Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll hotels - more than a travel guide..., 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Kev (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
It's one of those ideas so simple you wonder why no-one's done it before - everyone loves a good travel guide, and everyone knows that hotels are the rock star's home away from home. Why not combine the two?

Greg Simmons' first book (as far as I'm aware) manages to tick the box marked multi-purpose: planning a trip overseas and wanting a hotel with a difference? Stuck with travel guides that are great for restaurants, but don't tell you where you can catch the local rock scene? Struck-for-cash, but in need of some voyeuristic rock thrills? This is the book for you.

Perhaps the book's greatest achievement is in avoiding the trammels of being yet another dessicated travel guide - this isn't a book that'll quickly become a dust-collector when the summer soujourn is but a memory. You've got plenty of meticulously-researched vignettes about rock's aristocracy - from the John Lennon tampon story to where Ozzy was staying when he pissed on the Alamo while wearing his wife's clothes. And it's not just the well-known, Mojo-friendly 'classic rock' sorts - we get such underground luminaries as Carcass and Napalm Death popping their heads in, and there's a brief but enlightening entry on the Norwegian Black Metal scene. As close to being comprehensive as this sort of thing can be.

Simmons' tone is light but not without bite - there's a fair amount of laconic humour peppering these pages - "...maybe a Harley Davidson would accentuate your (priapic) star qualities?" (for instance). And he's not limited himself to the sort of places that Joe Pauper can afford - there's enough entries on various shabby hostels and run-down holes to service the needs of modern rock musician (ie, born outside of the days when a musician could expect a half-decent wage) covering a fair swathe of the US, Europe and even the Bahamas and Marrakesh (who knew Marrakesh could be a pilgrimage site for the lowly rock acolyte?)

One of my worries about this book is that it'll get relegated to the odder corners of the travel guide section of your local bookshop. It's well worth a read on its own merits, and there's plenty here to sate the rock fan's appetite for destruction (or, as the sub-heading has it, fluffy pillows).

In short, a heartily recommended book that'll make a great present for the long-haired, odd-smelling hardcore rock fan in your family. And well worth a gander for yourself as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different perspective on travel guides, 14 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
I bought this out of curiosity after it was featured in the Guardian newspaper. After buying tired, staid old travel guides full of the same old "must go here to see so and so" I was pleasently surprised to find a chronicle of Rock n Rolls most outrageous excesses along with an expertly written guide as to how I could (admittedly only attempt) recreate the excesses of led zepplin or johnny depp.

Heartily reccomend this book to anyone who is into rock n roll and anyone who wants to live the life of a rock star, if only for night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Instantly readable, constantly informative..., 14 Dec. 2011
By 
D. Bradley "Bradders" (The Hague) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
Really pleased I bought this book. It does not disappoint in any way. The hotel stories themselves would make it a worthwhile purchase, but add all the extra information about planning your own trip, and you have a winning combination. A beautifully presented book and an easy to handle size, it even has it's own built-in black ribbon book mark. In some ways it reminds me of a bible. It needs to be in every hotel drawer next to the Gideon's. A must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll Awesome, 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
From a rock fan point of view this book was great, it had some excellent trivia I hadn't heard before. Fom a travel point of you this is good if you were choosing somewhere special or different to visit for a honeymoon or anniversary and it's a much more enjoyable read than a rough guide or lonely planet!

Finally I have just ordered two more as this book will be a brilliant present and with Christmas coming up it's an easy solution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
After rading about this in the Guardian, I purchased a copy. The author has clearly done his research and the book reads well - the rock n roll narratives are especially interesting. I'm planning a trip to California for next year and this has definitely made me sit up and take notice of a few accommodation choices! Any weekend away in a major city has to be complemented with this book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for all!, 14 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
A must read for all whether an avid rock fan or not. Full with interesting and humorous tales that will keep anyone entertained. I found the travel guide extremely witty and mind provoking, offering a fantastic insight into the world of rock and roll.

Definitely recommend anyone despite their musical interests to read this; it would also make a brilliant Christmas present!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'dipping-in' book, 19 Dec. 2011
By 
C. Smith "smithcat7" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
This is such a great little book. I first read it in the Guardian, so bought 3 copies for brothers-in-law as part of their Christmas presents. It gives some interesting snippets about rock hotels round the world, but it is also beautifully written. Every rock and roll fan should have a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. Neil Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
This is a great read for anyone who enjoys both travel and rock memorabilia. Average of 3/5 pages per hotel with rock background (who stayed in which room and some of the antics they got up to) with a guide to the local attractions in the area - great reference tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The little black book of Rock n Roll etiquette, 8 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
Having only just received this, this is already a favourite that has taken pride of place! Not only does it look really cool but it is cool. It's a real book you can travel the world with looking up the truth behind some of those most famous tales. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Read, 9 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Rock & Roll Hotels (Paperback)
This is a really good read. The authors in depth writing about each hotel really puts you in the foyer with the rock stars mentioned. This will be the first point of call when I'm planning where to stay in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock & Roll Hotels
Rock & Roll Hotels by Greg Simmons (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2011)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews