Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Libby and Fran do it again
Although I did enjoy this murder mystery set mainly in Kent England I was a bit disappointed, it didn't hit the mark as her other books do.
Her books appeal to me because Libby and Fran are about my age so I can relate to them.
The ladies do get themselves into quite a pickle even if they don't mean to.
The green man is the background to the story and his...
Published on 7 July 2010 by Old Bird

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Murder in The Green
This book explores the pagan and early Christian customs of England and the Isle of Man. The author has clearly done research and presents a festival of firelighting, well dressing and other customs. However this is supposed to be a mystery, and there the author seems to have run out of steam.
The protagonist Libby Serjeant notes that a man has disappeared but she...
Published on 6 Jun. 2012 by Clare O'Beara


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Murder in The Green, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Murder in the Green (Libby Serjeant Murder Mysteries) (A Libby Sarjeant Murder Mystery Series) (Paperback)
This book explores the pagan and early Christian customs of England and the Isle of Man. The author has clearly done research and presents a festival of firelighting, well dressing and other customs. However this is supposed to be a mystery, and there the author seems to have run out of steam.
The protagonist Libby Serjeant notes that a man has disappeared but she spends the majority of the book declaring that she is not going to investigate it (well, what are the police paid for, we ask) and mooching about her house declaring that she does not want to move even though her partner is putting a lot of work into restoring another home for them. She has interminable meals, snacks and chats with various characters and if the disappearance/murder does get solved it is only by Libby's falling over the obvious at the very end.
The tale is not very good at holding our attention and all the paganism may be well described but we could read a reference book for that purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Libby and Fran do it again, 7 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Green (Libby Serjeant Murder Mysteries) (A Libby Sarjeant Murder Mystery Series) (Paperback)
Although I did enjoy this murder mystery set mainly in Kent England I was a bit disappointed, it didn't hit the mark as her other books do.
Her books appeal to me because Libby and Fran are about my age so I can relate to them.
The ladies do get themselves into quite a pickle even if they don't mean to.
The green man is the background to the story and his murder whilst on a parade through the town, although the plot is a good one I think the story didn't quite gel but while I still enjoyed it her other books are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 3 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the Green (Libby Serjeant Murder Mysteries) (A Libby Sarjeant Murder Mystery Series) (Paperback)
not as good as some of her books. Lots of padding - with the constant going over events with various people and recounting murders in previous books. Felt the author really has something against Morris dancers! Not much of a plot really. ONE thing that annoys me about all her her books is the way Libby is constantly putting boiled water back on her Rayburn to boil, her tea must be be vile! Fran's "moments" don't seem to appear much in these books and their involment with the police is unrealistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic series of books about middle aged sleuth. Great characters and plots. Had to get all books in series I enjoyed them so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Garry Iles "Gazza" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great books!, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books cant put them down, I have read 4 so far and every one has been great.I love the plots and they usualy keep me wondering who done it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in the Green, 27 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I am new to Kindle I am rebuilding my library with as many of my favourite books as possble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's like a drug, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't stop reading these books, it's like a drug. Another good story well written, on to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in the green, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished the book, like all the series it was one I just kept reading until the end, try it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working my way though her books, she allows me to be part of them as a shadow I just love Libby and Fran...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder in the Green (Libby Serjeant Murder Mysteries) (A Libby Sarjeant Murder Mystery Series)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews