Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars from me too
A wonderful collection of stories, each one a small gem that leaves you thinking. Don't expect neat little tales with a beginning, middle and end... they aren't all like that. Some leave you guessing or wondering which adds to the enjoyment. I can't say there was one story I didn't love for one reason or another. All superbly crafted so that you get lost inside someone...
Published 12 months ago by G. Shutt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather average collection.
A rather average collection.

Atomic truth

In a networked near future, all the connectivity keeps people isolated - only one outsider sees reality.

Two thieves

In a far future which has mostly lost technology, two hardened prisoners on work detail
discover something...and each one learns a different lesson...
Published 10 days ago by A. J. Poulter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars from me too, 10 Aug 2013
By 
G. Shutt "fibrochimp" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful collection of stories, each one a small gem that leaves you thinking. Don't expect neat little tales with a beginning, middle and end... they aren't all like that. Some leave you guessing or wondering which adds to the enjoyment. I can't say there was one story I didn't love for one reason or another. All superbly crafted so that you get lost inside someone else's imagination for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futeristic Fables, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Paperback)
The Peacock Cloak is the second collection of stories by Chris Beckett. It contains 12 stories set in the near and far future on our world and others. Some are linked (only ever so slightly), most are not. Stories include those of dimensional travel, alternate realities, a space travelling celebrity, a planet with mind projecting indigenous species and others. Through these tales Beckett tells moralistic stories that resonate in our time and include wars based on beliefs, isolation, marriage and a few others.

Always well written and thought provoking the tales really are a joy to read. They don't have a twist in the tale but are very reminiscent of Phillip K Dick's short stories compilations. They are creative, original and thought provoking whilst being true to Sci-fi at every turn. The tales included here are :-

Atomic Truth
Two Thieves
Johnny's New Job
The Caramel Forest
Greenland
The Famous Cave Paintings on Isolus 9
Rat Island
Day 29
Our Land
The Desiccated Man
Poppyfields
The Peacock Cloak

I particularly enjoyed Greenland (a story about immigration and cloning), The Peacock Cloak (about gods) and Our Land (a story of war between English, Brythons and Saxons). The stories stay with you for a while afterwards and are always as interesting as a sci-fi story as they are as fables. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A rather average collection., 17 Aug 2014
By 
A. J. Poulter "AP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
A rather average collection.

Atomic truth

In a networked near future, all the connectivity keeps people isolated - only one outsider sees reality.

Two thieves

In a far future which has mostly lost technology, two hardened prisoners on work detail
discover something...and each one learns a different lesson.

Jonny's new job

A satirical tale of what happens when a social worker fails to prevent a child in his care being murdered by a parent. What happens is mob justice, combined with a surprise for one of the mob.

The caramel forest

Wierd story about a little girl who alone seems to be communicate with the silent alien fauna on a colonised planet.

Greenland

A desperate father offers himself for experimentation to get his family to a safe haven...

The famous cave paintings on Isolus 9

Clancy, a writer, is very much in love with Elena. Since she is afraid of space travel, he sets off alone for Isolus 9 to view the famous paintings made by the original colonists. What he finds changes him deeply.

Rat island

Rather hysterical tale about global warming.

Day 29

The instant passage back from a colony seems to wipe recent memory. Nice idea,
but goes nowhwere...

Our land

A teacher slips through alternate Britains....

The dessicated man

A jaded, cynical spacer gets his just desserts....

Poppyfields

A man meets a runaway from somewhere else which spurs him to change his life..

The peacock cloak

Superbeings and a cloak debate life. Tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark short stories, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
I have read zillions of sci-fi short stories this year, and this is one of the better collections. Some of them are absolutely amazing, and I would recommend taking time between each one to let the ideas sink in. I devoured them so probably didn't get as much out - gluttony is never a good idea. The final story blew my mind. This author is on to a good thing - very high quality, accessible stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SF at its best, 11 Nov 2013
By 
C. Harris (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
An excellent collection of short stories from the author of Dark Eden. The style and story-telling technique are rather old-fashioned (I mean that in a good way). I was reminded of John Wyndham (also in a good way). But Chris Becket is obviously familiar with the stranger corners of modern SF, and this shows in the ideas behind the stories. All are thoughtful and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good tales here., 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
If you like Chris Beckett, this of course is a must read, just waiting for the launch of the follow up to Dark Eden. Hurry up Chris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories for afar, 10 Aug 2013
By 
J. George (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Paperback)
A superb collection of SF shorts. What I found appealing was that each one seemed to contain a kernel of deep thought about science and people’s reaction to it, but without labouring the point – in essence, exactly my kind of SF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey Through the Minds Eyes, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
Hits the heights and poetic to boot
almost beyond the relms of sf
loved its trasubstansiations
wicked sad and fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well crafted stories, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
I found all the stories extremely well written. They are all very different and up to Chris Beckett's usual high standard. The beauty of short stories is that you can 'dip in' but in this case, once you've begun you won't put the book down 'til you've finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking variety of ideas, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peacock Cloak (Kindle Edition)
An imaginative author whose stories give a surprisingly different way of looking at society and relationships as well as some interesting ideas of future lives. Take the present - with many people in public spaces plugged into ipods and phones - and extrapolate it into the future - scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Peacock Cloak
The Peacock Cloak by Chris Beckett (Paperback - 15 Feb 2013)
10.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews