Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why arn't all Moebius works printed Thus
This is a 300+ page full colour high quality hard back print of the incal, all 6 parts of the orignal Moebius and Jodorowsky work.

For those how know the incal, this is probably the definitive print so far, i expect when this is out of print it will sell on ebay for silly money.

For those who don't know. This is a scifi graphic novel part space opera...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by Jeremy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great artwork, lacks in storytelling
I am sorry, but I couldn't like "The Incal" as much as I wanted. Its art is what an epic space opera should be. Colossal scale but with attention to detail, really beautiful exotic environments with the necessary disregard of physics and it succeeded in immersing you in that degenarate galaxy. Being true to the sci-fi genre, it also dealed with pressing social subjects,...
Published 18 months ago by gbyron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why arn't all Moebius works printed Thus, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
This is a 300+ page full colour high quality hard back print of the incal, all 6 parts of the orignal Moebius and Jodorowsky work.

For those how know the incal, this is probably the definitive print so far, i expect when this is out of print it will sell on ebay for silly money.

For those who don't know. This is a scifi graphic novel part space opera part reality shifting madness. In setting it is not completely dissimilar to Dune. The story follows a PI flawed protagonist as he becomes in an adventure that takes him increasingly out of his depth and though loops of self doubt. During in his adventures there are political usurptions, riots, starship battles and suns being consumed, and escapes into strange dimensions etc. The story is full of colourful but not exceptionally deep characters. This is more of an event rather than character driven story but having said that some of the characters do grow and change and have developing relationships. The book is light hearted for the most part.

The artwork is exceptional. If you like sci fi landscapes, technology etc this is a visual treat dripping with vivid imagination.

The only warning i would put on this is that there are some sex sceens and nudity so this maynot be appropriate for minors.

I'm not a massive comic fan but i do rate this very highly and would put it next to Akira as my favourite work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!!, 11 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
I read about this in SFX magazine and decided pretty much instantly I needed to own a copy. I love comics and graphic novels and the SFX review was extremely positive but what really caught my eye was the beautiful artwork.
As usual I found a copy on Amazon for a great price and Im glad I got it.

Still relatively obscure in the UK, having only been published in France and sporadically in the UK, this really deserves to be a worldwide smash. Perhaps now is its time?!?

A true space opera in every sense, The Incal follows the (mis)adventures of reluctant hero John DiFool, a down on his luck private investigator, as he comes to be in possesion of the awesomely powerful Light Incal. A crystal sought by numerous other unsavoury characters who will do whatever they can to get their hands on it.

The Incal is a fantastic mindbending epic created by Alejandro Jodorowsky and wonderfully brought to vivid life by Moebius. It enthralled me from the first page and it was difficult to put down. A stunning, full colour hardback tome it will now sit proudly alongside Watchmen, From Hell, Maus et all on my bookshelf. I now plan to delve deeper into the "Jodoverse"

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Visual And Literal Assault On The Senses, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
For me, Moebius is a god.

Ever since i was a young boy i had been fascinated by his artwork. I was an avid reader of Asterix and Tin Tin at a young age, and it was around that time that i came upon an article in a magazine about Moebius. I remember being fascinated by it and the corresponding artwork with the article- it was then that the name of Moebius became forever imprinted in my mind. As a teenager i carried on reading comics, my tastes had varied by then and i was more interested in sci-fi literature and comics (not to mention films aswell). Two of my favourite films growing up were Blade Runner and Alien. After digging further i was surprised to see Moebius' name attached to both projects. Ridley Scott (an accomplished artist himself) was a big fan of the French artist and looking at the films you can clearly see his influence on them stylistically. The concept art he did for these films (especially Alien) was superb. My attempts at finding Moebius comics however proved futile due to the rarity of it and any i did come across were always in French.

Anyhow, fast forward many years later and finally someone had the decency to publish one of Moebius' famous works; The Incal. U.S publisher Humanoid released a hardback edition of The Incal, but on closer inspection it proved to be an unfaithful translation because some of the panels had been re-coloured, so it could be more 'palpable' to U.S readers, not to mention the censoring of nudity. Both these poor decisions in my view tatamounted to sacrilege. Would someone re-colour the Mona Lisa to make her appear more appealing? I very much doubt it. Then why the need for this I do not know. Thankfully readers in the U.K seem to have more sense because a more faithful translation was released by SelfMadeHero; with the colouring and nudity intact. And this is the version which i managed to purchase and had the previlage of reading.

To understand The Incal, first you have to understand a little about its writer Alejandro Jodorowsky. He came to prominence via his acid western El Topo and later, Holy Mountain. But his dream was to direct Frank Herbert's Dune. I say Frank Herbert's Dune but Jodorowsky's version was to be very different from the novel. He had gone so far as assembling all the artists (Moebius among them) and actors (i use the term loosely, afterall I doubt Pink Floyd or Salvador Dali had any acting credentials to go along with their main talents). But alas, due to financial collapse it was not meant to be. Jodorowsky was left devestated, almost everyone agree's that it would have been one hell of a film. But all was not lost; he decided to team up with his colleague Moebius and release his own version of Dune via the comic format. And thus, The Incal was born.

But how best to describe The Incal? It is very hard to put this masterwork into one category. I feel The Guardian newspaper summed it up perfectly; 'a dance on the edge of meaning and meaningless'[...] and i wholly agree. Like i said you cannot lump the work into one category- so dense is its story. It's like a dream, a journey, a song, a poem, an odyssey and at heart, a comedy. And my, what a journey it is too - unlike anything i had ever read before. Not forgetting awe-inspiring, bordering on the mindboggling moments; From sun devouring black eggs, a child who turns into a spaceship, giant Jellyfishes to John DiFool's intimate encounter with a mass of gloop and soonafter a meeting with the ultimate light - or god himself; The Incal is a visual and literal assault on the senses.

We first meet our protogonist, John DiFool in some 'trying' circumstances as he is dropped headfirst into 'Suicide Alley'. Slowly we backtrack to find how he came to be in this predicament. When we first meet him
John DiFool is quite unlikeable as a character. A class R detective, he is a coward who likes nothing more than drinking himself to a stupor and sleeping away his life with Homeo-whores ('replicant' hookers). But then he encounters The Incal; a mysterious object that beckons him to a higher calling in life. During the course of his journey he starts to realise how a decision which may seem insignificent comes to have a larger bearing on the galaxy. In tow is his ever faithful companion Deepo; a 'concrete seagull' who is the closest thing to a friend he has and provides the comics light reliefs. And on their trail; a wide array of dangerous and colourful characters from the wolf headed 'Kill Wolfhead', the 'Metabaron'; the greatest bounty hunter in the universe to the bird like alien race, the Berg's and the insane Clone Prince.

A journey which starts at the upper levels of the world soon descends into the very core of the planet, where we meet others along the way, such as Animah the Rat Queen. It is here, due to an impending attack by some mutants, Kill and the Metabaron, characters who are at first unfriendly to DiFool put their differences aside to help one another (one of the aspects i loved about this story), against much powerful foes such as the mutant hordes and the possessed Prince. But all these dangers seem trivial in comparison to The Darkness; an all consuming evil so great that only the power of The Incal stands in its way. And thus begins a journey through many worlds, space and time in an epic adventure quite unlike anything i had ever witnessed.

The story by Jodorowsky is no doubt the doorway to this intriguing world, but Moebius' artwork is the key which makes it all a possibility. No other artist at the time could've matched Jodorowsky's 'mind-warping' storytelling, but Moebius proved a perfect match; drawing the 'prophet's' visions down on parchments was like second nature. Each feeding one another ideas, until the collaboration bore this magnificent work, a work of breath taking artistry, vision and guile. Reading it i was left dumbstruck on several occasions, awed by Moebius' majestic artwork, seering itself into my brain. The level of his artistic miracle growing in strength page after page, panel after panel. Whether it be the details of every rubbish piece in the depth of DiFool's world, or the astonishing detail of the arena and its occupants in the Bergs' home planet, or the magnificent yet deadly water world, Vitavil H20, concealing a beautiful mystery at its depths - the comic is full of stunning moments which just takes the breath away.

Reading The Incal it is clear to see how its influence reaches far and wide. Filmmakers and artists have been influenced by it, most notably Luc Besson who was sued (unsuccessfully) by Jodorowsky for copying some of the ideas from the comic for his film, The Fifth Element. While i myself thought the similarities were very loose (other than the whole dark vs light storyline and some vehicle, costume and character design) you can still see Moebius' influence on the film, even the colour palette which is reminiscent of his comics. The Incal also reminded me of Brian K Vaughan's sci-fi series, Saga. Both having weird and wonderful characters and settings and even a few similarities between the character 'The Will', a fearsome bounty hunter who seems very close to The Metabaron of The Incal. Or even Brandon Graham's Prophet series seems like it is paying tribute to The Incal at times (e.g, Prophet's 'Vagina Chicken' encounter is evocative of DiFool's liasion with the Proto-Queen). What is clear and without question though, is that this comic has influenced so many people since it was released in 1981. But a word of caution; The Incal might not be catered for everyone's taste. There are moments when it does get very surreal especially midway through, and reading it can be tricky at times because of the way the speech bubbles (or boxes) are arranged, but if you can persevere and not rush it (which is key) - then the reward is one of the most enjoyable, memorable and enriching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, wacky, and sometimes wonderful, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
And often extremely strange.

But, and this is often overlooked, frequently funny and satirical. Jodorowsky the writer is also known as a maker of surreal blackly comic movies that are also extremely violent. The Incal, however, is Jodorowsky in a playful mood and were it not for the fact that the metaphysical aspects of this science fiction graphic novel seem to be played out with relative seriousness I'd be inclined to call The Incal a satire.

I can usually sit down and get through a graphic novel relatively quickly but, while enjoying it, I seemed only to be able to get through it about 10-20 pages at a time spread over a few weeks. This may be because I found myself not quite in sympathy with the fallible everyman protagonist (his name is appropriate) and the metaphysical or spiritual aspect of the thing. It has its moments, many of them but,while in part it deserves its reputation, I sometimes felt I was looking at the emperor's new clothes. Perhaps an introduction might have been useful.

As for the art, well it's by Moebius who is one of the greatest graphic story illustrators of the last 40 years. It's worth buying for the art alone and there should be more books by Moebius available. It is good but I feel as if I'm sitting on the fence somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi Paranoia, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Jodorowsky and Moebius- have created something that chimes along with Phillip K Dick's "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep" and his "Flow my Tears," in terms of imagination and richness. I have never been so engrossed in science fiction since I first came across Ballard and Dick when I was 18. Hard to believe this is a comic book. It is a great piece of writing and illustration. It complements Jodorowksy's films.

It has a great transcendental story; based on Jodorowsky's vision of bringing together the elements and seeking solace within fantastical realms. Deals with the appliance of violence in society, greed, avarice and elements of astromony. It also pulls together to analyse the pilfering of the innards, replete with resonating graphics also mixing intrigue, power, sex and paranoia in a future lit world.

If you have the time and the energy to look after it, this will create both pleasure and appreciate in cultural wealth over the years, when the realities it depicts gradually become the envisaged future, and then finally it will become the past.

Worth the knowledge it brings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventures with a concrete seagull, 13 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
There's no denying that this is an epic tale - a classic struggle between good and evil and all grey areas inbetween. There are clear parallels with Jodorowsky's 'Holy Mountain' (the lowlife as saviour, the power struggles, the psychedelic harmonising with the universe) and also his aborted take on Frank Herbert's 'Dune' with the labyrinthine heirarchy of various clans and special powers. The scope is enormous - from giant psychic jellyfish, evil sun-enveloping black eggs and seas of acid to an underground trash universe, a robotic president/assassin patched into the world's TV networks and a hermaphrodite emperor/ess. It really is an immense undertaking. Moebius' art is spectacular - the colours and movement of the human form are second to none.
However, for the uninitiated, like Jodorowsky's films, it is often easier to admire than love. I found my initial attachment to antihero John Difool deteriorated slightly through the tale as he developed into more of a superbeing and the arc of the story became more intergalactic in scale rather than the trials and tribulations of a reluctant hero.

These are minor niggles though for what is a wildly entertaining and immersive read and is so beautifully presented in a hefty hardback tome. Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Version of a Great Comic, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
There's little point in summarising the story, really - suffice to say that there are good reasons as to why this is a classic - but what should be noted that this edition, unlike the DC/Humanoids one of a few years ago which had horrible muddy colouring that obscured Moebius' delicate line work when it didn't censor it outright to cater for prudish American tastes, has the original line art with colouring that reflects Moebius' original, strange and clear colours. And it's a lovely, tasteful hardback package. Seriously, this is the best English language edition there has ever been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sprawling and immersive Sci-fi epic, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Moebius's art is ridiculously good. Detailed, stylised, realistic and transcendently imaginative. Amazing characters, cities, vehicles and fantastic worlds fill the 316 pages.

Jodorowsky's plotting is clever, bizarre funny and more comprehensible than a flick through the pages would suggest.

This is an expensive book, but beautifully coloured and printed. You even get a page-marker ribbon.I know I'll be re-reading this one a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 5 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Firstly, I'd like to apologise if this review sounds like total gibberish. I've just finished this book and had to take the time to review it. This work has affected me on a much deeper level than anything I've read in a long time. Wow! Just wow!

(Heavy Spoilers)

Wow. Wow. Wow.

At first, I thought this book was a crazy, trippy sci-fi adventure. And while it is that, it's so, so much more.

We start this story with our main character, John DiFool, coming into possession of the White Incal. It appears that everyone wants it because of the power it has. The next few chapters have him running from those who seek to possess the Incal.

The white Incal has an opposite - the black Incal, and when the two come together, they create an almighty, omnipotent entity that guides the main characters through the story. They create God, Allah (insert deity here). The unification of the black and white Incal is everything. Together they are the highest consciousness.

During the story, a darkness is spreading and the main characters are driven to fight it. There are seven main characters in total, but the POV character is the everyman John DiFool.

As the darkness spreads, it turns out that the only way to survive is for humanity to come together as one. To evolve into a collective consciousness. The way humanity can do this is to fall into a meditative state called the Theta Dream. With only 22 days to make it happen, John DiFool tries to escape and sate his base human desires for sex and intoxication, but his destiny is greater than that. Humanity's destiny is greater than that.

It's John who's tasked with going to a planet of 87 billion humans, that he spawned, to convince them to enter the Theta Dream. He's met with the scepticism of those detached from their own spirituality, possibly a representation of society as it is now. But he eventually persuades them.

Once the humans enter this meditative state, we see the seven main characters move to a higher spiritual plain that takes them into the darkness. Behind it is light. All of the characters, other than John, embrace the light and become one with it. Letting go of their temporary physical forms and giving themselves over to the eternal. They understand that their physical manifestation is not who they are. They see how interconnected everything is. John is the only one that resists. I see John as a representation of humanity, holding onto the physicality of his being through fear of losing his individuality, while the others see that loss of individuality as freedom. As evolution.

John meets with God and we see God reborn and returned as a baby. The representation of a new universe born out of the destruction of an old one. John is then sent back to earth with the order to remember his meeting with God. His higher purpose. To remember what humanity is capable of and where we will inevitably go.

I once heard the story of Adam and Eve described as humanity falling from their higher spiritual purpose. As Eve's eating of the forbidden fruit representing humanity succumbing to material and base desires rather than higher spiritual ones. Reading The Incal made me think of this interpretation. John DiFool is humanity out of touch with spirituality. John DiFool is Adam. The story in the Incal is one of human evolution. Of our inevitable evolution. Our inevitable awakening.

This book blew my mind. My only criticism is that it will make so many other works feel empty by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Incal, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
One of the greatest stories I've ever read. On a par with Lord of the Rings, but futuristic. Fantastic characters, imaginative worlds. If Tolkein had, had Moebius,(RIP),for an artist the result would have been mind blowing. The plot is awesome and the anti-hero John Difool is ----- You'll just have to read it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incal
The Incal by Alejandro Jodorowsky (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: 132.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews