Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very handy little book
I found this a very helpful little book which gives a good account of the basics of wine without being patronising or pompous. I suspect that I'm like quite a few people who might be considering this book - I'm not a wine expert by any means, but I have picked up some knowledge of grapes, countries and regions and so on - and I found that it filled in a lot of the gaps...
Published on 22 Nov. 2009 by Sid Nuncius

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too basic.
Not as in depth as I'd have liked but perfect if one needs an introduction to wine terminology and grape varieties.
Published 16 months ago by Gaynor Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Handy wine guide to carry round, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
Junior Hornet "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a lot of information in this book which, although necessarily selective to fit the format, is mostly relevant and concise.

The book is divided into several subjects, the biggest of which, Wine Regions of the World takes up half the book. Even then, only the major areas within each country are covered. You will need to look elsewhere for anything off the beaten track. Other sections include buying wine, matching with food and wine and health. The first chapter covers how wine is made, the inclusion of which may be debatable as, when you are looking for tips for buying and drinking wine, is not really relevant (if you are buying a car for example, you won't necessarily want to know about its production). However it may be useful for, say, someone who doesn't know how rose wine is made and may have been mixing red and white with less than perfect results.

This is a useful book to have around if you need some quick concise information and it is easy to read. If you want more in depth information, you can look elsewhere but this book may help to point you in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a little corker, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Don Panik (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This little book will appeal to beginners with an interest in taking their knowledge of wine up several notches. Works as a dip into mini reference book, but is entertaining enough to read cover to cover. It really assumes no prior knowledge and deals in a no nonsense way with grape varieties and growing regions, as well as brief sections on enjoying wine, buying and storing and health.

The `pocket tips' and clear layout make the book accessible in style. Some interesting little insights - like not buying a bottle in a restaurant that you are already familiar with from your supermarket purchase - it will only leave you feeling ripped off! Also seems 1 in 4 of us buy the second cheapest wine on a wine list - which is often the worst value of all. Better go for the house wine where bulk buy results in a better deal for the customer. No restaurant wants to get a reputation for a rotten house wine!

Excellent value, great as a gift, I learned a lot. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable no-nonsense guide to wine, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an austere, business-like volume, printed in black and white with line drawings; measuring approx. 19cm x 12.5cm x 2cm, really designed for those with large pockets!
In its 194 pages it covers the history of wine, how it's made, the wine regions, wine-tasting, wine and food, wine and health and buying and investing in wine. Well-written without being condescending.
I drink wine but I'm almost embarressed to say I know very little apart from "white with fish" and "red with meat" . I found the chapters on wine-tasting and wine with food excellent. You are given a comprehensive list of dishes and the types of wines that complement them and the reasons why; you also get recipes on making some common drinks, such as, mulled wine, sangria, Bellini, Bucks fizz and Kir royal .
This little book may not have the fancy colour photos of some of its competitors but it makes up for it in useful facts and information, with which it is packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wine, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Funk (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As usual with this series, this is a fantastic book. It is full to the brim (no pun intended) of information about wine, everything from how to open to the growing regions of new zealand to grape varieties to the history of modern wines. Very easy to read, it can be flipped through to find a factlet before heading out to the shops, or just as general interest. There are a couple of moments when it comes off snobby (such as a list of words to describe wines during the 'tasting' section), but these feel more like they have been added for completeness of subject material, rather than encouragment to be snooty (certainly it does go to great effort to say wine should be drunk for enjoyment in other parts of the book).

If you want to know more about wine, or just want some inspiration for a good bottle for a dinner party then definatly buy this book. Excellent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good wine guide with lots of extra snippets, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
vh1967 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this as I find choosing wines difficult when in the shops. It may help me do that but it will involve a lot of leg work on my part (well probably via the internet, looking up which supermarket stocks which wine).

It turned out to be much more in depth than a shopping guide, and gives a country by country (though not all of them) guide to wine regions of the world. It is the right level for the novice like me, not condescending, not wordy.

Even better, it gave a run down on the history of wine making, and how it is made as in depth as how the sediment from Champagne is removed which was very clever indeed, You will have to buy the book to find out!

A thoroughly good book which I intend to keep and use whenever I am researching which wines to buy. I will not however be able to use the good vintage guide, but my pocket does not stretch that far anyhow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll need a large pocket, but it's worth it!!, 27 Nov. 2009
By 
Del 58 "Del 58" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Frankly, if I like a wine I don't care where it comes from, as long as it's cheap!! There is a multitude of wines on offer everywhere, from your local supermarket to the corner shop, and it's often diffcult to make an informed choice based on price alone. This isn't exactly a pocket sized book, unless you happen to be wearing an anorak or overcoat. It is howvever packed with information on most of the types of wine you are likely to encounter on the supermarket/shop shelves. There is also a reasonably detailed history of wine, if you are inclined to read it. I would definitely recommend this as a perfect wine drinkers companion. It's not aimed at afficionados so much as the ordinary man/woman in the street, and that makes it far more accessible. I liked it so much that I've ordered copies for both sets of in-laws this Xmas. Highly recommended, and cheap too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 10 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Wine Pocket Bible provides gives an interesting insight into wine making, wine regions and different grapes along with which grapes are used to produce certain wines. I found the section on champagne fascinating as it explains the differences between cuvee, Blanc de Blancs and Blanc de Noirs, as well as Brut, Demi-sec, etc.

I found the chapters on wine storage clear and wine/food combinations a useful starting point for meals. There's even sections on buying wines and how to taste it, the latter includes a list of terms and words for describing what you taste/smell. There is a plethora of factoids for anyone with an interest in wine from bottle opening to 'corked' wine, from what to do if your cork breaks to which glass to use with which wine.

I think this would be an excellent starting point for anyone wanting to know more about wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wine 101, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
Whitehatter "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly, it's not pocket sized unless you have deep pockets!

That out of the way, it's an engaging read. If you mooch round the wine aisles in supermarkets wondering just what all the stuff is about. and why some people seem to know more about the stuff than some surgeons know about the brains they work on, then this book is a good starting point.

Packed full of interesting material, it's a nicely presented beginners course in what's what in the world of wine. It won't be something a serious drinker or amateur wine buff would necessarily appreciate but for those who want to learn the basics in a straightforward and comfortably structured way then this is a decent place to start. If you know the whats and wherefores then the rest will start to fall into place, a little like learning the basic chords on a guitar and expanding from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
Helix (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not interested in wines of the world at all, especially because of some of the prices. But this makes an exception becuase it is small, easy to read and packed full of useful information from the best conditions to make your own wine and a list of every type of wine and what grape goes into it. If this sounds boring still gove this a try because it is overall a very nicely presented book with some humour mixed in.

But I suppose this is made especially for the wine novice, in which case it is excellent because it gives you all you'd need to start off and I never thought I'd be saying this but the chapter on the 'Brief history of wine' was quite interesting. The section on the different wine regions of the woorld is also very interesting, so definately take this with you if you're planning to go on a first wine trip or something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Instant expertise!, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
D. Salmon "domski1969" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An excellent compact guide to pretty much everything that the average wine drinker might need to know, from how it's made, to how to behave at a wine tasting (don't swallow!)
It's a useful reference guide whenever you need to check a particular detail, whether it's pronunciation or best vintage year, but it's also an enjoyable read for anyone interested in that most enjoyable of pursuits.
Nice compact read so good for secret santa/stocking filler/extra birthday prez etc.
Also handy size to throw in travel bag if you're lucky enough to be visiting one of the regions it describes!
It won't turn you into a sommelier overnight, but it will expand your wine horizons, give you some of the key pointers to look for in regards to tasting, and give a good grounding in a very broad range of regions and styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews