Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
This book arrive3d on time and was an excellent read. Another different slant on Davis Niven's life. He was a gentleman to the end.
Published 8 months ago by Pendlewitch

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a disgrace
Entire passages lifted from Graham Lord's 'Niv'. A lucid deathbed confession? This is an appalling book. Michael Munn, with his unprecedented 'access' to so many stars, despite having been nothing more than an extra on a few movies, should be ashamed of himself.

I don't believe that he recorded interviews with David Niven. Personally I think this book is a...
Published on 1 Aug 2009 by Zloty Harbinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a disgrace, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Entire passages lifted from Graham Lord's 'Niv'. A lucid deathbed confession? This is an appalling book. Michael Munn, with his unprecedented 'access' to so many stars, despite having been nothing more than an extra on a few movies, should be ashamed of himself.

I don't believe that he recorded interviews with David Niven. Personally I think this book is a compilation of plagiarised text, half-truths and outright lies and makes a mockery of the life of a flawed, but ultimately decent and kind-hearted gentleman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars USEFUL FOR PROPPING UP A TABLE, 7 April 2012
I often had to stop reading this book and check the front cover to see who it was meant to be about! It comes over as the author simply saying ad nauseum `Look at all the famous people I have known!'

It is written in a peculiar lumpy style which makes reading it very hard if not impossible. Some of it reads just like a very bad script.

"Stewart Granger said............... and then Gregory Peck said............ and then James Stewart said.................."

A total ego trip for the author who really enjoys dropping names like confetti at a cheap wedding.

The most disgraceful part was the very last line in the book is all about him and not David Niven!

Personally I think this is a very poor offering and one that really did not have to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ....to be taken with a pinch of salt., 9 July 2009
Sadly this 'biography' somehow doesn`t ring true. There seems to be an attempt at sensationalism and salaciousness that is unworthy of an 'author' and unfair to the subject, albeit now departed.

Further investigation shows that surviving friends and family claim many allegations to be total nonsense. This author has had the same criticism with other biographies of celebrities, who are not around to rebutt.

In this day and age it`s worth looking in to the reputation of authors before parting with hard earned cash !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check carefully - one star for cheek, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before you buy, please form an opinion of the author. A British journalist called Tim Adams wrote a very witty article about him in The Guardian/Observer newspaper that you can still find online which charts the strange pattern of accidental friendships that Munn seems to have created with a very long line of Hollywood's Greatest. Caveat Emptor and God Bless David Niven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. M. Kirby "Dick Kirby" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Paperback)
I admired David Niven as being a great screen presence and when he wrote `The Moon's a Balloon' I thought it was terrific. He was one of those people - and there's not many of them - who successfully made the transition from raconteur to author.

Graham Lord wrote a very good account of Niven's life, as well, as did Sheridan Morley but Michael Munn, in my opinion, has not.

Quite frankly, it is unbelievable, with the most salacious comments reserved for people who are now dead. Having read this book, I was astonished that the author had not entitled it `Me and my mate, Dave'. Much of the alleged conversations were between author and subject; there's a perpetual `I said', `He said', the vast majority of which simply does not ring true and the theological passages were so nauseating, they made me want to throw up.

I started by saying that Niven was a great screen presence and it's true - he was also a very interesting man, with a man's failings. Let's remember him from those other books - not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Paperback)
This book arrive3d on time and was an excellent read. Another different slant on Davis Niven's life. He was a gentleman to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars behind the balloon, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Paperback)
You need to read 'The Moon's a Balloon' before this book, also 'Bring on the Empty Horses' if possible. This book then tells what claims to be the whole truth, it is very readable and puts more flesh on the bones of the autobiogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new view, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Paperback)
If you've read " The moons a balloon " then you should read this. A more in depth view of David Niven and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, sort of..., 16 Jun 2010
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Paperback)
I read some of the content and like some of the other reviewers, feel that I have read it elsewhere but given that, I can't wait to read (hopefully..)the book on how possibly the author teams up with Errol Flynn and gets an insight into his acting and other social working skills but bearing in mind Mr Flynn died in October 1959 and the author was born in 1952, it should not prove too much of an handicap based on this effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Niven - the man behind the balloon, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. Tina Muttock (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Paperback)
Very enjoyable. I am just over three quarters the way through this book. Have never read either of David Niven's 2 books, but would like to now to make a comparison between his take on his life (which apparently should be taken with a pinch of salt as he was an entertaining but not always truthful story teller)& Michael Munn's version of events taken from interviews he did with David Niven prior to his death & his friends after his death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon
David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon by Michael Munn (Paperback - 25 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews