Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2012
A book which reads well and recounts the facts is a pleasure for any reader, and this book by Robert Carter succeeds admirably. He questions the entire basis of the IPCC reports, which in n2007 predicted the imminent demise of life as we know it. As Carter eloquently records, the world has been cooling rather than warming for the last decade, and none of the dire predictions of the IPCC have come to pass. The worst floods of recent years in terms of drownings have been the terrible tsunamis in Asia, none of which can possible be linked to CO2 emissions. The gas is in fact a very mild GHG, being surpassed by water vapour and clouds can also contribute to surface warming, but can also produce cooling by reflecting sunlight form the earth. It is also questionable whether the known increase in CO2 concentration has been caused by coal burning in power stations since there are many natural sources of the gas, such as volcanoes and the oceans if they warm. He rightly ridicules the alleged scientific consensus because a growing number of climatologists and other physical scientists dissent from the IPCC conclusions. This book is a wake-up call for the world to further reject carbon taxes and other iniquitous ways of restricting economic growth, now sorely needed after the banking crises and the current currency crisis in the EU.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Having been interested in the subject of climate change for some time now, and relatively well acquainted with the controversies surrounding the claims that it either occurs at all or is caused by human action, which invariably turn out to be unwarranted, I searched for a book that would give me an objective, unbiased overview of the problem. When I came across this book I was surprised that it not just partially, but totally contrasts with the widely accepted fact-based conclusions of the scientific community, so naturally I checked who exactly the author is. And this is what I have found on Wikipedia:

"[...] In 2012, documents stolen from The Heartland Institute revealed that Carter was paid a monthly fee of $1,667 (USD), "as part of a program to pay 'high-profile individuals who regularly and publicly counter the alarmist [anthropogenic global warming] message'."[30] While Carter did not not deny the payments took place, he would not disclose what the payments were for.[...]"

Independent? Right... Needless to say, I did not give the book a second look.
66 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
This should be required reading of the scientifically innocent politicians who have embarked on a vastly expensive and doomed to failure attempt to affect the climate, Robert Carter IS a genuine climate scientist unlike the politically inspired members of the IPCC whose major interest is in the billions they can attract from the gullible public by ramping up the idea that we are all doomed unless immediate and drastic action is taken. With very detailed explanations Robert Carter demolishes many of the ideas currently in circulation about the evils of CO2 and its role in global temperature, the rise in sea level, the acidification of the oceans and other unfounded scares. He deals comprehensively with the past history of extreme weather events, the existence of the Medieval Warm period and the Little Ice Age and explains that climate has many forcing agents that have nothing to do with AGW. The only problem is that our current leaders have been hooked on the fiction propagated by the IPCC and are unlikely to educate themselves on the real climate problem which is more likely to be a long cooling period much more difficult to manage than the hypothetical warming that they fret over.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
This is as comprehensive as it gets. Climate change examined from different aspects. Is it happening? Well not really. If it did happen would it be a catastrophe as warmists claim? Well no, not really. And so on.
The biggest world-wide con since the South-sea Bubble systematically destroyed in a cool erudite manner.
The passing away of this fair-minded man earlier this year, produced an on-line tirade of vile abuse from the 'warmists', celebrating his parting in a way which, in their blissful savagery, did more to expose the mind-set of the bigots of this new religion.
I reckon the Prof, looking down, deserved an uncharacteristic cackle, but I doubt he did as he was too polite even for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
You know when a book about climate change starts with an attack on Marxism, dogma and The Left (topics which don't relate to climate change science), that this is a book written by a professional climate change denier and nut job.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
I haven't read the book, but I very much doubt that it reflects a 'balanced view' on the subject.

Why you might ask? - the author of the book is one of many that have a history of using 'misinformation' and other tactics in order to keep the debate on climate change going when it should have been settled long ago. Don't take my word for it, take a look at these links and make your own mind up:-

[...]
[...]

In fact, don't just accept these links. Go to the trouble of investigating yourself. Always remember to ask yourself what the source is and if people have some other agenda or if they stand to gain from adopting a certain position. Always ask yourself how credible the source is.

There are many self-proclaimed experts on the subject of climate change who at first glance appear to be very believable to the uninformed, which let's face it includes the majority of us, but 99 times out of a 100 closer scrutiny reveals that they are a sham and simplify feeding misinformation (i.e. propoganda) to suit their own purposes.

Many of these people have an association with the Heartland Institute and other such organisations that receive much of their funding from big business and fossil fuel companies. These organisations deliberately set out to `muddy the waters', much the same way as previous campaigns that would have us believe that tobacco is not harmful to health. Such campaigns often succeed in stalling action for several decades.

So why do we believe these people?

[...]

It's often easier to believe what we want to be true if the real truth is too difficult to comprehend!

Then there is what's called confirmation bias - we all tend to seek out and believe information that confirms what we already suspect or believe:-

[...]

Climate change could be the biggest challenge in modern human history and as such deserves our attention. For those who want to take the trouble to learn more, there are several sites where the various myths propagated by the 'deniers' and 'naysayers' are totally debunked. Here are a few sites:-

[...]
[...]
[...]
2222 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
Professor Bob Carter, the author of this book, is a fairly robust Australian who has no problems calling his own Prime Minister an idiot. Given that, you will not be surprised to hear that he pulls no punches when dissecting the smorgasbord of lies, half-truths, mis-directions and snake-oil salesmen pitches which have succeeded in pulling in billions of dollars of research grants to 'south sea bubble' scaremongers peddling carbon dioxide as the greatest threat to mankind since the Black Death.

Carter, as a geologist, takes rather longer to reach climax than the emotional 16 year olds for whom 30 years is more than enough time to experience premature ejaculation when presented with dangerous changes in temperature of rather less than one degree Celsius. He is more amenable to the concept that temperature fluctuations of two to three degrees is entirely normal within the history of the earth, that rates of change of temperature of 15 degrees per century have, in fact, taken place between interglacial warm periods and the rather more normal ice ages. And finally, he is of the considered opinion that spending hundreds of billions of dollars de-industrialising is hardly likely to provide cheap sanitation, water and power to the world's poorest people.

This is not a book for disciples of George Monbiot, James Hansen or Michael Mann. Those people would no doubt engage in a book-burning ceremony as practiced by the enlightened Christians of the 14th century.

It is a book for those who want to be challenged intellectually and to approach the understanding of climate science, its complexities and current unknowns, through evaluation of evidence.

It is not the sole source of such wisdom for such folks, since no-one can develop wisdom of a subject relying totally on one person.

I would, however, strongly recommend the people of Australia to ask Professor Carter to stand as a protest candidate against Julia Gillard at the next election, lampooning her climate religion nonsense and showing the world that, despite all the campaigns of feminists and other self-righteous wimmins wonky tonks, that idiocy is to be found with 22XX as well as 22XY chromosomal content........
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A very dull & tedious book, I had high hopes for this, hoping for something clear & concise and offering a good read. It disappointed on all accounts. If you're just an 'ordinary' person trying to get information in an entertaining fashion - this is not the book for you. It seems to be written for a more scientific audience. I'd recommend that you try Christopher Booker's The Real Global Warming Disaster as a much better read.
44 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I bought this book with my own hard-earned cash, so Prof Bob now has some of my money, and I have read it too (which is more than some other reviewers can claim).

The good professor says we have nothing to worry about. Apparently, AGW is a big scam! And Prof Bob has seen through it, the clever chap.

In the real world, meanwhile, shipping companies are starting to send ships north of Russia in order to reach the Pacific, because the ice has melted enough to let them through.
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)