 512 at a scale of 1cm to 2km which I am using for planning and will use for map reading in Brittany.

We will keep it in the car to check up on places to be visited.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Lovely info, just a pity it's arranged alphabetically and not by by region. Rather difficult when researching your travels to have to jump around looking for the info. Bought it together with the Rough Guide to Brittany and Normandy which has taken a lot of its info from here anyway, so rather buy that one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
A detailed guide to Brittany, including places that you might otherwise overlook. That said, it is not always easy to find what you are looking for.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
The Michelin Green Brittany Tourist Guide has been updated in style and content - it now provides useful tours for the first time visitor but the map detail is sadly inadequate for anyone going off the beaten track. The French knack of using Village Names rather than Road Numbers for guidance renders the maps provided as pretty useless for anything but journeys between major towns and those on the selected tours. The list of places of interest is good, and the related information excellent, but there is no cross-reference to the maps in the guide - only to Local Maps which, presumably, one has to buy separately (surprise, surprise). However, this is not explained!
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
Another good guide from Michelin. Clear text packed with useful & interesting information. Good colour pictures. Combine this with a good quality map and you have all you need to explore Brittany and get the most from your holiday.
The 'disappointed' tag referred to another product - now i'm stuck with it!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
These Guides are placed right at the top of our Holiday List, next to passports and currency. We think they are brilliant and would absolutely recommend them to any traveller.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
I know the Michelin Green guides are a bit hit and miss, but are i find them ideal for checking out sites of potential interest on my motorcycle tour routes , but when they can't get the printing right, and show roads through the atlantic ocean on the road map section, you have to wonder whether they've lost the plot.... Compared to this, the sites they show as being worth visiting on the maps sometimes not appearing in the text is just an irritant.
It also seems Amazon are incapable of checking a replacement book for the same fault before they send it out.
D'oh!
0Comment1 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
instead of linking towns into small areas the whole book is arranged alphabetically. This means that you need to have a working knowledge of the geography in order to know where to look. Not an easy format to work through and get to know an area.
0Comment1 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
Although a little heavy for travelling by air or train with, this was useful to have in the car for driving around the beautiful Bretagne countryside.
0Comment5 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.