Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first graphic novel!
I got my first Classics Illustrated copy of 'The War of the Worlds' when I was six years old, in the 1960's. At the time, I considered it to be a 'comic book', but in modern terms it is a graphic novel in the truest sense of the word. The narrative is lifted directly from the original book and I remember struggling with some of the words at age six. At any rate, I'm...
Published on 13 Sep 2010 by Richard

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A comic!
Thought I was buying the classic novel by H G Wells......what I received was a comic! However, full refund offered by Amazon.
Published 14 months ago by Steveosnapper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first graphic novel!, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
I got my first Classics Illustrated copy of 'The War of the Worlds' when I was six years old, in the 1960's. At the time, I considered it to be a 'comic book', but in modern terms it is a graphic novel in the truest sense of the word. The narrative is lifted directly from the original book and I remember struggling with some of the words at age six. At any rate, I'm sure I was captivated by the amazing artwork.

Everything in this reprint is exactly as I remember. Well, not exactly -- the paper stock is better and the colors are deeper and more vivid. I reread the original 'War of the Worlds' a couple of years ago. This Classics Illustrated version does a surprisingly effective job of capturing the essence of Wells' book. Although I purchased this strictly for the nostalgia, this is a wonderfully executed graphic novel that stands on it's own merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics for the kids., 12 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
Our young nephew is a real Sci-Fi enthusiast.
I tried to get him to read The war of the world in its original form but he found it a bit "heavy going".
I bought this for him and he read it in an afternoon.
Lovely illustrations, well written, He loved it.
This series of books is an ideal way to introduce kids to quality literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to War of the Worlds, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my nine year old son who has a reading level of two years older. I wanted to introduce him to War of the Worlds and I felt this graphic novel style book would be the best option - I was not disappointed. My son loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT INTRODUCTION TO THE CLASSICS!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
Great book to introduce younger children to a classic. Really got the children's imaginations and creative skill going. I would recommend this for teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars war of the worlds illustrated, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
The kuds are well into War of the Worlds so brought them this as their first book and it went down really well. Excellent well presented good quality. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A diiferent War., 17 Dec 2012
By 
B. Crossland "Bazza" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
Long before Jeff Wayne's musical Martian take over bid, there was this, the Classics version.
I first picked it up from a bookstall at Eccles station in 1959, I was 11 and had shied away from reading anything remotely resembling a 'classic'. I regularly read the Eagle and Dan Dare.
The cover hooked me first I think. Tripod monsters from space in bright colours invading earth, and almost setting up shop here until they caught the flu'.
I wouldn't say it launched me into a life of reading fiction, but it was an introduction into the wonderful world of books.
Within a year I'd bought the full length H G Wells book, then 'The Time Machine' .
I'm always reading, in the bath, whilst half watching dreadful day time 'tele', just anywhere, and maybe I owe it all to this brilliantly produced comic.
It's new re-emergence is much as I remember it, a little smaller, or am I a little larger?
Hey all you nostalgists, go and buy this and read behind the bike sheds, with a 'Woody' hidden in your fist.
Go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "...this world was being watched keenly and closely...", 9 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
We are in 1898 England. Yep we see something happening on the surface of Mars. Later what looks like a meteor comes to earth. Once we realize the significant of the situation (or think we do) Different people approach the situation in different ways. The true story is how the different people meet the situation.

Many people want to equate this story with real potential invasions others as the bad guys vs. the good guys. However from the very first we see that they are the greater (more evolved) intelligence and we are the equivalent of vermin or the ants that are being held under the magnifying glass. From our point of view they seem like cruel creatures, from theirs is indifference. Their way of consuming nourishment is appalling yet look at what and how we eat.

The writing its self is of the time in which Wells lived so the descriptions of our world may seem a little alien to today's younger readers. However, the suspense is still there and the story will hold their attention.

Do not miss the 1953 movie. Even thought it adds more religious overtones it is still pretty much the same story with similar characters. Of course, this one names the narrator and adds a love interest.

The War of the Worlds (Special Collector's Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool read!, 22 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
A series not to be missed! I remember these from my youth and am delighted to see them hitting the shelves once more - now enhanced to fabulous quality! I do hope they re-issue some of the old favourites - Ben-Hur, Don Quixote, Robinson Crusoe...too many to mention! Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 8 Feb 2009
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
A fantastic representation of one of the true sci-fi classics! Brilliantly drawn with vivid colours and adapted to suit the younger audience. A great way of getting the kids interested in true literature...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 15 Jan 2009
By 
M. P. Baldock "Book Bully" (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) (Paperback)
This is a fab version of a great book. My sister has seen my copy and is presently trying to convince the Headmaster at her Swiss foreign student school to use them next year! Also my 2 young nephews are presently enthrawled and loving it. Who'd have thought they would love HG Wells?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated)
The War of the Worlds (Classics Illustrated) by H. G. Wells (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
4.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews