Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Emotionally Intelligent Project Manager
I really enjoyed the anecdotes and historical references in this book - and especially identified with Peter's experiences in starting out on projects as a brand new PM, along with the subsequent trials and tribulations of engaging key stakeholders and managing the dynamics of the team(s) in getting to work and over the hump of the project.

My take on it,...
Published on 14 Dec 2009 by Matthew Miller

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lazy read
Although it brings up some interesting points, much of which is unquestionably accurate, there is actually very little substance that a reasonbly accomplished project manager would not already know and would almost certainly be implementing.
The style of writing is easy on the brain requiring little thought. I quite enjoyed reading the book but felt that it was...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by S. V. Mudge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Emotionally Intelligent Project Manager, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Matthew Miller "The PM's Friend" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed the anecdotes and historical references in this book - and especially identified with Peter's experiences in starting out on projects as a brand new PM, along with the subsequent trials and tribulations of engaging key stakeholders and managing the dynamics of the team(s) in getting to work and over the hump of the project.

My take on it, though, is that the book is more about the realistic and emotionally intelligent project manager - and their ability to manage stakeholders and teams - as much as it is to do with knowing the detailed practice of being a PM or assuring delivery. Peter does not hide this latter fact in the book however - which is good. He says in the Introduction that the cold, hard (and dry!) theory is well documented elsewhere for those to discover and swat up on - along with all those wonderful acronyms and terms to learn like "management product" or "deliverable", "PID" or "Project Charter" and so on (except Peter uses the PMP terms, coz that clearly is the methodology he has been trained in). So, in referring to such things, clearly he knows a detailed and structured way to go about it and could teach us on it (if he really, really wanted to) - but he just does not want to tie us up in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the title, 31 Aug 2009
By 
A. Peel "Andrew Peel" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author is far from lazy but what he is putting out here is a common sense approach to Project Management that focuses on people and not form filling. My copy has already caused a 'buzz' amongst my PM colleagues, I would say it should be mandatory reading for any Manager who has to work in a project based way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lazy read, 18 Mar 2010
By 
S. V. Mudge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although it brings up some interesting points, much of which is unquestionably accurate, there is actually very little substance that a reasonbly accomplished project manager would not already know and would almost certainly be implementing.
The style of writing is easy on the brain requiring little thought. I quite enjoyed reading the book but felt that it was ultimately not that insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why you need to be bright but lazy to suceed.., 8 Mar 2010
By 
If you are new to project management and are looking for books to broaden your knowledge you would be forgiven for thinking that project management is a huge and deeply complex subject. If you are responsible for the next Eurofighter or the 2012 Olympics then you'd be right, however, the majority of us are working on projects of less than 15 people that are under a year long.

This book gets right back to basics in a entertaining yet poignant way to set out the key approaches to successful project management. These have nothing to do with Gantt Charts, probabilistic risk based scheduling, IT systems, Earned value, etc., but everything to do with making sure you focus on the people involved on your project, that you clearly lead from the front, and that you do your homework thoroughly and early so that once your project is shooting along at full speed you are in a position where you can be productively lazy i.e. have time to take the long view over project progress and issues arising, ensuring the best outcome for the stakeholders, and depend on your team to resolve the tactical problems.

It doesn't mean your projects won't have plenty of crisis, but it does mean you will be best placed to deal with them. It's all about people and communicating with them - whatever anyone else tells you!

Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early (Paperback)
There are a plethora of project management books available in a variety of styles ranging from engaging and actionable to handy ballast for a hot air balloon. This one falls firmly into the former category. It's obvious that the author knows his stuff; indeed you have to be good to really know how to "bend the rules" (think Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' goal in '86). But what sets the Lazy Project Manager apart is its focus on the human aspect of the role of project management, in particular the idea that humour and enjoyment are to be welcomed and that the "Funfinder General" has no place in a modern working environment....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relax, laziness works, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Karl S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The lazy project manager is a definitive life guide to managing Projects. The book is not a complete or detailed PM manual, but covers the Process elements of Project management and elaborates upon the process by augmenting it with common sense considerations from the authors own extensive experience in Project Management. This book must be considered a valuable guide for all Project Managers regardless of their experience in the Practise and should be viewed a valuable navigation tool that will assist them in steering their projects safely through to a successful outcome.
The book is written as an easy to read guide, that doesn't only focus on Project Management processes as so many a Project Management Book does, but it combines the Process Elements with real life does and don'ts and considers the life of the project team and advises on how this can be improved by the common sense approach laid out in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice easy read with interesting ideas, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book really easy to ready. Not all ideas were new ideas, but it was still interesting to read things from a different perspective and the anecdotes were great.

I recommend this book for all project managers, new or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regain perspective in a short space of time, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early (Paperback)
This book is a quick read and brings some humour and perspective to Project Managers who may be struggling to find time in their busy day to day lives. The word lazy is somewhat tongue in cheek and could basically be replaced with "effective" i.e. how to become a more effective PM. The name of the game here is being able to filter, prioritise and delegate your work/time. It contains some historical references and humorous anecdotes which makes it more accessible and easier to read than other heavyweight/official PM guides. To this extent it does offer an element of light relief if you are close to burnout or suffering from a lot of pressure, again helping PM's regain an element of perspective.

In summary, it's OK as a light read but I would ultimately recommend 7 habits of highly effective people by Covey as a more comprehensive/complete work in this sort of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful book to read, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book as it was useful when I was a project manager at uni. Its about how to work productively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of a great book the Lazy Project Manager, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early (Paperback)
After reading this great book I felt obligated to share my thoughts. The book itself is thought provoking and forces you to recognise that you can achieve many things in a day by remaining focused and not loosing direction. Too often when in pressurised environments its all too easy to panic. This book will help you to see things in a different perspective. Perhaps the title is misleading but don't be fooled - this is a great buy and will help you to be a successful and productive Project Manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lazy Project Manager: How to be twice as productive and still leave the office early
10.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews