Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tyranny is just around the corner, 5 Oct 2014
By 
Brian Pickering "bpick" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demise of the Free State: Why British Democracy and the EU Don't Mix (Paperback)
If you want to know we should have nothing to with the gentlemen of the Brussels nomenklatura, read this. The EU is an employment bureau for the aspiring tyrants of Europe who would be derided bya democratic nation. It is the explanation of how the union works that we should have had with the Maastricht announcement. What they mean by union will keep you awake nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful reminder of UK's democratic tradition, 15 April 2014
This review is from: The Demise of the Free State: Why British Democracy and the EU Don't Mix (Paperback)
To listen to the debate about the EU these days you might think it all comes down to jobs and GDP. Quite apart from the fact that the UK would have a far more competitive economy outside the EU, however, there are greater considerations which we risk losing sight of at the moment.
That is why David Green's clear-sighted analysis is so valuable. He reminds us that whatever the economic advantages might or might not be, we must not let go of the democratic system we've developed over so many centuries. It may not be perfect, of course, but we do have a model which forces our politicians to always watch that they acting in the best interests of voters. The same cannot be said for the European Commission or the pork barrel politics of the Council of Ministers. (Labour's John Mills, in an introduction, makes the point too that it is this lack of democratic accountability which has led to a series of economic calamities by the EU, not least the euro.)
It is not a long book, but it compresses a huge amount of learning and distils powerfully why Britain cannot carry on down the EU path. Well written, tightly argued and very persuasive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The EU is a growing threat to British democracy - but not the only one, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you would expect from David Green, this book offers a well-argued case for the essential differences, with much emphasis on law, between 'Britain' and the EU. He really means between 'English' democracy and the EU, however, as Scotland and England have always had different legal systems, something which is not explained. Scottish law derives from Roman law, although Scotland was never part of the Roman empire, while English law derives from Anglo-Saxon customary law. Also, like many British Eurosceptics, Green passes quickly over the obvious fact that the UK is precisely the kind of state at the EU aspires to become, that is a Union state in which the individual nations are submerged. Since the devolution Acts from 1998, Scotland and Wales have surfaced, nationally, while England still lurks beneath, like a whale that no-one knows how to deal with. The 'free state' is a valuable concept but it requires an engaged citizenry to support it. Britain's current political system instead encourages only apathy. We have what Jack Straw called a 'representative dictatorship' and Graham Allen (Labour MP) calls 'executive sovereignty'. Allen calls for a 'revolt of the shires', that each county (or 'region' as he might prefer) should start taking back control from Westminster, making alliances as necessary with other local centres. Unfortunately, the English are no more impressed with local than they are with central government - because both prefer to starve the people of free democratic choices. In other words, we in England need to put our own house in order before pinning the blame for our troubles on the EU, and that means that Englands a national focus, its own Parliament or at the very least a 'parliament with Parliament' at Westminster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freedom please, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found the book an excellent as an essay of what we have lost.Unfortunately I was conned in the 70's it was all lies ,and I don't think Cameron will give us a referendum in 2017 even if elected, so I will still vote UKIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clearly and persuasively written, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demise of the Free State: Why British Democracy and the EU Don't Mix (Paperback)
The small book traced a clear trail back in history, showing clearly the differentiation between British and European constitutional systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 8 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book should be enforced reading for all politicians in this country. Please bare with the dry history at the start, because the conclusion is worth reaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demise of the Free State: Why British Democracy and the EU Don't Mix (Paperback)
Excellent book. Everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demise of the Free State: Why British Democracy and the EU Don't Mix (Paperback)
Every uk citizen should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Demise of the Free State: Why British Democracy and the EU Don't Mix
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews