Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2011
What a dam good read, if you're a biker a traveler are like me just somebody who likes a good read, this book is for you. It gives a great insite into the different cultures of South America, it will make you laugh (Santa's Elves) it will scare you in parts, it may even restore your faith in human nature ( with stories of the generosity of the South American people, not to mention the Dutch woman).This book is a true adventure story, these guys did it all on there own, you guys had some bottle....and Steve you tell a bloody good story.....i almost felt like i was there.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Fantastic read, it made me laugh, it made me think, it made me want to travel there myself (on the back of one of my boyfriend's bikes). Going to Cambodia at Christmas and am taking it to read again. It's a great adventure story told brilliantly by Steve - where are you planning next and let me know if you write another.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Fantastic book. This is an amazing read about an incredible journey on a shoestring. It made me weep with laughter at times and at other times kept me on the edge of my seat waiting to see how things turned out. Steve has an amazing way with words and you really feel as if you are in the journey with him. A great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
If you only read one motorcycle adventure book make sure it's this one.
Not only is it well written, but it's also funny and educational.
I read 7 motorcycle trip style books while having a lazy beach holiday in the Dominican Republic and this was the only one that was worth 5 stars.
The title did not grab me at first but once you start reading you will not want to put it down until you find out how far Steve and Pete got following Che and Alberto's journey.
Lots of personal and touching insights into the real side of Latin American countries but punctuated with just the right degree of humour.
Read it, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
What a fantastic read..I thought this book was gripping and full of adventure..the author has a great sense of humour which comes out in the book..A great true story with the ups and downs through every bit of there journey. With every page, paragraph and chapter i felt i was there with them. Simply great!! Lisa
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
Took this book on holiday recently but had to wait til the end of the second week as everyone kept 'borrowing' it to read themselves. Well worth the wait though. A cracking tale of heroism and idiocy as Steve and his mate Pete follow in the footsteps (motorcycle tracks?)of Che Guevara and his friend, Alberto Granado ,on a trip of a lifetime round South America. For no apparent reason they decide to do it on the same make and model bikes that Che had used in 1952 , although as the author points out, when Che did it his bike was only 13 years old, by the time Steve and Pete do it they are 50 years older.
The bikes are the real stars of the book as, despite the fact that they are obviously not up to such a long and arduous journey (something falls off or needs repairing on nearly every page!) they never fail to draw admiring looks and comments from everyone who meets them.The fact that they were repeating Che Guevara's classic journey also strikes a chord with many in Latin America where he is still regarded as a folk hero.
The other star of the story is Steve Holmes himself who, despite may setbacks and disasters, is constantly able to marvel at the beauty of his surroundings as he rides through them. His engaging personality also allows him to connect with the peope he meets along the way, adding personal warmth to this marvellous story.He also eats a lot of chicken and chips and drinks a lot of beer
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
This is an excellent read. A must for any one doing visits to any of these counries on the cheap. Particularly if you want to get alongside the local inhabitants.
This is an account of how it really is. The book says the counries are well worth visiting. There appears to be little danger if you use your initiative and common sense. Listen to the local advice. These men made an amaizing excursion on two pre-war British 500cc Norton Motor cycles. Strategically they had a tour plan and stuck to it.
All credit to the two men who undertook and then wrote about their adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Loved every page of this book. Unable to put it down at times as I was taken on every mile with the writer (Steve)and his companion Pete's epic journey through South America. The trials and tribulations these two guys encountered along the way was gripping, humorous, honest, factual and a truly eventful trip following Che Guevara and Alberto Granado's jounrney. i was enlightened and touched by the moving accounts and stories Steve captured from the numerous friendly locals they met along the way. From bike malfunctions, to crossing various countries borders without the knowing of what was happening next. The description of each countries journey and amazing scenery could be visualized as you read each page. I'm not a biker nor am I 'world' traveller, but with this book you don't need to be, your there on every page with these guys. Reading about the countries they travelled and the people they met, this book dispells a lot of stereotypes. I would without doubt recommend this book to anyone for a truly enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
A brilliant book. They must have been mad to ride up thru South America on two old Nortons,following the trip Che Guervara did,totally crazy but they did it!
A trip not without problems with the bikes en route, but that is part of the adventure, part of being a biker.
This book from the first page had me hooked, definitely a really good read for bikers and travellers alike.
A book I read over a few days, very hard to put down, it was such a cracking good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
i cannot say how much i enjoyed this book i just could not put it down,if you want to read a first class motorcycle adventure then this is one book to read, worst part of the book..........when i finished the last page,a must read book for all bikers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)