Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Emotionally Intelligent Project Manager
I really enjoyed the anecdotes and historical references in this book - and especially identified with Peter's experiences in starting out on projects as a brand new PM, along with the subsequent trials and tribulations of engaging key stakeholders and managing the dynamics of the team(s) in getting to work and over the hump of the project.

My take on it,...
Published on 14 Dec. 2009 by Matthew Miller

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lazy read
Although it brings up some interesting points, much of which is unquestionably accurate, there is actually very little substance that a reasonbly accomplished project manager would not already know and would almost certainly be implementing.
The style of writing is easy on the brain requiring little thought. I quite enjoyed reading the book but felt that it was...
Published on 18 Mar. 2010 by S. V. Mudge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Emotionally Intelligent Project Manager, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Matthew Miller "The PM's Friend" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed the anecdotes and historical references in this book - and especially identified with Peter's experiences in starting out on projects as a brand new PM, along with the subsequent trials and tribulations of engaging key stakeholders and managing the dynamics of the team(s) in getting to work and over the hump of the project.

My take on it, though, is that the book is more about the realistic and emotionally intelligent project manager - and their ability to manage stakeholders and teams - as much as it is to do with knowing the detailed practice of being a PM or assuring delivery. Peter does not hide this latter fact in the book however - which is good. He says in the Introduction that the cold, hard (and dry!) theory is well documented elsewhere for those to discover and swat up on - along with all those wonderful acronyms and terms to learn like "management product" or "deliverable", "PID" or "Project Charter" and so on (except Peter uses the PMP terms, coz that clearly is the methodology he has been trained in). So, in referring to such things, clearly he knows a detailed and structured way to go about it and could teach us on it (if he really, really wanted to) - but he just does not want to tie us up in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the title, 31 Aug. 2009
By 
A. Peel "Andrew Peel" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author is far from lazy but what he is putting out here is a common sense approach to Project Management that focuses on people and not form filling. My copy has already caused a 'buzz' amongst my PM colleagues, I would say it should be mandatory reading for any Manager who has to work in a project based way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why you need to be bright but lazy to suceed.., 8 Mar. 2010
By 
If you are new to project management and are looking for books to broaden your knowledge you would be forgiven for thinking that project management is a huge and deeply complex subject. If you are responsible for the next Eurofighter or the 2012 Olympics then you'd be right, however, the majority of us are working on projects of less than 15 people that are under a year long.

This book gets right back to basics in a entertaining yet poignant way to set out the key approaches to successful project management. These have nothing to do with Gantt Charts, probabilistic risk based scheduling, IT systems, Earned value, etc., but everything to do with making sure you focus on the people involved on your project, that you clearly lead from the front, and that you do your homework thoroughly and early so that once your project is shooting along at full speed you are in a position where you can be productively lazy i.e. have time to take the long view over project progress and issues arising, ensuring the best outcome for the stakeholders, and depend on your team to resolve the tactical problems.

It doesn't mean your projects won't have plenty of crisis, but it does mean you will be best placed to deal with them. It's all about people and communicating with them - whatever anyone else tells you!

Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relax, laziness works, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. Karl S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The lazy project manager is a definitive life guide to managing Projects. The book is not a complete or detailed PM manual, but covers the Process elements of Project management and elaborates upon the process by augmenting it with common sense considerations from the authors own extensive experience in Project Management. This book must be considered a valuable guide for all Project Managers regardless of their experience in the Practise and should be viewed a valuable navigation tool that will assist them in steering their projects safely through to a successful outcome.
The book is written as an easy to read guide, that doesn't only focus on Project Management processes as so many a Project Management Book does, but it combines the Process Elements with real life does and don'ts and considers the life of the project team and advises on how this can be improved by the common sense approach laid out in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 1 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early (Paperback)
There are a plethora of project management books available in a variety of styles ranging from engaging and actionable to handy ballast for a hot air balloon. This one falls firmly into the former category. It's obvious that the author knows his stuff; indeed you have to be good to really know how to "bend the rules" (think Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' goal in '86). But what sets the Lazy Project Manager apart is its focus on the human aspect of the role of project management, in particular the idea that humour and enjoyment are to be welcomed and that the "Funfinder General" has no place in a modern working environment....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read that gives great insight, 30 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. O'neill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Now, if any one has listened to Peter Taylor's pod casts, you'll know how, well, sensitive he can be to these reviews! For those that have not listened to them - tune in, they are pretty good when he can be bothered to get out of his comfy chair and do them!
Now, the book, the best [] quid i have spent i would say. I knew the book was not going to be all about PM theory so i was prepared for that, and i was keen to know how to be more productively lazy, but what i was not prepared for were the words of wisdom when it came to leading teams, managing stakeholders and managing sponsors - very valuable. It is always good to hear stories from those at the top of their game as it makes you feel 'normal' and there are several of these stories but all have a lesson with in them and not just for the sake of filling a few pages.

All in all, a cracking read, and i defy you not to put some, if not all of the suggestions into practice - they work wonders - enjoy

Not sure about trying to cash in further by creating an e-learning experience though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regain perspective in a short space of time, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early (Paperback)
This book is a quick read and brings some humour and perspective to Project Managers who may be struggling to find time in their busy day to day lives. The word lazy is somewhat tongue in cheek and could basically be replaced with "effective" i.e. how to become a more effective PM. The name of the game here is being able to filter, prioritise and delegate your work/time. It contains some historical references and humorous anecdotes which makes it more accessible and easier to read than other heavyweight/official PM guides. To this extent it does offer an element of light relief if you are close to burnout or suffering from a lot of pressure, again helping PM's regain an element of perspective.

In summary, it's OK as a light read but I would ultimately recommend 7 habits of highly effective people by Covey as a more comprehensive/complete work in this sort of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars basic reminders of what works if you are a PM, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
Marcus Pol "Polly" (Wellington, NEW ZEALAND New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early (Paperback)
It is sometimes the shorter to the point books that spell out in clear text why and what you do for a living.

This is a good book because you can read on the bus or the train and just get that bit of inspiration about why you are a project manager, forget the theory and process, yes they count to some degree in the application within any organisation and all that but this is a insight of experience, I ,still get caught up in the politics and process and forget to be lazy! apply the effort where the real value lies do the basics and follow time honoured human interactions and remind us to massage/deal with the rest, the noise.

This is about WHY a PM does stuff to be effective, not what and how do do it, because that is less important, why are you here and what is your goal.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 7 Feb. 2011
By 
Susan "Susan" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable light read with some valid points. Sometimes you want more detail of quite how to achieve some of these things. Now it would have been clever for Amazon to then have ready some books by Peter Taylor that do go into that level of detail. Unfortunately not another Peter Taylor book is listed under Kindle and here am I ready to actually spend some money...

Dear Amazon, please get your marketing sorted out. If you are offering good books for nothing then you should have others ready to sell as a follow-up profit making line. Until this particular book the only new, free Kindle publications I have found have been pure dross, not inspiring me to spend any money at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lazy read, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
S. V. Mudge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although it brings up some interesting points, much of which is unquestionably accurate, there is actually very little substance that a reasonbly accomplished project manager would not already know and would almost certainly be implementing.
The style of writing is easy on the brain requiring little thought. I quite enjoyed reading the book but felt that it was ultimately not that insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews