Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Apartment in Rome
I enjoyed reading The Apartment in Rome, which shows a side of Rome not normally seen and is not the light, easy to read romance that you would expect from the cover. Instead of the usual places one would expect to feature in a story based in such a beautiful city, the focus of this book, apart from the apartment in the title, is the plight of the asylum seekers camping...
Published 19 months ago by ElaineG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start
The story was a bit slow to get going, but once I got halfway through it, I wanted to know how the story ended.
Published 15 months ago by Pamela Whittaker


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Apartment in Rome, 26 May 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading The Apartment in Rome, which shows a side of Rome not normally seen and is not the light, easy to read romance that you would expect from the cover. Instead of the usual places one would expect to feature in a story based in such a beautiful city, the focus of this book, apart from the apartment in the title, is the plight of the asylum seekers camping in Rome; the conditions in which they live and their daily struggle for survival. The central character is Gina, an English photographer living in Rome, part of whose work involves photographing the young male asylum seekers. Gina leads a very ordered, controlled life until she meets Sasha, a young English girl visiting Rome for the first time, and with whom Gina shares a very close connection, albeit one unknown to Sasha for a large part of the book. The story then moves forward when Sasha starts a relationship with one of the young refugees.

Gina's story is told partly in flashback, but not in a way you would necessarily expect. The flashbacks slowly go further back in time, with each layer revealing more and more of her life in Rome until you gradually build up a picture of the events that helped form her into the woman she is. Whilst I really enjoyed the story, I did not really like Gina and couldn't empathise much with her; even when I knew all her story she still came across as a very cold, manipulative woman, not a very likable person for much of the read. On the other hand I really liked Sasha who was like a breath of fresh air in comparison.

To sum up, it is a very intriguing read; one that you very quickly get drawn into, wanting to know more and more. It is a very well paced read that flows well, with a satisfying ending. Whilst I did like the book, I have a feeling that if I could have liked Gina more, I would have loved the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy holiday read, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good pace,well written characters all served up with a good dollop of italian sunshine. Descriptions of the italian way of life and how different levels of the city operate were interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't stop reading this book. Great story and thoroughly lost myself in the novel! Well written, will be looking for other novels by this author. I particularly enjoy reading novels set in Italy which is what drew me to this book in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great holiday read!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read That Summer in Ischia, I knew to expect a good read from Penny Feeney, and was delighted when I saw The Apartment in Rome was available to download. Whilst capturing the charm of Roma,the book displays everyday life in Rome from a very alternative viewpoint. This is quality holiday reading for women, with food for thought.The two main female characters cross two generations, giving appeal to an extensive range of female readers. It shows the capacity for women to deal with whatever life throws at them. Moving in parts, the book will keep you hooked until you reach the end.I suspect there is still some unfinished business, and perhaps a sequel to The Apartment in Rome?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different side of Rome, 11 July 2013
This review is from: The Apartment in Rome (Paperback)
A few years ago I went on a city break to Rome, I visited all the picturesque tourist attractions that are shown in magazines, on the tv, in films etc.
This is the side of Rome, you don't read much about in The Apartment in Rome, instead it tells in parts the battle that the asylum seekers go through to be recognised by the government.

Penny Feeny brings us a story that at times is hard going, but through her descriptive writing and intense characters, you find yourself lost in the streets of Rome with Sasha, capturing images with Gina and caught up in the chaos that is life.

Gina is an English photographer who has lived in Italy for many years, she has quite a past and it's through flashbacks that we learn more about her.
Gina appears to live a contented life in her apartment and playing mistress to her landlord, but one day a chance encounter with Sasha, (an English teenager) leads Gina's past to her present.

Out of the main characters I found myself really liking Sasha , I love the journey her character goes on, she grows so much within the story.
Gina was an intriguing character, who at times comes across as cold and collected. There are occasions when Gina shows a nurturing side, but they are fleeting, that being said I couldn't imagine Gina any other way.

The story has a lovely ending, which ties up all loose ends, meaning when you close the pages you know where the characters are.

Fancy a city break this weekend then head to The Apartment in Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling and intriguing story xxx, 10 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Apartment in Rome (Paperback)
The cover is absolutely stunning, and I was instantly caught by the description on the back...it had me intrigued about the story and I could not wait to start!

I thoroughly enjoyed this! Within the first chapter I became lost in the story and the descriptions and it almost felt as though I was there in Italy amongst the surroundings, watching the scenes play out in front of me.

I particularly liked the version of Italy that we are given. Normally when you think of Italy you think of beautiful tourist attractions, the stunning city and all the tasty food. Here Penny Feeny gives us a more realistic version of Italy, told from the thoughts, feelings and perspectives of the characters in the book. Gina is a photographer and she spends her time capturing pictures and scenes of the young men who arrive in Italy as refugees. I really liked this angle of the story as it brought Italy to life for me, it was realistic and true to life and the plight of the refugees made me want to read on.

The characters were perfectly written. I loved that there were two female leads, and both Gina and Sasha are wonderfully sculpted characters. Throughout the course of the story, I really felt as though I knew them both like a best friend. I warmed instantly to Sasha, and I looked forward to the parts where she featured as I wanted to continue on her journey with her. Some of Gina's parts are actually told in flashbacks, and this fascinated me as we were able to build up a picture of Gina over time, and learn what had happened in her past and how this related to her future.

The story went at a great pace and I found I was interested and intrigued throughout. The Apartment In Rome is a compelling story with brilliant female characters, and it is a book which will draw you in from the first pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apartment in Rome, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read Penny Feeny's 'That summer in Ischia' and enjoyed it so much that I downloaded 'Apartment in Rome' and read it straight away. Both books are easy holiday reads. A little bit of a plot but mostly a 'feel good' experience. Well worth a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read., 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this gave the flavour of Rome, life in Rome and from the visitors view. It keeps you guessing A great holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A quick read, lots going on and not easy to predict the turn of events. Definitely one for the holiday bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The apartment in Rome, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable read which had a few twists and turns. Ideal for a holiday read to relax on the sun lounger with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Apartment in Rome
The Apartment in Rome by Penny Feeny (Paperback - 11 July 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews