Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope there will be a volume 2, 9 July 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
Coming from a country famous for its annual wife carrying, mosquito swatting and wellie throwing events to name but a few, I was pleasantly surprised to find so many interesting and crazy events in Britain too. I bought one book for myself (as a good read, as well as for reference next time I need to find a custard pie throwing or stinging nettle eating or maybe a riveting snail racing event to go to) as well as a few extra copies to use as prezzies as and when needed. With fantastic photography and witty writing this book tells me everything I need to know when planning my next 'brit different' weekend - no need to go back home then, I guess...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant!, 21 July 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
You will not be disappointed if you buy this book. A great source of reference, funny anecdotes and amazing photography. It will both shock and amaze you, and definitely make you smile. This proves us Brits are crazy. Wife carrying, shin kicking, sheep racing, onion eating... who on earth invents all these events? Fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable map of eccentricity, 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
It is a good job this book is so packed with superb photos otherwise I would not have believed half the stuff that apparently goes on in the British Isles. From the daft to the dangerous to the downright scary, I was pleased to be able to view these offbeat events and read about them from the comfort of my own home. If curiosity gets the better of me, next summer I shall venture forth and visit some of the hotspots described in these pages. If you like the sound of some strange homegrown tourism, this is surely the guidebook for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 9 July 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
I just love this book and I must confess, I just didn't appreciate just how much quirky stuff happens in the UK!! The book is very informative, it provides an overview of events and has some brilliant pictures that captures the spirit of the occasion. If you like off the wall events then this is a must have book and I personally would love to see a European version some time in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, informative book with lots of great photos, 9 July 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
A very precise, easy to use guide, with great photos to give you a good idea of what each contest involves. A book to buy if wanting to get out and do something different for a weekend, whether participating or just watching, or if you don't know what to buy someone for a present, this is a fun British book to give. I have it on my coffee table and everyone that comes has a great laugh looking at all the weird and wonderful things us Brits get up to! I have even ended up participating in one of the contests!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fifty of the country's daftest days out, 7 Sept. 2011
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
Eccentricity is a particularly British trait. It is engrained in our psyche, part of our national DNA. Nowhere is this more so than in the quaint, quirky and frankly daft contests in the British sporting calendar ('sporting' is used in its broadest sense).

Emma Wood is a photographer with a keen eye for eccentricity, and has visited -- and sometimes taken part in -- over fifty of the country's daftest days out.

Many are well-established events (Cheese Rolling at Tetbury Hill on Whitsun Bank Holiday, though sadly cancelled this year), some are whimsical (such as the World Pooh Sticks Championships or the Pantomine Horse Grand National), others are particularly odd (World Toe-Wrestling Championships, anyone?), while Carrying the Flaming Tar Barrels held each Bonfire Night in Ottery St Mary just looks terrifying.

Emma's survey serves as an entertaining account of these comic competitions, and may also prompt the reader to take part in one of them ... So see you at the World Gravy Wrestling Championships in August?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proud to be a Brit Different!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
A great book to have on your coffee table, in your cloakroom, or to give as a gift. Perfect to dip into or read through in one go. Fantastic photography. Some of these events will have you chuckling to yourself, and many will make you proud to be a Brit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a bit different!!!, 13 July 2010
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
From start to finish a fascinating guide to the British odd-ball event calendar. With great photography side by side entertaining, humorous, but informative writing it would make a unique gift for foreigner and countrymen alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Made in Britain, 3 May 2011
By 
J. S. Anscomb "page smith" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
This is a very informative read, with well pitched humour and interesting facts about what weird and wonderful events that go on in this great land of ours.
Well photographed and designed, this book is easy to navigate and is a great guide to dip in and out of when the mood suits. There are even maps included to show you how to get to the events. If you have a touch of the British eccentric in your blood, you could do worse than grabbing a copy of this book and heading off to some small out of the way village to throw custard pies at complete strangers or partake in some snail racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Gift Idea, 9 July 2010
By 
Stuart Wallace "Stuart Wallace" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain (Paperback)
I bought this for my brother's birthday as we'd both been in the Swamp Soccer tournament seen in the book - Though funnily enough my team wasn't featured as we looked like a bunch of sappy school girls. Its a perfect bloke's present really and fully intend passing it onto more friends and family when stuck for ideas.

Funny read, quality photos and very inspiring for some more messy antics around the country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Brit Different: A Guide to the Eccentric Events and Curious Contests of Britain
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews