Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making sense of why Britain looks the way it does
As someone born at the start of the 70's I grew up in a time when new-build was all backward looking Barratt boxes. The modernism of post war Britain was already in place and was generally derided - I never understood how this far more inspirational phase of British development had come about. This tells the story in an accessible, engaging and entertaining way...
Published 10 months ago by b33k34

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read.
A snapshot throughout the country, of the rush, scandal and corruption to clear the slums, after WW2 and re-house 'en mass'. Some chapters better than others. (Probably, depends where you live or personal connections, making certain parts of the book, more engaging). Very well researched and excellent references for further reading.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. K. C. Rutherford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making sense of why Britain looks the way it does, 21 Dec 2013
As someone born at the start of the 70's I grew up in a time when new-build was all backward looking Barratt boxes. The modernism of post war Britain was already in place and was generally derided - I never understood how this far more inspirational phase of British development had come about. This tells the story in an accessible, engaging and entertaining way. Fascinating from start to end and full of wonderful stories and anecdotes from both residents and builders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Feb 2014
By 
A fascinating review of post war 'modernism' in architecture and its failure and successes (though fewer of the later). Having worked for Milton Keynes development corporation for 20 years I see that it has factual short coming but never the less it is highly interesting and a thoroughly.
good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building a Dream?, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A pretty good history of British building development from those heady post war days to now. The easy style makes it easy to see what went wrong and indeed what went right. As usual, the dreams turn into nightmares simply through those two human frailties - greed and apathy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concretopia, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Hardcover)
Present for my husband which he thoroughly enjoyed. It linked his interest in design and social histrory beautifully. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Geoffrey P. B. Savill (dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mass of information has been extremely well researched and assembled into very readable chapters. I recommend this book so anyone interested in modern social history, architecture and building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredibly readable, 26 April 2014
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Concretopia on Kindle

I was reading this, sitting in my garden, over the recent sunny Easter weekend, and there was something very apt about the uplifting story of Britain rebuilding itself after the second world war and the austerity of rationing, with nature coming into flower all around me.

The story is about buildings, both the big and famous like the Barbican and the small and everyday like housing estates. The basic message of the book is that there was a great deal more that was positive and good about what was done after the war, than was bad. The author is clearly one of the growing number of fans of Brutalist architecture, but this is often put in context by interviews with people who actually lived in some of these modernist monstrosities, and loved them.

The style of writing is very personal, interviews, reminiscences, research and personal opinions all just come tumbling out. Better to take it as what it is, than to try and treat it as an overly informal academic tome.

I found the book hard to put down, a long book, but packed with stories and incident. On Kindle there are a good selection of functional black and white photos and an index with hotlinks. A very well put together title for the Kindle and well worth the money.

I would only offer a few quibbles, first off the title is off-putting, the book is vastly more appealing than the title, I was a bit confused about the various developments on the London South Bank, the author seems to assume that we all know London well enough that these buildings need little introduction, and finally, the chapters seem to have been written, then plonked down. A bit more signposting that something came up in an earlier chapter, or would come up again in a later one, would have made in a bit slicker.

Having said all that, if you have any interest in urbanism, architecture, housing, or the history of the postwar period, then this book comes highly recommended, and will whet your appetite to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor pictures, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Hardcover)
For those interested in the development of Britain in the fifties and sixties this is a fascinating read, even if you are not particularly interested in architecture. Unfortunately this is a subject that cries out for good illustrations and plenty of them. However, the photographs in the book are few in number, usually small and poorly reproduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Hardcover)
I bought this for my father for Christmas following a review I had read in the local paper (Croydon Advertiser). He loved the book and found it very readable and interesting and has commented many times and how much he enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 April 2014
By 
jahtao (london, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a great read. Great level of detail, funny in places, great scope, perfectly pitched. My girlfriend never grew tired of me reading excerpts from it (ha). I will be buying a hard copy to lend out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's particularly refreshing is that it not only covers the usual London landmarks like the Barbican and the Festival of Brita, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Hardcover)
An absolutely superb read. What's particularly refreshing is that it not only covers the usual London landmarks like the Barbican and the Festival of Britain, but various examples in the provinces such as Newcastle and Cumbernauld. Very revealing in its dealings with the political climate running alongside the Modernist movement. The frequent usage of quotations from residents and planners alike adds the dose of reality that is needed when dealing with a subject that too often can be seen through rose-tinted specs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain
Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain by John Grindrod (Hardcover - 12 Nov 2013)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews