Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now Shop Kindle Oasis

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2010
Basically, it does what it says on the cover.

Clear, concise, and very easy to read, covers pretty much all you need to know, will prepare you well for having paying guests/lodgers in your home.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of renting out a room.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Who the h*** takes in a Lodger and provides linen and offers to clean their room for security purposes! That is a HOST. Why would you want to ask them for comments in a Visitors book? Thats for hotels. Do you really want them to write "Landlord was a ***!" Also If you are providing breakfast or any meals then you have a Boarder, not a Lodger. That affects your tax allowances.

Otherwise the fundamentals like the law, rent a room scheme, vetting lodgers etc are there. Good to see house rules mentioned. Have a full A4 sheet and read it out before signing any paperwork. They have to sign the House Rules too. That visitor staying thing has increased a lot more. Lodgers seem to think it's ok for their partner, siblings and parents to stay over. YOU CAN SAY NO NO NO.

As a Live in Landlord your job is to clean the communal areas regularly, make sure you never ever run out of toilet paper, always bulk buy,(from Amazon) and grit your teeth when they come in late with feeble attempts at being quiet. Never ever "FRIENDS" on any social media. Get a fire safe put your personal papers in it and lock it.

As a Lodger with a live in landlord, you PAY rent on time, And STICK TO THE HOUSE RULES. Simple.

I respect the fact that this is written by a lawyer and landlady, but I do wish the authors of these books would try and ask others for input also. Some of the things this author talks about wouldn't wash in London. It is a LANDLORDS market. It's BUSINESS not a friendship market. When they're gone, theyre gone. NEXT!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
Concise, informative, easy to read with example letters and checklists covering the entire lifecycle of taking and losing/evicting a lodger. This simple book emphasises that taking in a lodger should be treated as with any other business transaction - with preparation and due caution. But it does in a pragmatic and helpful way. I am sure there are weightier tomes available on the subject but I found this book combined with the Lawpack Lodger Agreement to be comprehensive enough to meet my preparation needs.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
This is an ideal book for anyone who is thinking of having a lodger in their home. Simple to read, clear, it covers the possible pitfalls and how to handle them, while making it clear that these are the exceptions. The advice is excellent all through.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
In these cash strapped times, a good idea for making a few extra quid from a spare room is to have a lodger. Advertising is easy enough with the internet everywhere. Hint – pay for the premium advertising on the sites- it works…

I bought this after a few lodgers had stayed in my house, some of which I would rather hadn’t. I did wonder what happens if it really goes wrong for you, where you stand. How quickly can you get them out etc…?
I wish I would have bought this book before I started with lodgers and not about 2/3rds of my way through.
Lots of good advice on setting out your do’s and don’ts, where you stand legally, writing up a contract. There is a lot more to consider than you would have thought.
The best advice I can give about whether you should take in a lodger is – do you like them as a person? Trust your gut instinct.
Men - Don’t be swayed by the size of your potential lodger’s cleavage.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Just what I was looking for a quick, brief guide on how to take on a lodger and some of the things that you need to take account of. Much cheaper than an hour appointment with my solicitor.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
This arrived promptly in good condition in appropriate packaging. It had everything I needed to know really and I successfully had lodgers for a year! There was one slight mistake I made regarding vetting potential lodgers whereby I had not followed the guidelines. It was fairly easily rectified but I would say that even if a friend sends a potential lodger do not consider them vetted! That of course was not the fault of the book which gave excellent advice! Good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Bought for son who was taking in a lodger. Says it is very informative. Loads of tips. He is happy with new lodger
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Yes, this book gives you a quick idea of the essentials of taking in a lodger. It is written by a lawyer who has also been a landlady and should know something about the pitfalls. An important factor is clearly getting the right person to share your house with you. My main criticism of it is that it is not made clear what conditions are legally essential and what is desirable. Its worth a read if you are taking in a lodger.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
For someone who is looking to take lodger for first time or is an experienced lodger landlord, this is an excellent book. Provides very good tips on how to screen and handle lodgers, factors to take into consideration while taking in lodgers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)