Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crafted with Love
They say lightning doesn't strike in the same place twice but, again, this is another absolute triumph of imaginative interpretation and excellence for the open-minded Lovecraft devotee.

The short stories adapted within have a beautiful, filmic quality with the different artistic and narrative styles complementing each other like an old Amicus port...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by Tee Double You Bee Esq

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's what it says
Great value at the sale price I bought it for. Other reviewers seem happy enough, so hey, if you're a fan of graphic novels generally, go for it. Personally, I'd rather stick to prose and my own imagination, but that's just me.
Published 13 months ago by B. Lengden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crafted with Love, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovecraft Anthology, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
They say lightning doesn't strike in the same place twice but, again, this is another absolute triumph of imaginative interpretation and excellence for the open-minded Lovecraft devotee.

The short stories adapted within have a beautiful, filmic quality with the different artistic and narrative styles complementing each other like an old Amicus port manteau.
The images range from wonderfully angular stylized pieces ("The Temple") to a realism akin to, say, Brian Bolland's work ("The Festival"). This keeps the experience as a whole fresh and surprising, breathing new life to old bones that many of us will be familiar with. The tone throughout is just right and absolutely does justice to the creeping menace of Lovecraft's visions.

I can't recommend this highly enough and can only hope for a third volume... Go on, treat yourself!

The stories contained within this volume are:

- Pickman's Model
- The Temple
- From Beyond
- He
- The Hound
- The Nameless City
- The Picture in the House
- The Festival
- The Statement of Randolph Carter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard is Horrortastic, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovecraft Anthology, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Beautifully Illustrated, and a great rendition throughout.

As Lovecraft himself once rapped..."...Yo Bums, rush the Shoggoth!" I'm down with my homeboy Howard.

"DRIPPING WOUNDS OF WEIRDNESS!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic adaptations of Lovecraft., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got the Kindle version of this in an amazon promotional sale and have to say i really enjoyed it. Each story is drawn by a different artist so the styles of art vary with each story, often to great effect. The stories tell themselves but the artwork gives the stories that little more edge and bite. Not a massive book, but if you're a fan of Lovecraft and you can get it at a good price, Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elder Gods, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent adaptations of Lovecraft's less well known works, accompanied by some very creative art work. If you're a fan this worth the price of admission!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERFULL !!!!, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. B. Nugent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovecraft Anthology, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
A MUST HAVE FOR ANYONE WHO IS INTO THE MYTHOS OF H.P. LOCRAFT !!!
ALSO A GOOD INTRODUCTION FOR SOME ONE WHO WANTS TO BE INTIONATED INTO THE WORLD OF THE OLD ONE'S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's what it says, 28 Jun 2013
By 
B. Lengden "leonie47" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value at the sale price I bought it for. Other reviewers seem happy enough, so hey, if you're a fan of graphic novels generally, go for it. Personally, I'd rather stick to prose and my own imagination, but that's just me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovecraft Anthology, Vol. 2
Lovecraft Anthology, Vol. 2 by Warwick Johnson Cadwell (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews