Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very handy little book
I found this a very helpful little book which gives a good account of the basics of wine without being patronising or pompous. I suspect that I'm like quite a few people who might be considering this book - I'm not a wine expert by any means, but I have picked up some knowledge of grapes, countries and regions and so on - and I found that it filled in a lot of the gaps...
Published on 22 Nov 2009 by Sid Nuncius

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too basic.
Not as in depth as I'd have liked but perfect if one needs an introduction to wine terminology and grape varieties.
Published 9 months ago by Gaynor Allen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very handy little book, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this a very helpful little book which gives a good account of the basics of wine without being patronising or pompous. I suspect that I'm like quite a few people who might be considering this book - I'm not a wine expert by any means, but I have picked up some knowledge of grapes, countries and regions and so on - and I found that it filled in a lot of the gaps in my knowledge and has some really useful information in an accessible and easy-to-use format.

The book covers the basics of how wine is made, from the growing of the grapes to the bottling and ageing and gives an overview of the way in which the climate and "terroir" of a region and the techniques of winemaking can affect the taste of the wine. There is a pretty comprehensive list of grape varieties with their characteristics and sections on how to chose, store and enjoy wine, all full of useful guidance - particularly the section on pairing wine with food - and some basics of buying wine and cooking with wine. The major section of the book, though, is "Wine Regions of the World," which I thought was very good. It gives, country by country, a brief but informative guide to the various regions with a guide to their main characteristics and some suggestions of "One to watch" producers. To be able to look up easily a little bit of information about an obscure Portuguese region, for example, or to have a simple guide to the labyrinthine appellation systems of Bordeaux or Burgundy is a real bonus for me and I found this a really helpful section.

It's a very handy and easy book to refer to and the pocket-size format does mean that if you wish you can easily take this little book with you when you might be buying wine, which is a useful feature. The "Bible" in the title is a very exaggerated claim, but I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who drinks wine and would like a simple, practical and pretty comprehensive guide to augment their knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introductory Guide for the Perplexed, 21 Nov 2009
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The style of this small book is not dissimilar to all those mountains of books which inevitably come out every Christmas trying to cash in on the success of Schott's Almanac. However, unlike many of those pieces of useless gift tat, this actually serves as a good introduction to learning more about wine for those who know little or nothing to begin with and would like to know a bit more, and avoids the snobbery surrounding the subject from many quarters. For those with a bit of knowledge some of it may seem too simplistic however.

Topics covered include: a brief history of winemaking and how wine is made; varieties of grape (necessarily this only covers the most common); winemaking regions of the world (the largest section of the book); enjoying wine (looking, smelling, tasting and describing); wine and food (some basic principles of wine and food matching, ordering wine in restaurants, cooking with wine); buying wine (reading lables, where to buy wine); storing wine; and wine and health.

Five stars for fulfilling the purpose of a good introduction for beginners, but as noted above probably would not make a great gift for those of a more intermediate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pocket winner, 13 Dec 2009
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The wine pocket Bible

The wine pocket Bible is another book in the "Pocket Bibles" series and is indeed a winner covering all aspects of wine lore in a easy to read and well formatted styler.

Following on from an introduction which itself looks at the history of wine. From here the book itself is in a number of sections; each discussing wine from a different perspective.

The first section of the book covers all aspects of making wine from growing grapes (of all varieties) all the way to fermentation and blending of the finished product to produce particular styles. These chapters go very nicely with the next section which looks at different regions of the world discussing the characteristic styles of wines produced in different regions. This section makes up the largest section of the book by far; understandably since there are a lot of wine making regions in the world.

We then get to perhaps the most important part of the and whilst one might think that wine is easy to enjoy; simply pop open a bottle and guzzle down the contents; there are actually a range of details which when followed makes for a more enjoyable drink. Here we discuss how to look at the wine; noting features such as colour, aroma and "legs". Logically enough the next stage of the book describes wines most important bedfellow - Food; discussing what wines are good with what foods. Finally the book details how to buy and store wine.

In all, I found this book to be very informative and easy to read. I'll certainly be keeping a copy in my pocket when I visit a wine shop ready for Christmas in a few weeks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and Insiteful, 6 July 2011
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Andrew offers a superb insight into the wine world and manages perfectly to tread the line between informative interesting content without coming across as the least bit snotty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic little book on wine!, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Dicko (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is only a small hardback, but a really handy one to have around if you're a lover of wine.

It has eight chapters that are really well put together. They focus on the following:

1. How wine is made
2. Varieties of grape
3. Wine regions of the world
4. Enjoying wine
5. Wind and food
6. Buying wine
7. Storing wine
8. Wine and health

As you can see from the contents of the book above, this small book covers the majority of what you need to know about wine. I learnt quite a few things from it, and more so than some of the more complex books on wine from some well known authors. What I like about the book is that it is a really easy book to pick up and have a quick 'flick through' to find a little nugget of wine knowledge. If you have ever read Ben Schott's 'Food and Drink Miscellany' you'll be right at home with this book as they are similarly put together.

I really like this book, i refer to it as a quick reference, i read it for a bit more wine knowledge but most of all, I like it for what it is - a well put together comprehensive small book on wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and fun, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Nick Flynn "NickF" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little wine book full of interesting hints, tips and advice about wine, its history and most of the regions where it is produced.

For the wine novice like me, it manages to be informative without being pretentious or condescending and I think that it draws you in, provides a little help where needed, and boosts confidence.

Whilst I have only tasted half a dozen or so of the wines identified in Wine Pocket Bible, I'm more or less in agreement with the notes, and will start to try and be a little more adventurous and branch out ... I wouldn't have a problem in sticking the book in my back pocket when setting off on a wine buying trip, and in fact, I spotted a copy on the shelf of my local independent wine merchant last week. If it is good enough for them, it is good enough for me.

An excellent present idea for the wine novice ... heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the next step from oz and james's wine guide, 17 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not a book for wine snobs, it is a simple book on wine that will hopefully allow you to understand and appreciate the different pleasures that is available to you from a humble glass of wine. Easily readable, easy to pick up and hopefully easy to navigate when trying to decide what wine will complete a meal or to bring a good day to an end. The pocket bible range always seem to be good worthwhile reads (check out the christmas pocket bible - v.good) and gives a sharper punch than a lot of the other "worthy" books about wine. Worth purchasing- a big yes. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every thing you need to know about plonk, 10 Dec 2009
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Wine Pocket Bible follows the same format of other books in the series. Capturing the essence of the subject in a pint size...or should that be...Carafe sized pot.
The authors,Andrew Smith and Jenny Dodd cover just about every facet of the subject, from the history of fermenting grapes to modern day wine making. Offering advice on wine selection,storage and appropriate complimentary foods.
All packed in a little book not much bigger than a diary. A useful stocking filler come Xmas time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too basic., 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Not as in depth as I'd have liked but perfect if one needs an introduction to wine terminology and grape varieties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wine tips, rules and trivia in your pocket!, 1 Dec 2009
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Wine Pocket Bible is an interesting little book in the expanding Pocket Bible range which includes Cats, Dogs, DIY and Christmas amongst other subjects. Running to just under 200 pages, and larger than you may expect a "pocket" book to be, The Wine Pocket Bible is well written and informative.

Chapters cover such subjects as how wine is made, the worlds wine regions and varieties of grape. Also how to enjoy wine and which foods go with what variety; where to buy your wine and how to store it, and how it can affect your health. Within these pages is a wealth of useful information to help you get the best from your wine - from opening the bottle to the type of glasses to use with which wine.

There is a large amount of information in quite a small book which is easy to dip into when you have a question about wine. It won't make you a wine expert overnight, but it will give you a good understanding of wine and some of the tips, rules and trivia to help you to enjoy it more. It's one of those books which make good stocking filler at Christmas, or a birthday present for a wine lover. If you enjoy wine you will also enjoy it yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews