Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great fact based book from UIT publishing.
Its not often that books come along written by professional people who really know their stuff, that are readable and accessible by the ordinary person who reads books.

What is fascinating about this book is not only that it explores in pretty good detail the social and pharmacological areas of drug taking, but that it confidently exposes the political...
Published on 2 Jun. 2012 by Mr. E. J. Leoni-smith

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much "this is how it is", too little discussion of actual evidence
I bought this book for two reasons: It received a favourable review in The Economist and the title is an allusion to the superb "Sustainable Energy - Without the Hot Air" of the same publisher (picking the right title obviously sells). The two books, however, have little in common in terms of approach, structure and style.

The broad message of "Drugs - Without...
Published on 1 Sept. 2012 by 263


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More thrilling than a thriller!, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been following Professor David Nutt, that is his work and contributions in the media, for a few years now. I see him as a genuine likeable person who does his job without a hidden agenda. He speaks facts, not propaganda. After all, that is what one would expect from a scientist. This book is a real page-turner and a must-read for anyone who is interested in the topic of legal/illegal drug use. It provides plenty of detail about the history, chemistry, effects of drugs, international/UK laws, statistics, research, etc in order to enable the reader to appreciate the correct perspective BUT without being 'too heavy.' Expect to read some trully sad life stories and to find out why the war on drugs is complete madness. The muppets in the present and future governments should read this book before wasting another day in the office. In fact, parents and teenagers should read it, too, in order to get a proper overview of the topic.

I found the chapters dealing with tobacco and alcohol to be the most fascinating. Where scaremongering and prohibition don't work, a commonsense approach is needed. This book will answer a lot of your questions and will urge you to ask some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone interested in pharmacology / drug politics., 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs (Paperback)
I happened to stumble across this book whilst browsing the science shelves in a bookshop. The whole premise of the book grabbed my attention instantly as I had always wondered why cannabis is legal in some countries / states if the scientific and governmental consensus is that it is a harmful, psychosis-inducing substance. When I got home later that afternoon I watched some of David Nutt's lectures online and knew immediately that he was a man who knew his stuff. Practically everything he said was backed up with evidence, references and plain ol' common sense. Ordered the book that very night.

I was not disappointed with this book in the slightest. I dived into it not knowing an awful lot about drugs but kept an open mind. Each and every chapter kept me engaged and made me challenge my preconceived notions about the harms and benefits of all of the drugs mentioned. It totally changed my perspective.

This book is not just an enticing read but it should be considered gospel for layman literature about drugs as all of the harms are unexaggerated or untainted by political opinion and all of the benefits are also, studied without bias. READ THIS BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop the taboos and start to be rational., 1 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs (Paperback)
Prof. Nutt firstly gives us an introduction to who he is and his motivations for writing the book, he then goes on to explain the comparative techniques and the resulting order of harmfulness of drugs. Over the next chapters drugs (both legal and illegal) are looked at in more depth, history of the drug is given along with several case studies. The benefits of the drugs (i.e. medicinal potential) are also briefly examined.

Every factual claim made is backed up by evidence as you would expect from a scientist. He also suggests at ways legislation could be improved but does not come up with one strict plan, rather several ideas.

You should read this book if you want to be informed about anything to do with drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs (Paperback)
This is a great book. Easy to read, and sets out the facts clearly and in a well referenced form. It doesn't have anything revolutionary in it, and the arguments will be familiar to those interested in the area. Nonetheless, its a great read, with the chapters on mepehdrone and MDMA being particularly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading on ecstasy, 23 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs (Paperback)
On the whole I enjoyed reading this book - HOWEVER I think that comparing ecstasy to horse riding is somewhat misleading. It may be true that the number of deaths per year and damage done to society by each of them is comparable, but this book does not mention the neurotoxic effects of chronic use of ecstasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read. Sense without hype, backed up by research, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This should be required reading for policy makers. Facts without hype or hysteria, and a lot of useful information and suggestions that could save lives and reduce harm of all kinds - not least from what is currently society's most harmful (overall) drug: alcohol.

Very readable, enlightening and a useful book for everyone, since almost everyone uses drugs of some kind. You may not think so, because we arbitrarily divide drugs into those that are legal and those that are illegal. You may not even think of the legal ones as drugs, (e.g. alcohol, tobacco, caffeine), but they are. And you could be forgiven for thinking that the legal drugs must be much less harmful than the illegal ones. This is a must-read for anyone who wants to learn the truth about what they put into their bodies and the true potential for harm (or otherwise) to self, loved ones and wider society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and very readable, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs (Paperback)
This book really lives up to its title. A very readable discussion of drugs, the law, and how the law works out in practice. Of course, one reason I think it so good is that it confirms my previous opinion - but it does so with a wealth of facts and documented references.

What is makes clear is that the current law could almost have been designed to maximise the harm done by drugs. Due to a huge number of unintended consequences, current law is such as to increase drug usage while denying most sufferers from drug abuse the appropriate forms of treatment.

I wish our law could be overhauled along the lines described in thsi book. Dr Nutt does not claim to have the solution to everything - but he does have a large number of well-argued suggestions as to how things could be made much, much better.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good jargon free information which challenges our present ways of viewing substance use., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs (Paperback)
David Nutt has written a brilliant book which is easy to read and understand. The media today often confuses the public understanding of substance misuse by sensationalising stories which often frighten the less well informed. His work as a psychiatrist and neuropsychopharmacologist specialising in the research of drugs makes him an expert on the subject. As well as having headed the ACMD ( advisory committee to the government), Professor Nutt is passionate about educating people and giving them the opportunity to make wise choices about their health and lives. This is a great book which I have found invaluable in my job as a drug and alcohol trainer. It is one which I highly recommend to learners because it gives quality information based on fact. Thank you Professor Nutt. BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the tin, 18 May 2013
On the whole, an insightful and thought-provoking book. As you may have guessed, Nutt has very large bone to pick with the government, the current drugs law and the status quo, and why not- they're absurd. However, like any scientist worth their salt, he doesn't let this cloud his judgement and build his argument on facts and up-to-date research, referencing countless journals and scholarly articles throughout. To this end, if there was anything which let the book down, it was its rather empirical and scientific overtones which at times have the effect of breaking up the flow of the work (especially the kindle version, as many of diagrams can't be read without a magnifying glass). That said, he is a professor, so what did I expect you may ask. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin :-), 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book containing real scientific data on the physical and social effects of drugs, in the real world. It's very understandable and easy to read, without shying away from the science. Most importantly, it's book about the real world, where some people do take drugs (some even enjoy it!) and policies that rely on stopping all drug use (except alcohol and tobacco, which somehow don't count), simply aren't going to fly.

Anybody involved in drugs policy should read this book to get some proper evidence on which to base their opinions. Anyone taking (or considering taking) any kind of drug (that included alcohol and tobacco) should read this book to get an idea of the relative risks of different drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drugs - Without the Hot Air: Minimising the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews