Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Week Looked Good On Paper
A sizeable chunk of my cd collection is taken up by albums involving Pete Brown and his Battered Ornaments/Piblokto,Jack Bruce,Graham Bond,Viv Stanshall and Dick Heckstall Smith in one guise or another and also my first proper gig was seeing Pete Brown and Piblokto ( Aeroplane Head Woman and all ) in the dark ambience of a club called Henrys Blueshouse in Birmingham in...
Published on 25 Jan 2011 by The Right Reverend

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity
Would be of interest to those from the same scene or with the same musical and literary tastes, especially if contemprary with Brown. A loss to many others due to lack of editing and the absence of an index. A kind of 'Beat family tree' would have also made it easier to see the relevance of and relationships between these characters.
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Did


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Week Looked Good On Paper, 25 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
A sizeable chunk of my cd collection is taken up by albums involving Pete Brown and his Battered Ornaments/Piblokto,Jack Bruce,Graham Bond,Viv Stanshall and Dick Heckstall Smith in one guise or another and also my first proper gig was seeing Pete Brown and Piblokto ( Aeroplane Head Woman and all ) in the dark ambience of a club called Henrys Blueshouse in Birmingham in the 70's, so this book was more than of an interest to me.The best bits are the descriptions of Pete Browns personal relationships with not only his fellow musicians but with also his mother and father.I must admit that I would much have preferred to read more about how his lyrics and musical collaborations came about rather than anecdotes about his drug and alcohol intake ( some comical others just seriously plain scary ) and his insatiable appetite for women which is largely overdone.I did squirm a little when I read ( Pete Brown referring to Mary Wilson who had invited him and his now wife to a Motown revival show at Wembley )'Mary,who might have fancied me a little, though I can't be sure....'.Although I never did quite see Pete Brown as the lothario,this book did enlighten me and increase my knowledge of the various beat poets that existed and he acquainted.I did sometimes find it quite hard work to keep up with many of the names mentioned throughout but for all his rants about Thatcher,punk and Stock,Aitken and Waterman ( I can't disagree with him on that last lot )and while overcoming his insecurities and anxiety attacks, Pete Brown has provided us with a rather informative and enjoyable piece of work here.Any author who can incorporate and mention that wonderfully strange film ' Gonks Go Beat ' in any capacity definately deserves somekind of recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great present for a fan, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
My husband is a huge fan and really appreciated this! Any fan of Pete Brown's would be happy to receive this,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for musicologists, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Alisdair Fleming "Al F" (Glasgow Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting read. Pete Brown writes in an easy and engaging style which makes the book difficult to put down. Brown is most famous for his long association with Cream and in particular Jack Bruce. As a fan of Jack's I was very interested in this aspect of the autobiography and found this book a lot more informative about some of Bruce's past than either of his 2 biographies! A lot left "unsaid" by Brown, said a lot about the person that is Jack Bruce! Lots of other informative inside stuff about the music biz from the late '60's up to the present, make this book a great read.
(I always hate to be negative about individual's creations, but Pete's choice of cover is a real stinker!! Don't let it put you off!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great explanations and description of the madness, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Grzegorz Szymczak "gregg" (poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
Pete makes a chronological story that in my opinion was written over a time period not over one night, sense of humor dominates as well as who is who in British jazz/rock, very rare and important testimony, jack bruce approved for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
Would be of interest to those from the same scene or with the same musical and literary tastes, especially if contemprary with Brown. A loss to many others due to lack of editing and the absence of an index. A kind of 'Beat family tree' would have also made it easier to see the relevance of and relationships between these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harumph !, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Cratedigger (Loughborough, Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
Interesting perspective on the sixties.
A number of non-approved events and artistes - Punk generally, Portishead, Elvis Costello,
Leonard Cohen and others, which seems mean spirited - what have they ever done to Mr. Brown ?
If you can't say anything good then why say it says old saying.
Still love songs for Jack - Harmonious Tailoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving Sub Title, 7 July 2011
This review is from: White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey (Hardcover)
I brought this book expecting a lot of Pete Browns insight into Eric Clapton & Jack Bruce and Cream as the book actually is called. I was somewhat disappointed with the few pages where Cream do get a brief mention and very very little is mentioned about Eric Clapton at all.

The book is 99% about Pete Brown's bands, his lovers, his music, his Jewishness, his very close relationship with Dick Heckstall-Smith (mentioned a lot) and his family.

I found this book not as interesting as I'd expected, however some historic musical events were covered and these sort of things are what I like to read about so I can give it 2 stars for that.

Conclusion: If you are wanting an insiders view about Cream this is NOT the book. If you want to read a book about Pete Brown and his personal musical journey and life then this may be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Rooms and Imaginary Westerns: Ginsberg, Clapton and Cream an Anarchic Odyssey
Used & New from: £37.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews