Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars8
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2015
I wish this book had gone beyond the matey back-slapping "it was a mans game in our day" space. There was so much I was hoping for: insight into how Robert Maxwell was like as a chairman and if the players knew he was a crook even then; what he thought of being treated like nothing once Rush came back; his success in Spain as a proper trailblazer. I always thought he was a better striker than Rush, adapted better abroad than Rush ever did and wish the book had risen above the intended audience. Aldridge is a well rounded individual, contemporary footballers could learn a lot from him. Aldo, please write another book,this time with another ghost writer but one from your heart.I'm not even a reds fan (luton town for my sins) but even I can appreciate what a centre forward this man was-awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Great read and some right laughs ....some good insights too into other footballers/managers and the football world in general
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
Brilliant funny and informative book. Got mine signed by the man himself at a sportsman's evening. He's a top bloke. Buy now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is a great book with the addition of it being signed by the author arrived quickly and well packaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
THIS BOOK BY JOHN ALDRIDGE IS WRITTEN HOW HE PLAYED HIS FOOTBALL FAIR HONEST AND WITH LOTS OF HUMOUR.

JOHN RECALLS HIS TIME WITH LFC AND IRELAND AS WELL AS REAL SOCIEDAD HE RECALLS ALL THIS WITH TYPICAL SELF DEPRECIATING SCOUSE HUMOUR.

HE GIVES HIS HONEST OPINION ON ALL TOPICS OF THE GAME BOTH ON AND OFF THE FIELD

A BRILLIANT READ FOR ANY AVID FOOTIE FAN
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I've recommended this book to friends and not one of them has been able to finish it. This is because Aldo tells the same stories on a loop over and over again, with no narrative holding it together. He does have a few points to make though.. 1.That he would love nothing more than the chance to celebrate scoring a goal by kicking a member of the crowd in the face. 2.That he should be one of the most celebrated strikers in football history but no one cares about him. That's about it but the second point comes up again and again. If you want to read the incoherent ramblings of a bitter man buy this right now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
Alright Aldo: On the Road with Everybody's Favourite Irish Scouser
Excellent book from the master himself, John Aldridge, can't wait to see if he writes a follow up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
This is possibly the worst football book i've ever opened. Absolute rubbish from beginning to end. The book is as if it's written by a 3 year old - a series of rambling, childish, instantly forgettable nonsense. That's 3 hours of my life i'll never get back.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)