Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book about the "shot" and much more
You would have thought that the stories about Bobby Jones would have been told by now. Not so this book by local Doctor Steven Reid provides a new slant on the Open Championship of 1926 at Royal Lytham. Not only does is provide insights into the main protagonists but also includes a wealth of interesting information about the course at the time, the Club and the Claret...
Published 23 months ago by Pete S

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Just a compilation of statistics and journalism
Very little original thought seems to have gone into the writing of this book. The author has simply culled loads of newspaper and magazine articles from the period and filled up the book with statistics. I managed to finish it, but it was a real struggle. The most interesting part of the book was the section of photos.
Published 12 months ago by Hugh Millar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book about the "shot" and much more, 10 Aug 2012
You would have thought that the stories about Bobby Jones would have been told by now. Not so this book by local Doctor Steven Reid provides a new slant on the Open Championship of 1926 at Royal Lytham. Not only does is provide insights into the main protagonists but also includes a wealth of interesting information about the course at the time, the Club and the Claret Jug. Its also covers the famous shot at the 17th hole and the efforts to establish exactly where it was played from. An excellent read for those wanting to a know a little more that just the results of the Championship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 May 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Matthews "Linda" (Lancashire (Uk)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby's Open: Mr. Jones and the Golf Shot That Defined a Legend (Paperback)
Bought this book as a guft for my husband as it came recommended by a frend. This is ow one of Craig favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A golfing hit., 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby's Open: Mr. Jones and the Golf Shot That Defined a Legend (Paperback)
With a husband with the same name, this book was an obvious choice. A good read for golf lovers and insights into the life of one of the greatest golfers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic and entertaining book, a must for any golf historian, well researched and attention to detail, l am sure Bob would appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Account, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great account not just of the Open at Lytham but also a real insight into Bobby Jones character and personality. Also nice references to others who were playing at that time. A great book about possibly the best golfer ever, I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in the history of golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I Lifted My Head, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When it comes to non-fiction, sports writing can be some of the best there is. I have read books that take one event and create a living world around it, transport you back to a different era, to a different world view, a different kind of people, but a world you can recognise and relate to. It can be exciting, moving, thoughtful and energising. This book was none of those. About ten pages in I already felt I had read a hundred pages - and was still none the wiser after I'd actually read a hundred pages as to who Bobby Jones was. It began to irritate me as the author listed games, competitors and scores that would possibly appeal to the golf statistician but left me, as a potentially interested reader, totally cold. I wanted to know about the man, not about the 71 he carded on a windy day in Bumrock, Idaho, or somewhere. Bobby Jones is a golf icon, and I wondered why, but this book had failed to illuminate him by the time I put it down, unfinished. It may well have gone on to do a great job, as the reviews suggested it might, but the staid prose meant that I will possibly never know. The problem with the Kindle is that you often have about a dozen other books in your hands crying out to be read, and my tolerance level for "okay reads" is dropping quickly. So, I'm afraid, this book has been sliced into the rough, and I can't be bothered going to find it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just a compilation of statistics and journalism, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very little original thought seems to have gone into the writing of this book. The author has simply culled loads of newspaper and magazine articles from the period and filled up the book with statistics. I managed to finish it, but it was a real struggle. The most interesting part of the book was the section of photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a golf historian I found this book interersting and informative. Well worth the 5 star rating. I recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bobby's Open: Mr. Jones and the Golf Shot That Defined a Legend
Bobby's Open: Mr. Jones and the Golf Shot That Defined a Legend by Jack Nicklaus (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
7.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews