Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
What an absolute delight! NANNY MCPHEE RETURNS was a very entertaining story for the entire family to listen to! I've not seen either movie or read any books associated with Nanny McPhee, but that didn't hinder me from enjoying this tale. Read by the author and well-known actress Emma Thompson, the listener is transported to the English countryside.

The story...
Published on 15 Oct 2010 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ???
so confusing with a happy end. nanny mcphee is successful yet again. read the book before you watch the film though. nanny mcphee is a genius and i can see why my sister loves it.
Published 22 months ago by ratty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 15 Oct 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nanny McPhee Returns (Audio CD)
What an absolute delight! NANNY MCPHEE RETURNS was a very entertaining story for the entire family to listen to! I've not seen either movie or read any books associated with Nanny McPhee, but that didn't hinder me from enjoying this tale. Read by the author and well-known actress Emma Thompson, the listener is transported to the English countryside.

The story introduces the listeners to the Green family. Their mother was born to a wealthy family, but after she falls in love with a poor farmer, she is disowned. That suits her fine, and the family is happy and content. But then Mr. Green has to serve in the military, and the mom and three children are left to run the farm until his return.

Mrs. Green's sister dumps her two children at the farm to protect them from the war, and the five children are at odds from the beginning. Mrs. Green is desperate for money and can't handle all five children, and is worried they will lose the farm. It is at this point that Nanny McPhee enters the picture to save the day.

Throw in the magical presence of Nanny McPhee, an unscrupulous brother-in-law trying to convince Mrs. Green to sell the farm, and adorable little piglets, and you get the enchanting story that is NANNY MCPHEE RETURNS.

The audio book recounts both the story as well as includes a verbal diary by Ms. Thompson of the filming of the movie. The diary entries are as funny, if not sometimes more so, than the actual story being told.

A discretionary note here, though. Though the story itself is suitable for all ages, especially as the main characters are young children, there may be a few objectionable words in the diary. Nothing vulgar, but a few swear words, and a reference to a woman's upper body parts. The usage is quite amusing, but some parents may find it unsuitable.

Reviewed by: Jaglvr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo loverly!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Emma Thompson's telling of the film with added interesting bits about filming etc.
She's really got a genius for getting you into a book and keeping you interested and doesn't talk down to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great the Chris Yves go by Charles jug huh John ahhh Fri :::::::::::)))))))great Hallows beige :-/CD I'd suggest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ???, 10 Feb 2013
so confusing with a happy end. nanny mcphee is successful yet again. read the book before you watch the film though. nanny mcphee is a genius and i can see why my sister loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big BANG, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is really good and I really love reading it I hope there are more books like it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nanny McPhee and the Big Bang (Popcorn Readers)
Nanny McPhee and the Big Bang (Popcorn Readers) by Emma Thompson (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews