Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gripping
This is an absolutely gripping tale of 1930s England, which is vividly brought to life through the eyes of two charismatic young characters. It's the story of Daisy, a sixteen-year old girl, whose world is turned upside down when she finds out she isn't quite who she thought she was. But Daisy has courage, meets life head on and isn't afraid to take chances, such as...
Published on 16 Jun. 2011 by P. C. Fenton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars this golden chain was not as strong as the previous book..
The Golden Chain by Margaret James for me was just an OK read following on from the first book in the series The Silver Locket (Choc Lit). I think the reason for this was the main character was very weak and I have to be honest I found this book rather slow and boring.
As a reader we first met Daisy in The Silver Locket when she was just a young child adopted by...
Published 16 months ago by Petra "I love to read"


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gripping, 16 Jun. 2011
By 
P. C. Fenton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Chain (Paperback)
This is an absolutely gripping tale of 1930s England, which is vividly brought to life through the eyes of two charismatic young characters. It's the story of Daisy, a sixteen-year old girl, whose world is turned upside down when she finds out she isn't quite who she thought she was. But Daisy has courage, meets life head on and isn't afraid to take chances, such as going on the stage. Sometimes these pay off, sometimes not, but throughout the novel we root for her and I was on the edge of my seat, hoping nothing bad would happen to her. She is a bit naïve to begin with (understandably, as she's so young), but she matures quickly and she's lucky enough to have people looking out for her. As for the hero, charming Scotsman Ewan, he stole my heart right from the beginning. Any boy who is actively looking for a girl to be his leading lady is special, and when he's handsome and Scottish at the same time, that makes him pretty much perfect IMO! This novel is a must-read - I would recommend you buy a very big box of chocolates and make sure you have a whole day or evening free. You won't want to put this one down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful read, 19 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Golden Chain (Paperback)
The Golden Chain is the second book in Margaret James's trilogy and follows on from The Silver Locket - though you don't have to have read the first book to enjoy this one as, although we re-visit some of the characters, this is a stand-alone story.

Daisy Denham is 15 and she and her family move back to Dorset from India where she meets and falls for Ewan Fraser who is staying with the family who have much against the Denhams. Daisy and Ewan join a theatre company but she also falls for the handsome rougue, Jesse Trent. When the company's season is over, Jesse takes Daisy with him to London while Ewan joins another band of actors in Scotland.

Things don't go exactly as planned for either of them and a great deal happens to the family left behind in Dorset, too.

Daisy is a wonderfully-written character and some of the others we meet are fun and larger-than-life, with the couple who run the touring theatre company reminding me of something out of Dickens. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 4 May 2011
This review is from: The Golden Chain (Paperback)
My thoughts:

This is a stand alone novel, but it also is a continuation of The Silver Locket, in that book Rose and Alex fell in love and later adopted a child, Daisy. Fast forward and she is 15, going on 16, and she falls in love for the first time. You can read it without having read the other one; you will just get more surprises. This is a good thing too.

Daisy was young, but she was also ready to try new things, and to make mistakes. She was pretty headstrong and found out that she wants to pursue acting with Ewan, who she has fallen for. So they leave because her parents also know they can't stop her. They can just try to keep her safe, and that is sure why I liked her parents. Because if not then Daisy would surely have left without a word. Sure she makes mistakes later when she falls for a scoundrel (yes I still love that word). But she is growing up and finding herself. And for being so young she has a good head on her shoulders.

Ewan then, well he will make mistakes too. But as I said these two are young, and the love is there, and you all know I wouldn't be leading you down the wrong path. There will be a HEA.

While her previous book was about war this one is about the stage, and the trouble of finding a job. Following your dreams, and finding yourself. And there is some drama too, love trouble, and a certain "evil" Sir Michael who does not like the Denham family.

Conclusion:

A pretty sweet book and you always knew when they were down on their luck that things would get better, or at least I hoped so. You always need hope in dark times. The setting was interesting, and the romance was always there in the background, but it was more important what they were doing. Which I liked. A nice balance between historical fiction and historical romance.

Rating:

Sweet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet story of love, 30 April 2011
This review is from: The Golden Chain (Paperback)
This book begins some ten years after the end of The Silver Locket. Alex and Rose are happily married and move from India to Dorset with their adopted daughter Daisy (also from Silver Locket). This novel focuses on Daisy, her ambitions to act, her obligations to home and family and her romance with the lovely Scotsman Ewan. The action travels from India (where Daisy dreams of a mysterious woman), to Dorset and London, passing through various provincial theatres on the way.

Daisy is very young, obviously so. She makes mistakes, immature decisions and she learns from these what it will take to make her happy. She is torn by obligation to her struggling family, by sudden knowledge of who she is and where she comes from, and by her attraction to two men. The shallowness of her attraction to Jesse is all part of her maturing process; her slow realisation of where her affections really lie and her learning to confront those who have ruined her adopted family come from this same 'growing up' procedure.

Against a background of the Depression, poverty and the questionable actions made necessary by these conditions, this is a lovely tale of growing up and falling in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Chain - Margaret James, 1 May 2011
By 
lucie Wheeler (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Chain (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, the follow up to Margaret James's first ChocLit book, The Silver Locket, where we first hear about Daisy Denham.

The Golden Chain is a story about Daisy, who is now 15 years old and has not long been living back in Dorset after growing up in India. Dorset hides many secrets for Daisy, and she soon begins to long for a life on the stage. She then meets Ewan Fraser, who also dreams of stardom and is prepared to uproot and search for it. He asks Daisy to go with him and she agrees. But life on tour with a theatre company is not as glamorous as it seems. Daisy falls for handsome Jesse Trent and Ewan is tempted away by his career dreams. They drift apart and end on bad terms. But things soon go from bad to worse, but maybe it is too late for Daisy to rectify her decisions?

This is a satisfying love story where the characters are brought to life as soon as they walk onto the page. As with Margaret's previous ChocLit novel, you are continuously wondering what the outcome will be in the end, and she keeps the reader on edge, willing them to make the right decision.

A thoroughly enjoyable read that I found difficult to put down. I look forward to Margaret's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story but previously published under a different name., 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Chain (Paperback)
This continues the story of Rose and Alex and their children. Most of the story centres round Daisy, their adopted daughter and her life in the theatre in the early thirties. For once, it is not a meteoric rise to stardom. Theatre in the provinces is shown in all its seedy squalor, reminiscent of The Good Companions, but less benevolent.

Characters from the past make their presence felt and their impact on Daisy and her family derail the story on its journey to clichédom, and make it much more interesting and original. More detail about the plot would act as a spoiler.

I recommend it and am looking forward to reading the third book in the trilogy.

BUT - a word of warning - this is not a new book. It was previously published under a different title:
The Long Way Home. I believe that the third book in the trilogy has already been published as The Penny Bangle. I do wish the re-titling of a book could be included in the Product Description, especially as they do not always include a synopsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Th Golden Chain (choc lit), 29 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read. I read the first book The Silver Locket which I found really good. Glad I read this book as it follows on mentioning people from the first book. Once you start reading you will find it hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story you get so absorbed that you feel regret when you finish reading the story. Great characters. Flows so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely warming story, 22 May 2011
After reading 'The silver locket' i was very much looking forward to starting Margaret's new novel. I wasn't dissapointed.
The story of young actress Daisy Denham is warm, cosy and stunning.
I will admit that it took me a little longer to get into than TSL but by chapter 4 I was hooked.
Can't wait for the next novel by Margaret James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Chain
The Golden Chain by Margaret James (Paperback - 1 May 2011)
£6.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews